New Jersey Institute of Technology
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for New Jersey Institute of Technology — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 16, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$84,276
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
73%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$16,504
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$21,000
federal loans only
FSA
10%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
249numbers from this report.
General Information
7 TABLESLast Name:Xilin
Title:Zhang
Office:Institutional Research Data Analyst
Address Line 1:Office of Institutional Effectiveness
Address Line 2:323 Dr Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
ZipcodeUnited States
Email Address:xz47@njit.edu
Address Line 3:Newark
City:New Jersey
State7032
CityNew Jersey Institute of Technology
StateUniversity Heights
ZipNewark
Country:New Jersey
Main Phone Number (Area Code)07102-1982
Main Phone Number:United States
Main Phone Number (Ext):973-596-3000
WWW Home Page Address:https://www.njit.edu/
Admissions Office Street Address (if different) Line 1:323 Dr Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
Street Address (if different) Line 2:Newark
Street Address (if different) Line 3:New Jersey
City7032
StateUnited States
Zip973-596-3300
Country:1-800-925-NJIT
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):https://www.njit.edu/admissions/contact-admissions
Admissions Phone Number:admissions@njit.edu
Admissions Toll-Free Phone Number:https://www.njit.edu/apply-now
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:If you have a mailing address other than the one listed above to which applications should be sent, please provide:
Source of institutional control (Check only one):A3. Classify your undergraduate institution: (click to select from dropdown)
Classify your undergraduate institution:A4A. Describe if calendar differs by program or other:
Differs by program (describe):Terminal
Transfer AssociateA6. Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Terminal AssociateIf you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:
Master'sEND OF SECTION A
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 4,022 | 582 | 1,532 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 5,585 | 714 | 2,264 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 41 | 358 | 23 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 5,626 | 1,072 | 2,287 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Men | Not reported | Women | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Full Time Enrollment | Part Time Enrollment | Full Time Enrollment | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | GRADUATE STUDENTS | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 750 | 149 | 327 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 912 | 481 | 438 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | 195 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | 472 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 2017 COHORT (AY - 7) | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Recipients of a Federal Pell Grant | Recipients of a Subsidized Stafford Loan, who did not receive a Pell Grant |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | 410 | 171 |
| Total | Not reported | 0 | 6 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | 0 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC8G · Entrance Exams
Specify:0.3
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | 0 | Not reported | 0 |
| Admitted | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Enrolled | International | 1,402 | 482 | 1,884 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | Yes | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | — | — | Yes | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | — | Yes |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | — | Yes |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Alumni relation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Geographical residence | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State residency | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Volunteer work | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Work experience | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Explain:Standardized test scores
Please provide additional information if the importance of any specific academic or nonacademic factors differ by academic program.ACT Only
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing | SAT Math |
| ACT | 0.3 | 0.42 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | SAT Composite | Not reported | Score Range |
| SAT math | 0.3 | Not reported | 30 |
| ACT composite | 0.4 | Not reported | 24 |
| ACT math | 0.2 | Not reported | 18 |
| ACT English | 0.0 | Not reported | 12 |
| ACT Writing | 0.0 | Not reported | 6 |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Below 6 |
| ACT Reading | 1 | Not reported | Total |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8000.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-6990.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5990.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2991.0
SAT Math: 700-8000.4
SAT Math: 600-6990.1
SAT Math: 500-5990.1
SAT Math: 400-4990
SAT Math: 200-2991.0
SAT Composite: 1200-1399Percent
SAT Composite: 1000-11990.3
SAT Composite: 800-9990.6
SAT Composite: 600-7990.9
SAT Composite: 400-5990.1
SAT Composite: Total0.0
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.993.7
Total1.0
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Applicants | 1,646 | 767 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Admitted Applicants | 908 | 422 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Enrolled Applicants | 499 | 177 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
FallD3. Enrollment Terms
SpringPlease indicate which terms for which transfer students may enroll: (select all that apply)
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programPlease identify the programs available at your institution. Refer to the glossary for definitions. Select all that apply.
Computer literacyE3. Required Coursework for Graduation
English (including composition)Please indicate the areas in which all, or most, students are required to complete some course work prior to graduation:
Select all that apply.
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housingUndergraduates
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students0.1
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)0.2
Campus MinistriesAverage age of all students (full-time and part-time)
Marching bandF2. Activities Offered
Model UNPlease identify all programs available at your institution.
Coed residence hallsIf at cooperating institution, please list institution below:
Men's residence halls (Men)Seton Hall
Apartments for married studentsNaval ROTC is offered:
Special housing for disabled studentsIf at cooperating institution, please list institution below:
Cooperative housingAir Force ROTC is offered:
Wellness housingIf at cooperating institution, please list institution below:
Other housing options (specify):F4. Housing
Annual Expenses
2 TABLESG5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | No |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
PRIVATE INSTITUTIONS:Residents
Financial Aid
8 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 4,305.33 | 3,796.91 | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Federal methodology (FM)Do NOT include any aid related to the CARES Act or unique to the COVID-19 pandemic.
Institutional methodology (IM)Indicate the academic year for which data are reported for items H1, H2, H2A, and H6 below:
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | Full-Time Undergrad. (Include Freshman) | Less Than Full-Time Undergrad. | Not reported |
| Need fully met | 7,382 | 983 | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | 6062% | 640% | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | $5,122 | $554 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $4,955 | $468 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | $4,955 | $468 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | $2,620 | $295 | Not reported |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableH5. Number/Percent Borrowers and Average Borrowed Amount
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableProvide the number and percent of students in class (defined in H4 above) borrowing from federal, non-federal, and any loan sources, and the average (or mean) amount borrowed in the table below.
Specify:C. Institutional loan program
FAFSAReport numbers and dollar amounts for the same academic year as checked in item H1.
State aid formIndicate your instititution's policy regarding institutional scholarship and grant aid for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:
If yes, starting date (Month):Other:
If yes, starting date (Day):Other:
Federal Direct PLUS LoansH9. Filing Dates for First-Year Students
State LoansDoes institution have a deadline for filing required financial aid forms for first-year students?
College/university loans from institutional fundsSelect "no" if there is no deadline and applications are processed on a rolling basis.
Federal Pell GrantsH10. Notification Dates for First-Year Students
Federal SEOGPlease enter the date for only one response below based on whether students are notified on a certain date or notified on a rolling basis.
Private scholarshipsStudents are notificed on or about (date): (MM/DD)
United Negro College FundStudents are notified on a rolling basis starting (date): (MM/DD)
Other (specify):H11. Reply Dates for First-Year Students
Religious affiliationPlease specify:
Religious affiliationPrivate Loans from Lenders
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Associate% | Bachelor's% | CIP 2020 Categories to Include% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | 0.4% | 3% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | 4.4% | 4% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Education | Not reported | 1.0% | 10% |
| Engineering | Not reported | 27.4% | 11% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 12% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 13% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | 39.2% | 14% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | 10.7% | 15% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 16% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 19% |
| Library science | Not reported | 0.6% | 22% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | 0.4% | 23% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | 0.2% | 24% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 25% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | 5.2% | 26% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | 1.5% | 27% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | 0.9% | 30% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 31% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 38% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 39% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | 1.0% | 40% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 41% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 42% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | 0.6% | 43% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 44% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 45% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 46% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 47% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 48% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 49% |
| History | Not reported | 1.0% | 50% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | 51% |
| Total | Not reported | 5.5% | 52% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.