Northern Michigan University
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Northern Michigan University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the school's HTTP Last-Modified header: Apr 20, 2022. Subscribe via RSS.
Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2021-22 template isn't published yet.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6611 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 603 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7214 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 13 | 62 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 72 | 265 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 36 | 121 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1271 | 5419 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 19 | 84 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 9 | 46 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 3 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 57 | 261 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 14 | 50 | Not reported |
| Total | 1491 | 701 | 393 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 111 |
| Associate degrees | 225 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1161 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 2 |
| Master's degrees | 151 |
| Post-master's certificates | 5 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 1 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 304 | 228 | 506 | 1038 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Final cohort | 303 | 228 | 504 | 1035 |
| Completed in less than four years | 77 | 76 | 183 | 336 |
| Completed in less than five years | 48 | 39 | 101 | 188 |
| Completed in less than six years | 8 | 4 | 8 | 20 |
| Total completers | 133 | 119 | 292 | 544 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 43.9% | 52.2% | 57.9% | 52.6% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 411 | 264 | 497 | 1172 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 2 | 3 |
| Final cohort | 410 | 264 | 495 | 1169 |
| Completed in less than four years | 76 | 87 | 170 | 333 |
| Completed in less than five years | 58 | 46 | 92 | 196 |
| Completed in less than six years | 27 | 6 | 21 | 54 |
| Total completers | 161 | 139 | 283 | 583 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 39.3% | 52.7% | 57.2% | 49.9% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 72.5% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2413 | 4140 | Not reported | 6,553 |
| Admitted | 1772 | 2898 | Not reported | 4,670 |
| Enrolled | 610 | 870 | Not reported | 1,480 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 870 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 7 | 9 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | — | Yes |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | — | — | — | Yes |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | — | Yes |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | — | Yes |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 505 | 643 | Not reported | 1148 |
| Admitted | 313 | 388 | Not reported | 701 |
| Enrolled | 188 | 205 | Not reported | 393 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
7 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 11352 | 11352 |
| Tuition: in-state | 11352 | 11352 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 16848 | 16848 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 16848 | 16848 |
| Required fees | 1085 | 820 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 750 | 750 | 750 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 358 | 2022 | 946 |
| Other expenses | 1668 | 1668 | 1668 |
Financial Aid
13 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 219 | 605 | 10 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 4763 | 4198 | 872 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 24 | 64 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 6166 | 8212 | 0 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1342 | 5853 | 629 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1201 | 4739 | 384 |
| Determined to have financial need | 874 | 3707 | 313 |
| Awarded any aid | 872 | 3701 | 285 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 542 | 2362 | 174 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 582 | 2678 | 163 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 686 | 2316 | 98 |
| Need fully met | 118 | 349 | 21 |
| Average percentage of need met | 63.4 | 59.3 | 41.9 |
| Average financial aid package | 12092 | 11452 | 5731 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 4681 | 4469 | 2965 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3985 | 4663 | 3958 |
| Average need-based loan | 3022 | 3793 | 3499 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 539 | 73.00 | 29101 |
| Federal loan programs | 530 | 72.00 | 22416 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 161 | 22.00 | 23635 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 282 | 143 | 425 |
| Members of minority groups | 31 | 6 | 37 |
| Females | 127 | 81 | 208 |
| Males | 155 | 62 | 217 |
| Nonresidents | 20 | 1 | 21 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 188 | 21 | 209 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 115 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 115 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 257 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 260 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 141 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 30 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 44 | Not reported |
| Total | 17 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | 1.33% | 1.33% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 5.60% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 1.80% | Not reported | 0.17% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 2.93% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.21% |
| Personal and culinary services | 13.51% | Not reported | 13.51% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 7.84% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | 0.90% | 4.89% | 2.58% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.17% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | 0.44% | 0.44% |
| Law/legal studies | 0.89% | 0.89% | 0.17% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.41% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 36.00% | 36.00% | 0.09% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9.65% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.69% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0.90% | 0.89% | 0.60% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.52% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 4.91% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.26% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.55% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.22% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 10.67% | 10.67% | 4.74% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.84% |
| Social sciences | 5.41% | Not reported | 5.17% |
| Construction trades | 31.53% | 4.44% | 4.44% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 7.21% | 5.33% | 5.33% |
| Precision production | 15.32% | 2.22% | 2.22% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 4.00% | 4.00% | 7.41% |
| Health professions and related programs | 17.12% | 19.11% | 15.85% |
| Business/marketing | 6.31% | 9.78% | 17.48% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.95% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.