Occidental College
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Occidental College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Apr 23, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Occidental College says 6,461 first-year students applied and 2,854 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 44%. Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1400–1495 and ACT of 31–34. Waitlist: 1,238 offered a spot, 437 accepted one, and 71 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
35% joined after being offered a spot. 16% of students who joined were admitted. 19% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 1,238 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 437 |
| Admitted from wait list | 71 |
| Joined after being offered | 35% |
| Admitted after joining | 16% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
1 TABLEEnrollment And Persistence
2 TABLES| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 30 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 90 | 331 | 331 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 27 | 83 | 83 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 217 | 856 | 856 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 4 | 4 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 99 | 302 | 302 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 42 | 184 | 184 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 1 | 21 | 21 |
| Total | 509 | 1877 | 1881 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 532 | 1910 | 28 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | 364 | 1194 | 5 |
| Final cohort | 263 | 954 | 3 | 565 |
| Completed in less than four years | 262 | 952 | 3 | 383 |
| Completed in less than five years | 260 | 945 | 3 | 70 |
| Completed in less than six years | 200 | 791 | 3 | 4 |
| Total completers | 190 | 627 | 1 | 457 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 262% | 952% | 3% | 80.9% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 80% | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2580 | 3672 | 209 | 0 | 6,461 |
| Admitted | 1052 | 1730 | 72 | 0 | 2,854 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 20 | 101 |
| ACT | 8 | 41 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1400 | 1440 | 1495 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 690 | 720 | 750 |
| SAT math | 690 | 720 | 770 |
| ACT composite | 31 | 33 | 34 |
| ACT math | 28 | 20 | 33 |
| ACT English | 33 | 34 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 188 | 250 | 4 | 442 |
| Admitted | 59 | 83 | 3 | 145 |
| Enrolled | 23 | 18 | 2 | 43 |
Annual Expenses
6 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 65678 | 65678 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 19252 | 19252 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 10958 | 10958 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 8294 | 8294 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1250 | 1250 | 1250 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 15574 |
| Transportation | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other expenses | 1880 | 1880 | 1880 |
Financial Aid
12 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 139 | 352 | 3 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 15548 | 16567 | 3790 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 532 | 1910 | 28 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 364 | 1194 | 5 |
| Determined to have financial need | 263 | 954 | 3 |
| Awarded any aid | 262 | 952 | 3 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 260 | 945 | 3 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 200 | 791 | 3 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 190 | 627 | 1 |
| Need fully met | 262 | 952 | 3 |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 56806 | 55946 | 44306 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 50784 | 48208 | 38055 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 7421 | 8412 | 6251 |
| Average need-based loan | 4341 | 5584 | 3685 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | 14% | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 13% | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 27% | Not reported | 6.0% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | 15% | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | 53% | Not reported | 12.0% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 13% | Not reported | 3.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | 10% | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 12% | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | 31% | Not reported | 7.0% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | 97% | Not reported | 22.0% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 65% | Not reported | 15.0% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | 7% | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.