Occidental College
2002-03
The 2002-03 Common Data Set for Occidental College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$75,951
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
81%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$38,263
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$23,000
federal loans only
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
109numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESSource of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1808 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 24 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1832 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 20 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 22 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 244 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 10 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 55 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 447 | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 0 |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 14 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 0 |
| Post-master's certificates | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 1999 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 1999 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 91.3% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1792 | 2380 | Not reported | 4,172 |
| Admitted | 715 | 1069 | Not reported | 1,784 |
| Enrolled | 200 | 247 | Not reported | 447 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 247 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 86 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class63
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class93
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Amount of application fee:50
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 112 | 141 | Not reported | 253 |
| Admitted | 42 | 63 | Not reported | 105 |
| Enrolled | 20 | 27 | Not reported | 47 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):3.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D8
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Spring Closing Date: Month10
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Spring Notification Date: Day1
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:64
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)53%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)47%
Percent who live off campus or commute24%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 358 | 358 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Financial Aid
1 TABLEAcademic Year2002-2003 estimated
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio11.2
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.7% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 7.1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.2% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.4% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 48.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 12.7% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.