Northern Arizona University
2025-26
The 2025-26 Common Data Set for Northern Arizona University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jul 29, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2025-26 report, Northern Arizona University says 39,685 first-year students applied and 35,561 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 90%. 4,540 admitted students enrolled (13% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1010–1280 and ACT of 19–26. Compared with 2024-25, applications rose 13% (35,100 to 39,685) and the acceptance rate held at 90%.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 39,685 | 35,561 | 90% | 4,540 | School-reported totals. |
Application fee: $40.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
7 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1687 | 2729 | 19 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 568 | 712 | 7 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 5098 | 8452 | 44 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 7353 | 11893 | 70 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 1 | 1 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 7354 | 11894 | 70 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 37 | 66 | 3 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 151 | 366 | 4 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 614 | 1557 | 10 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 802 | 1989 | 17 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 33 | 43 | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 835 | 2032 | 18 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 8189 | 13926 | 88 | 22203 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 370 | 749 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 836 | 1140 | 26 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 1 | 2 | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 1207 | 1891 | 27 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 336 | 304 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 300 | 864 | 17 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 7 | 28 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 643 | 1196 | 17 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 1850 | 3087 | 44 | 4981 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | 10039 | 17013 | 132 | 27184 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 12 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1363 | 6223 | 6243 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 179 | 710 | 713 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2266 | 11168 | 11203 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 260 | 1012 | 1016 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 76 | 990 | 994 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 8 | 41 | 41 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 282 | 1272 | 1279 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 95 | 318 | 323 |
| Total | 4541 | 3033 | 1498 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 394 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 5224 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 147 |
| Master's degrees | 2123 |
| Post-master's certificates | 21 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 69 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 181 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1586 | 671 | 2515 | 4772 |
| Did not persist | 3 | 0 | 3 | 6 |
| Final cohort | 1583 | 671 | 2512 | 4766 |
| Completed in less than four years | 646 | 297 | 1277 | 2220 |
| Completed in less than five years | 147 | 65 | 264 | 476 |
| Completed in less than six years | 27 | 14 | 53 | 94 |
| Total completers | 820 | 376 | 1594 | 2790 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 52% | 56% | 63% | 59% |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 76.9% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 14406 | 25074 | 205 | 39,685 |
| Admitted | 12726 | 22656 | 179 | 35,561 |
| Enrolled | 1723 | 2795 | 22 | 4,540 |
| Enrolled full-time | 1686 | 2729 | 19 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 37 | 66 | 3 | Not reported |
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | Yes | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | — | — | Yes |
| Recommendations | — | — | — | Yes |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | — | Yes |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | — | Yes |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 3 | 154 |
| ACT | 27 | 1239 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1010 | 1175 | 1280 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 520 | 590 | 650 |
| SAT math | 483 | 565 | 630 |
| ACT composite | 19 | 23 | 26 |
| ACT math | 18 | 22 | 26 |
| ACT English | 19 | 22 | 27 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
4 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3092 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3033 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1498 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
6 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | 12096 |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | 12096 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | 29568 |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | 29568 |
| Required fees | Not reported | 1343 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | 14432 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | 7790 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | 6642 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 900900 | 900 | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 25002500 | 2500 | Not reported |
| Other expenses | 20002000 | 2000 | Not reported |
Financial Aid
14 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 1772 | 6754 | 81 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 8328 | 8357 | 4580 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 35 | 169 | 1 |
| Average athletic grant | 16608 | 16658 | 3813 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 4868 | 20040 | 2863 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 4312 | 15129 | 1493 |
| Determined to have financial need | 3051 | 11431 | 1273 |
| Awarded any aid | 3043 | 11327 | 1121 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 2148 | 8097 | 928 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 1382 | 4863 | 449 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 3010 | 10167 | 314 |
| Need fully met | 385 | 1240 | 28 |
| Average percentage of need met | 64.7 | 60.2 | 38.4 |
| Average financial aid package | 17081 | 16785 | 9527 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 9053 | 9295 | 7771 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3336 | 4165 | 3945 |
| Average need-based loan | 22 | 7 | 2025 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 1471 | 45.00 | 21732 |
| Federal loan programs | 1413 | 44.00 | 17048 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 245 | 8 | 32160 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1106 | 447 | 1553 |
| Members of minority groups | 215 | 100 | 315 |
| Females | 590 | 301 | 891 |
| Males | 516 | 146 | 662 |
| Nonresidents | 43 | 1 | 44 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 886 | 59 | 945 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 206 | 87 | 293 |
| Bachelor's degree | 14 | 20 | 34 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 281 | 281 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 73 | 25 | 98 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 142 | 41 |
| 10-19 students | 142 | 142 |
| 20-29 students | 523 | 234 |
| 30-39 students | 685 | 11 |
| 40-49 students | 427 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 148 | 1 |
| 100+ students | 245 | Not reported |
| Total | 82 | 429 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 1.27% | Not reported | 1.27% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 21.32% | Not reported | 3.31% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.11% |
| Communication/journalism | 1.27% | Not reported | 4.93% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.11% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 2.54% | Not reported | 7.70% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 3.86% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 0.25% | Not reported | 0.89% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | 1.52% | Not reported | 1.49% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.60% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.50% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.40% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 6.85% | Not reported | 3.56% |
| Parks and recreation | 1.02% | Not reported | 4.16% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.15% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.05% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.75% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.23% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 1.02% | Not reported | 0.28% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.47% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.91% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | 1.52% | Not reported | 3.16% |
| Health professions and related programs | 17.00% | Not reported | 15.59% |
| Business/marketing | 44.42% | Not reported | 15.24% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.55% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.