New Jersey Institute of Technology
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for New Jersey Institute of Technology — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 16, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$84,276
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
73%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$16,504
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$21,000
federal loans only
FSA
10%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
410numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESWe invite you to indicate if there are items on the CDS for which you cannot use the requested analytic convention, cannot provide data for the cohort requested, whose methodology is unclear, or about which you have questions or comments in general. This information will not be published but will help the publishers further refine CDS items.City/State/Zip/Country:
Address Line 3:973-596-3231
City:segundo.teran@njit.edu
First Name:Segundo Teran
Last Name:Associate Director, Data Management
Title:Office of Institutional Effectiveness
Office:323 Dr Martin Luther King Jr Blvd
Address Line 1:Newark, NJ 07032, USA
Address Line 2:973-596-5563
ZipcodeYes
Country:No
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:Mailing Address:
Name of College/University:973-596-3300
Street Address Line 1:1-800-925-NJIT
Street Address Line 2:Office of University Admissions
Street Address Line 3:Newark, NJ 07102-1982
City973-596-3300
Stateadmissions@njit.edu
Admissions Toll-Free Phone Number (Out-of-State Area Code):If your academic year has changed because of the COVID-19 pandemic, please indicate as other below.
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:Differs by program (describe):
Classify your undergraduate institution:X
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 423 | 139 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 3,954 | 1,401 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 5,393 | 1,989 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 27 | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 5,420 | 1,994 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 37 | 10 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 1,522 | 713 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 6,942 | 2,707 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 9,019 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 3,313 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Degree-Seeking First-Time First Year | Degree-Seeking Undergraduates (include first-time first-year) | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | 90 | 391 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | 486 | 2,150 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | 171 | 812 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | 25 | 149 | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | 1,575 | 8,365 | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 212 | 512 | 1,036 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1 | 4 | 5 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 211 | 508 | 1,031 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 86 | 281 | 499 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 41 | 85 | 199 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 18 | 18 | 62 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 145 | 384 | 760 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 0.69 | 0.76 | 0.74 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | #DIV/0! |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 4,667 | Not reported | 5,159 | 9,826 |
| Admitted | 1,016 | 66 | Not reported | 1,082 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | TOTAL | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who appliedX
C2 · Wait List
Do you release that information to school counselors?2
EnglishVery Important
ScienceX
Foreign languageX
EnglishImportant
Of these, units that must be labX
Explain:Work experience
InterviewADMISSION
Extracurricular activitiesRequire
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 26 | 30 | 32 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 26 | 32 | 34 |
| SAT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing | SAT Math | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8000.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-6990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5991.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-399SAT Composite
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total0.4
SAT Math: 700-8000.0
SAT Math: 600-6990
SAT Math: 500-5991.0
SAT Composite: 1400-16000.0
SAT Composite: 1200-13990
SAT Composite: 1000-11991
SAT Composite: 600-799ACT Composite
SAT Composite: 400-5990.6
SAT Composite: Total0.3
ACT Composite: 30-360
ACT Composite: 24-290
ACT Composite: 18-231.0
ACT English: 30-360
ACT English: 24-290
ACT English: 18-231.0
ACT Math: 30-360
ACT Math: 24-290
ACT Math: 18-231.0
ACT Math: 6-11Percent
ACT Math: Below 60.1
ACT Math: Total0.3
ACT Reading: 18-230
ACT Science: 18-230
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class0.5
Percent who had GPA of 4.00
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.990
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.741.0
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.243.8
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.990.9
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:No
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Yes, by:X
Date: Month2
Date: Day2
Number of early decision applications received by your institutionX
Please provide significant details about your early decision plan:Early action notification date
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1,414 | 604 | Not reported | 2,018 |
| Admitted | 884 | 343 | Not reported | 1,227 |
| Enrolled | 486 | 143 | Not reported | 629 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)X
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?X
FallX
SpringX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?X
High school transcriptX
Winter Notification Date: MonthRolling
Winter Reply Date: Month2019-12-01 00:00:00
Winter Reply Date: Day2019-12-01 00:00:00
