Northern Arizona University
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for Northern Arizona University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$54,384
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
61%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$14,158
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$19,000
federal loans only
FSA
12%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
186numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://in.nau.edu/institutional-research/common-data-set/
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 196 | 1073 | 1079 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1447 | 75 | 76 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 184 | 835 | 837 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 2934 | 14336 | 14396 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 136 | 689 | 697 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 127 | 566 | 567 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 25 | 75 | 76 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 372 | 1496 | 1498 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 34 | 447 | 738 |
| Total | 5455 | 26135 | 26513 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 546 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 6123 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 122 |
| Master's degrees | 1248 |
| Post-master's certificates | 7 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 68 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 126 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2015 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2015 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | 10781 | 20532 | Not reported | 31,313 |
| Enrolled | 1717 | Not reported | Not reported | 1,717 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 343 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 32 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1040 | 1220 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 520 | 620 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 520 | 610 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 19 | 25 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 18 | 25 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 18 | 24 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent who had GPA of 4.025
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9921
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4913
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2411
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9910
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.64
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:2/18/2020 CDS-C Page 11
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 2401 | 4192 | Not reported | 6593 |
| Admitted | 1757 | 2988 | Not reported | 4745 |
| Enrolled | 864 | 1475 | Not reported | 2339 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
College transcript(s)Required of All
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Meet ABOR core class requirements; https://nau.edu/admission/transfer-admission-requirements/
Fall Closing Date: Month5
Spring Closing Date: Month12
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:A student can be awarded an additional 4 units of credit for 18 consecutive months of active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces if terminated under honorable conditions, as documented on the DD214. A student who has earned a commission in the U.S. Armed Forces may petition the Office of Admissions and Orientation for an additional 12 units. 2/18/2020
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)36%
Percent of males who join fraternities8%
Percent of females who join sororities11%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing89%
Percent who live off campus or commute11%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)31%
Percent of males who join fraternities7%
Percent of females who join sororities8%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing37%
Percent who live off campus or commute63%
Percent of students age 25 and older18%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www7.nau.edu/finaid/NetPriceCalculator/
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 25270 | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 10650 | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Financial Aid
6 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$49,349,523
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$95,482,235
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$4,358,187
Total Scholarships/Grants$153,942,613
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$78,015,865
Federal Work-Study$1,497,607
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$6,911,558
Total Self-Help$86,425,030
Parent Loans$33,421,935
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,779,611
Athletic Awards$2,142,244
Federal$539,833
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$33,031,727
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,141,982
Total Scholarships/Grants$34,713,542
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$16,026,409
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$6,060,605
Total Self-Help$22,087,014
Parent Loans$11,804,912
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,114,189
Athletic Awards$3,300,011
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.3,263
If yes, starting date (Month):1
If yes, starting date (Day):1
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:2/18/2020
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEbased on ____ students2,019
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1.94% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.16% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 4.59% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.88% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 9.35% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 6.10% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.90% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.14% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.17% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 8.74% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.79% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.61% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.62% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.36% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.17% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.11% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.22% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.58% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.43% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8.10% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2.70% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 13.86% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 17.84% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.64% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.