Pennsylvania State University
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Pennsylvania State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the school's HTTP Last-Modified header: Nov 3, 2022. Subscribe via RSS.
Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2021-22 template isn't published yet.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
4 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 730 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 12 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 742 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 4 | 22 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 18 | 62 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 9 | 55 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 137 | 441 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 14 | 48 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 13 | 28 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 2 | 9 | Not reported |
| Total | 197 | 665 | Not reported |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 2 |
| Associate degrees | 11 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 77 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 0 |
| Master's degrees | 3 |
| Post-master's certificates | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 78 | 51 | 172301 | 301 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 78 | 51 | 172 | 301 |
| Completed in less than four years | 31 | 16 | 83130 | 130 |
| Completed in less than five years | 2020 | 11 | 9 | 2848 |
| Completed in less than six years | 2 | 4 | 3 | 9 |
| Total completers | 44 | 29 | 114 | 187 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 56.4% | 56.9% | 66.3% | 62.1% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 97 | 58 | 137 | 292 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 97 | 58 | 136 | 291 |
| Completed in less than four years | 21 | 22 | 61104 | 104 |
| Completed in less than five years | 26 | 11 | 23 | 60 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 8 | 5 | 14 |
| Total completers | 48 | 41 | 89 | 178 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 49.5% | 70.7% | 65.4% | 61.2% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 827 | 808 | Not reported | 1,635 |
| Admitted | 776 | 754 | Not reported | 1,530 |
| Enrolled | 121 | 74 | Not reported | 195 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 74 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 1 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | Yes | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | — | — | Yes |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | — | Yes |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | — | Yes |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 40 | 79 |
| ACT | 3 | 5 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 540 | 640 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 540 | 650 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 23 | 27 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 24 | 27 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 19 | 25 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 73 | 57 | Not reported | 130 |
| Admitted | 54 | 48 | Not reported | 102 |
| Enrolled | 34 | 20 | Not reported | 54 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
3 TABLESAnnual Expenses
6 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 14338 | 14338 |
| Tuition: in-state | 14338 | 14338 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 23610 | 23610 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 23610 | 23610 |
| Required fees | 500 | 500 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 0 | 1840 | 1840 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 0 | 2250 | 1566 |
| Other expenses | 0 | 1854 | 3222 |
Financial Aid
12 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 25 | 66 | 1 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 2892 | 3641 | 5000 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 198 | 608 | 90 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 169 | 486 | 56 |
| Determined to have financial need | 136 | 392 | 47 |
| Awarded any aid | 130 | 376 | 42 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 74 | 228 | 29 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 71 | 248 | 24 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 119 | 306 | 28 |
| Need fully met | 20 | 82 | 3 |
| Average percentage of need met | 56.4 | 57.2 | 33.4 |
| Average financial aid package | 10952 | 10653 | 6393 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 6707 | 6440 | 3752 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3336 | 4069 | 3727 |
| Average need-based loan | 3333 | 4008 | 3727 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 88 | 48.62 | 36101 |
| Federal loan programs | 84 | 46.41 | 23174 |
| Institutional loan programs | 2 | 1.10 | 25753 |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 34 | 18.78 | 34669 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 47 | 33 | 80 |
| Members of minority groups | 7 | 2 | 9 |
| Females | 19 | 18 | 37 |
| Males | 28 | 15 | 43 |
| Nonresidents | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 30 | 11 | 41 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 16 | 17 | 33 |
| Bachelor's degree | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 9 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 9 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 8 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 2 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 0 |
| Total | Not reported | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Architecture | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Communication/journalism | 0.00% | 0.00% | 2.60% |
| Communication technologies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Computer and information sciences | 0.00% | 9.09% | 9.09% |
| Personal and culinary services | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Education | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Engineering | 50.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Engineering technologies | 0.00% | 36.36% | 11.69% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 0.00% | 27.27% | 11.69% |
| Law/legal studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| English | 0.00% | 0.00% | 1.30% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Library science | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Biological/life sciences | 0.00% | 0.00% | 23.38% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Parks and recreation | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Theology and religious vocations | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Physical sciences | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Science technologies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Psychology | 0.00% | 0.00% | 10.39% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Social sciences | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Construction trades | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Precision production | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Transportation and materials moving | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Visual and performing arts | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Health professions and related programs | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Business/marketing | 50.00% | 27.27% | 29.87% |
| History | 0.00% | 0.00% | 0.00% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.