Winter Rolling AdmissionX
Winter Notification Date: DayRolling
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:33
Describe other transfer credit policies:Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits:
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Number
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)There is no Maximum
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Weekend collegeX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
3 TABLESChoral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
YearbookX
Name of Cooperating InstitutionX
Men's residence halls (Men)X
Cooperative housingX
Other housing options (specify):X
Specify:Other housing options (specify):
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://njit.studentaidcalculator.com/survey.aspx
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $15,616 | $15,616 |
| Tuition: in-state | $15,616 | $15,616 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $32,528 | $32,528 |
| Tuition: nonresident | $32,528 | $32,528 |
| Required fees | $15,000 | $15,000 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | $17,198 |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $3,300 |
| Transportation | $3,380 | $3,380 | $3,380 |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-district:$595
In-state (out-of-district):$1,392
Out-of-state:$1,392
Financial Aid
15 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 212 | 1,084 | 20 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $13,309 | $14,552 | $4,175 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 25 | 158 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | $22,642 | $21,008 | $0 |
Federal methodology (FM)x
Federal$18,021,711
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$24,830,619
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$16,718,612
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$438,865
Total Scholarships/Grants$60,009,807
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$22,599,878
Federal Work-Study$568,667
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,000,760
Total Self-Help$24,169,305
Parent Loans$3,394,473
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$267,992
Athletic Awards$865,654
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$56,277
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$17,940,349
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$329,699
Total Scholarships/Grants$18,326,324
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$8,671,629
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,392,869
Total Self-Help$10,064,498
Parent Loans$3,081,594
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$3,319,305
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1,235 | 7,287 | 1,090 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1,136 | 5,880 | 738 |
| Determined to have financial need | 873 | 5,032 | 646 |
| Awarded any aid | 842 | 4,819 | 532 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 842 | 4,819 | 532 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 386 | 2,747 | 339 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 62 | 247 | 1 |
| Need fully met | 96 | 412 | 9 |
| Average percentage of need met | 1% | 1% | 0% |
| Average financial aid package | $16,573 | $15,022 | $7,312 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $15,098 | $13,390 | $6,687 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $3,324 | $4,425 | $3,783 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,309 | $4,343 | $3,757 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.978
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 520 | 1% | $28,089 |
| Federal loan programs | 505 | 1% | $19,781 |
| Institutional loan programs | 0 | 0% | $0 |
| State loan programs | 5 | 0% | $14,641 |
| Private student loans | 138 | 0% | $32,923 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availablex
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availablex
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:290
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$20,238
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$5,869,035
Specify:International Student’s Certification of Finances
FAFSAH8
CSS Profilex
Specify:Business/Farm Supplement
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):2/15
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):2/15
a) Students notified on or about (date): Montha) Students notified on or about (date):
a) Students notified on or about (date): Daya) Students notified on or about (date):
If yes, starting date (Month):Yes
If yes, starting date (Day):Yes
or within____weeks of notification.2022-05-01 00:00:00
Federal Direct Unsubsidized Stafford Loansx
Federal Direct PLUS Loansx
Federal Nursing Loansx
Other (specify):x
Specify:College/university loans from institutional funds
Federal Pell GrantsH13
State scholarships/grantsx
Private scholarshipsx
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsx
United Negro College Fundx
Federal Nursing Scholarshipx
Specify:Federal Nursing Scholarship
Alumni affiliationNon-Need Based
Artx
Job skillsx
ROTCx
Music/dramax
Alumni affiliationNeed-Based
Artx
State/district residencyx
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:State/district residency
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 491 | 499 | 990 |
| Members of minority groups | 157 | 157 | 314 |
| Females | 131 | 145 | 276 |
| Males | 359 | 354 | 713 |
| Nonresidents | 48 | 21 | 69 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 453 | 349 | 802 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio15.16
based on ____ students9,962
and ____ faculty657.33
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 77 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 415 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 547 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 348 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 81 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 47 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 6 | Not reported |
| Total | 1,521 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0% | 0% | 1% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.