Northern Michigan University
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Northern Michigan University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the school's HTTP Last-Modified header: Mar 1, 2023. Subscribe via RSS.
Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2022-23 template isn't published yet.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6434 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 536 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6970 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 11 | 61 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 59 | 254 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 19 | 102 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1218 | 5265 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 19 | 88 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 7 | 48 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 60 | 233 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 14 | 63 | Not reported |
| Total | 1407 | 6114 | Not reported |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 83 |
| Associate degrees | 256 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1202 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 0 |
| Master's degrees | 202 |
| Post-master's certificates | 3 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 11 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 268 | 240 | 491 | 999 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 268 | 239 | 491 | 998 |
| Completed in less than four years | 62 | 91 | 208 | 361 |
| Completed in less than five years | 51 | 43 | 76 | 170 |
| Completed in less than six years | 6 | 5 | 22 | 33 |
| Total completers | 119 | 139 | 306 | 564 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 44.4% | 58.2% | 62.3% | 56.5% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 304 | 228 | 506 | 1038 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Final cohort | 303 | 228 | 504 | 1035 |
| Completed in less than four years | 77 | 76 | 183 | 336 |
| Completed in less than five years | 48 | 39 | 101 | 188 |
| Completed in less than six years | 8 | 4 | 8 | 20 |
| Total completers | 133 | 119 | 292 | 544 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 43.9% | 52.2% | 57.9% | 52.6% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 150 | 16 |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | 18 |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 73.3% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2232 | 3848 | Not reported | 6,080 |
| Admitted | 1615 | 2667 | Not reported | 4,282 |
| Enrolled | 591 | 777 | Not reported | 1,368 |
| Enrolled full-time | 591 | 777 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 6 | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | — | Yes |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | — | — | — | Yes |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | — | Yes |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | — | Yes |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 475 | 646 | 28 | 1149 |
| Admitted | 318 | 368 | 14 | 700 |
| Enrolled | 197 | 183 | 6 | 386 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
6 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 11796 | 11796 |
| Tuition: in-state | 11796 | 11796 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 17292 | 17292 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 17292 | 17292 |
| Required fees | 1117 | 852 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 750 | 750 | 750 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 384 | 2240 | 1040 |
| Other expenses | 1740 | 1740 | 1740 |
Financial Aid
12 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1475 | 5756 | 555 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1306 | 4556 | 315 |
| Determined to have financial need | 925 | 3520 | 256 |
| Awarded any aid | 911 | 3459 | 217 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 621 | 2386 | 153 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 588 | 2476 | 141 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 825 | 2425 | 76 |
| Need fully met | 180 | 514 | 18 |
| Average percentage of need met | 63.9 | 59.7 | 45.5 |
| Average financial aid package | 12348 | 11525 | 5786 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 5125 | 5161 | 3038 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3748 | 4545 | 3873 |
| Average need-based loan | 3007 | 3833 | 3404 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 548 | 69.70 | 32014 |
| Federal loan programs | 540 | 68.70 | 22417 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 171 | 21.80 | 31802 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 291 | 134 | 425 |
| Members of minority groups | 37 | 4 | 41 |
| Females | 132 | 78 | 210 |
| Males | 159 | 56 | 215 |
| Nonresidents | 18 | 1 | 19 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 192 | 19 | 211 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 77 | 66 | 143 |
| Bachelor's degree | 17 | 31 | 48 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 5 | 18 | 23 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 13 | 5 | 18 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 128 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 128 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 262 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 261 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 135 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 29 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 43 | Not reported |
| Total | 13 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | 7.03% | 7.03% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 6.41% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.33% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 3.08% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.00% |
| Personal and culinary services | 6.02% | Not reported | 6.02% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 6.74% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.08% |
| Engineering technologies | 3.13% | 3.13% | 2.58% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.08% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.08% |
| Law/legal studies | 0.39% | 0.39% | 0.25% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.41% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | 40.23% | 40.23% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.40% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.42% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | 1.56% | 0.92% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.58% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 5.66% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.08% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.75% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5.41% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 5.47% | 5.47% | 4.49% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.75% |
| Social sciences | 7.23% | Not reported | 3.91% |
| Construction trades | 28.92% | 1.95% | 1.95% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 10.84% | 5.86% | 5.86% |
| Precision production | 20.48% | Not reported | 3.13% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 4.30% | 4.30% | 6.49% |
| Health professions and related programs | 16.87% | 18.75% | 18.05% |
| Business/marketing | 9.64% | 8.20% | 15.06% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.08% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.