Middlebury College
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for Middlebury College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$76,310
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
91%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$31,483
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$13,857
federal loans only
FSA
3%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
443numbers from this report.
General Information
8 TABLESFirst Name:Adela
Last Name:Langrock
Title:Director of Assessment & Institutional Research
Office:Office of Assessment & IR
Address Line 1:Middlebury College
Zipcode5,753
Phone:802.44
Email Address:alangroc@middlebury.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://www.middlebury.edu/offices/administration/planning/mdata/ugcollege
City:Middlebury
StateVT
Name of College/University:Middlebury College
Street Address Line 1:Middlebury College
CityMiddlebury
StateVT
Zip5,753
Main Phone Number (Area Code)802
Main Phone Number:443-5000
WWW Home Page Address:www.middlebury.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):802
Admissions Phone Number:443-3000
Admissions Email Address:admissions@middlebury.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:http://www.middlebury.edu/admissions/apply/online
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:4-1-4
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Doctoral degree -- otherX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2580 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 89 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2669 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 54 | 258 | 260 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 60 | 273 | 273 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 33 | 112 | 112 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 361 | 1546 | 1551 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 57 | 208 | 208 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 36 | 142 | 142 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 1 | 29 | 31 |
| Total | 602 | 361 | 361 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 679 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 192 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 5 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1 | 2 | 30 | 33 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 89 | 50 | 441 | 580 |
| Completed in less than four years | 74 | 44 | 385 | 503 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 3 | 0 | 4 | 7 |
| Total completers | 78 | 46 | 419 | 543 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.876404% | 0.92% | 0.950113% | 0.936207% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 602 | 2551 | 20 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | 382 | 1353 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 317 | 1229 | 0 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 317 | 1229 | 0 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 314 | 1196 | 0 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 295 | 1114 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total completers | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 314% | 1196% | 0% | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 89.00% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESWait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:1,338
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:534
Number of wait-listed students admitted:104
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
Entrance Exams
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 63 | 383 |
| ACT | 44 | 262 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 670 | 750 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 670 | 770 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 31 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80061
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69936
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5993
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80065
SAT Math: 600-69929
SAT Math: 500-5995
SAT Math: Total99
SAT Composite: 1400-160063.2
SAT Composite: 1200-139934.5
SAT Composite: 1000-11992.3
SAT Composite: 800-9990
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-3686.6
ACT Composite: 24-2913
ACT Composite: 18-230.4
ACT Composite: 12-170
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Total0
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month1
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD):Month5
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD): Day1
Amount of housing deposit:300
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 98 | 113 | Not reported | 211 |
| Admitted | 17 | 18 | Not reported | 35 |
| Enrolled | 4 | 1 | Not reported | 5 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
FallX
SpringX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month4
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:- D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit: C- (1.67) Number Unit Type - D13 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution: 18 Number Unit Type - D14 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution: 18 - D15 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree: 18.00 - D16 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor's degree: - D17 Describe other transfer credit policies: ## D18-D22: Military Service Transfer Credit Policies D18 Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits: Yes No Number Unit Type - D19 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on military education evaluated by the American Council on Education (ACE): Number Unit Type - D20 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on Department of Defense supported prior learning assessments (College Level Examination Program (CLEP) or DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)): Yes No - D21 Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website? - D22 Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution: If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located: ##
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day10
Spring Notification Date: Day15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:18
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 15 Common Data Set 2020-2021 E. ACADEM IC OFFERINGS AND POLICIES E1 Special study options: Identify those programs available at your institution. Refer to the glossary for definitions. X Accelerated program Cooperative education program Cross-registration Distance learning X Double major Dual enrollment English as a Second Language (ESL) X Exchange student program (domestic) External degree program X Honors Program X Independent study X Internships Liberal arts/career combination X Student-designed major X Study abroad X Teacher certification program W eekend college Other (specify): E2 Has been removed from the CDS. E3 Areas in which all or most students are required to complete some course work prior to graduation: Arts/fine arts Computer literacy English (including composition) Foreign languages History Humanities Mathematics Philosophy Sciences (biological or physical) Social science Other (describe):
Academic Offerings and Policies
1 TABLEAccelerated programX
Double majorX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)97%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)96%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing95%
Percent who live off campus or commute5%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students18.2
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.2
Average age of full-time students19.8
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19.9
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
YearbookX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Cooperative housingX
Annual Expenses
1 TABLEIf your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Financial Aid
9 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 2 | 6 | 0 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 10000 | 26998 | 0 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Federal$2,498,384
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$83,494
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$59,337,410
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,454,242
Total Scholarships/Grants$63,373,530
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,241,014
Federal Work-Study$476,422
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$641,512
Total Self-Help$3,358,948
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$26,998
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$26,998
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,596,793
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,000,000
Total Self-Help$3,596,793
Parent Loans$1,299,205
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 602 | 2551 | 20 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 382 | 1353 | 0 |
| Determined to have financial need | 317 | 1229 | 0 |
| Awarded any aid | 317 | 1229 | 0 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 314 | 1196 | 0 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 295 | 1114 | 0 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 314 | 1196 | 0 |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 55069 | 55460 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 54166 | 52227 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3854 | 4675 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | 3057 | 4244 | Not reported |
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 244 | 37.00 | 22146 |
| Federal loan programs | 219 | 33.00 | 14873 |
| Institutional loan programs | 78 | 12.00 | 8444 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 32 | 5.00 | 46491 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:142
Institution’s own financial aid formX
CSS ProfileX
FAFSAX
Noncustodial ProfileX
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 295 | 34 | 329 |
| Members of minority groups | 51 | 6 | 57 |
| Females | 134 | 22 | 156 |
| Males | 161 | 12 | 173 |
| Nonresidents | 10 | 1 | 11 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 286 | 26 | 312 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 6 | 3 | 9 |
| Bachelor's degree | 3 | 4 | 7 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio8
based on ____ students2,561
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 100 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 100 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 227 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 107 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 42 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 24 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 14 | Not reported |
| Total | 0 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 12% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0% | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 32% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 91.42% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.