Middle Tennessee State University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Middle Tennessee State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Mar 7, 2024. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$48,541
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
54%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$13,359
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$20,000
federal loans only
FSA
12%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
156numbers from this report.
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 6760 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 0 | 7190 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 6760 | 7190 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 329 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 0 | 505 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 329 | 505 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 7089 | 7695 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 77% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied0
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted0
In-state first-time, first-year who enrolled0
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied0
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted741
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who enrolled391
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied64
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted0
Nonresident first-time, first-year who enrolled0
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who applied0
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who were admitted14,763
Unknown-residency first-time, first-year who enrolled10,039
C.1313126
Total academic units4.0
Mathematics4.0
Science3.0
Foreign language2.0
Social studies1.0
History1.0
Computer Science1.0
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 7 | 221 |
| ACT | 92 | 2880 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1000 | 1110 | 1230 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 510 | 560 | 630 |
| SAT math | 490 | 540 | 600 |
| ACT composite | 19 | 22 | 26 |
| ACT math | 17 | 20 | 24 |
| ACT English | 19 | 22 | 26 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8005
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69932
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59943
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49919
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3991
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-8008
SAT Math: 600-69919
SAT Math: 500-59946
SAT Math: 400-49923
SAT Math: 300-3994
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-16004
SAT Composite: 1200-139930
SAT Composite: 1000-119943
SAT Composite: 800-99921
SAT Composite: 600-7992
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.024
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9924
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4914
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2411
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.997
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA of 4.08
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9912
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7422
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4913
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9918
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.4912
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.993
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA of 4.024
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9923
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4914
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.997
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.70
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:99.9
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?No
Application closing date (fall): Month8
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Priority Date: Month7
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:350
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESList any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://w1.mtsu.edu/military/admission.php
Annual Expenses
1 TABLEPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://w1.mtsu.edu/tuition/cost-of-
Financial Aid
4 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 9712.00 | 10229.00 | 1883.00 |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Federal$23,630
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$19,210
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$26,029
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$3,420,511
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | 2.4% | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | 4.9% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 2.8% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.4% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 4.0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 6.6% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 3.9% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 6.0% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 13.1% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 3.8% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 18.6% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.