Middle Tennessee State University
2025-26
The 2025-26 Common Data Set for Middle Tennessee State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jul 7, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2025-26 report, Middle Tennessee State University says 17,724 first-year students applied and 11,277 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 64%. 3,267 admitted students enrolled (29% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1020–1220 and ACT of 19–25. Compared with 2024-25, applications rose 18% (14,989 to 17,724) and the acceptance rate went from 69% to 64%.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 17,724 | 11,277 | 64% | 3,267 | School-reported totals. |
Application fee: $25. Fee waivers are reported as available.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
Enrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1,563 | 1,636 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 5,277 | 5,746 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 6,840 | 7,382 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 24 | 24 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 6,864 | 7,406 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 37 | 32 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 1,176 | 1,191 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 1,213 | 1,223 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 706 | 1,032 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 1,919 | 2,255 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 8783 | 9661 | 0 | 18,444 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 98 | 138 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 137 | 237 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 1 | 1 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 236 | 376 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 134 | 238 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 479 | 840 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 15 | 50 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 628 | 1,128 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2,368 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | 7,100 | 7,782 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | 2,547 | 3,383 | 0 | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 20,812 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 77 | 337 | 436 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 408 | 1,904 | 2,043 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 540 | 2,376 | 2,511 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1,887 | 10,258 | 11,479 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 6 | 31 | 31 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 132 | 729 | 797 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 5 | 15 | 15 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 196 | 811 | 916 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 17 | 200 | 216 |
| Total | 3,268 | 16,661 | 18,444 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 14 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 3,532 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 28 |
| Master's degrees | 737 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 68 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 51 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 1,353 | 425 | 1,504 | 3,282 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 1,353 | 425 | 1,504 | 3,282 |
| Completed in less than four years | 411 | 147 | 704 | 1,262 |
| Completed in less than five years | 150 | 52 | 185 | 387 |
| Completed in less than six years | 45 | 16 | 49 | 110 |
| Total completers | 606 | 215 | 938 | 1,759 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 44.8% | 50.6% | 62.4% | 53.6% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | 3,114 |
| Still enrolled next fall | 2,444 |
| Retention rate | 78.5% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESC8D · Entrance Exams
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 7,812 | 9,912 | Not reported | 17,724 |
| Admitted | 5,020 | 6,257 | Not reported | 11,277 |
| Enrolled | 1,603 | 1,664 | Not reported | 3,267 |
| Enrolled full-time | 1,566 | 1,633 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 37 | 31 | Not reported | Not reported |
C2 · Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | Yes | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Talent or ability | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Character and personal qualities | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| First generation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Alumni relation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Geographical residence | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State residency | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Volunteer work | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Work experience | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 6.6 | 215 |
| ACT | 91.8 | 2,999 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1,020 | 1,120 | 1,220 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 515 | 570 | 630 |
| SAT math | 495 | 550 | 610 |
| ACT composite | 19 | 22 | 25 |
| ACT math | 17 | 20 | 24 |
| ACT English | 19 | 22 | 26 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | 19 | 22 | 24 |
| ACT Reading | 20 | 23 | 28 |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 1,754 | 2,451 | Not reported | 4,205 |
| Admitted | 1,073 | 1,430 | Not reported | 2,503 |
| Enrolled | 693 | 800 | Not reported | 1,493 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
5 TABLESAnnual Expenses
1 TABLEFinancial Aid
15 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 779 | 3,366 | 1,633 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $9,799 | $10,218 | $1,786 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 63 | 333 | 5 |
| Average athletic grant | $23,432 | $25,081 | $15,404 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 3,114 | 14,189 | 3,853 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 2,658 | 12,147 | 1,210 |
| Determined to have financial need | 1,893 | 8,746 | 933 |
| Awarded any aid | 1,883 | 8,603 | 864 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1,268 | 6,015 | 639 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 674 | 3,234 | 352 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1,756 | 6,472 | 347 |
| Need fully met | 219 | 852 | 22 |
| Average percentage of need met | 62% | 56% | 37% |
| Average financial aid package | $13,939 | $12,771 | $6,477 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $8,221 | $7,690 | $4,549 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $3,346 | $4,134 | $3,950 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,096 | $3,964 | $3,926 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 869 | 44% | $22,596 |
| Federal loan programs | 855 | 43% | $19,209 |
| Institutional loan programs | 1 | 0% | $2,600 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0% | $0 |
| Private student loans | 107 | 5% | $29,995 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 943 | 361 | 1,304 |
| Members of minority groups | 179 | 49 | 228 |
| Females | 463 | 198 | 661 |
| Males | 480 | 163 | 643 |
| Nonresidents | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 737 | 61 | 798 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 196 | 167 | 363 |
| Bachelor's degree | 10 | 48 | 58 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 85 | 85 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 263 | 17 |
| 10-19 students | 709 | 24 |
| 20-29 students | 571 | 24 |
| 30-39 students | 189 | 13 |
| 40-49 students | 64 | 1 |
| 50-99 students | 106 | 2 |
| 100+ students | 18 | 1 |
| Total | 1,920 | 82 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 93.3% | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 4.9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.9% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 9.6% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.8% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 6.6% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 3.6% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 6.1% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 12.4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Business/marketing | 6.7% | Not reported | 19.4% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 0% | 100% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.