Middle Tennessee State University

2022-23

The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Middle Tennessee State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Mar 30, 2023. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

72.5%

Applications

12,868

Admitted

9,335

Enrolled

2,764

SAT Composite

1020-1220

SAT Math

500-600

SAT Reading

520-630

ACT Composite

19-26

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$48,541
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
54%
6-year completion
Average net price
$13,359
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$20,000
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report476numbers from this report.

Enrollment And Persistence

6 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking13111453Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking418381Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking48305451Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seeking65597285Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduates1426Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking2318Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seeking5163Not reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seeking10391201Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seeking11131282Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduates451708Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported17438
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seeking131154Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking156284Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduates04Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduates287442Not reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seeking100196Not reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seeking565983Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduates2154Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduates6861233Not reportedNot reported
Total graduate students9731675Not reported2648
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time students68607753Not reportedNot reported
Total part-time students22503223Not reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported20086
All
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents48331379
Hispanic/Latino28013981476
Black or African American, non-Hispanic40424592541
White, non-Hispanic17591049911334
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic93740
Asian, non-Hispanic119676735
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic11414
Two or more races, non-Hispanic142628674
Race and/or ethnicity unknown43197245
Total28051623917438
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma11
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degreesNot reported
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degrees826
Post-master's certificates47
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship51
Doctoral degrees, professional practiceNot reported
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort135532511872867
Did not persist0000
Final cohort135532511872867
Completed in less than four years3531145411008
Completed in less than five years23852167457
Completed in less than six years53839100
Total completers6441747471565
Six-year graduation rate47.5%53.5%62.9%54.6%
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort137430611132793
Did not persist0000
Final cohort137430611132793
Completed in less than four years358113502973
Completed in less than five years22747154428
Completed in less than six years45143897
Total completers6301746941498
Six-year graduation rate56.9%62.4%53.6%53.6%
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate76.06%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied54987370Not reported12,868
Admitted39745361Not reported9,335
Enrolled13111453Not reported2,764
Enrolled full-time13111453Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time2318Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Computer Science1
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT7.7216
ACT90.02524
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT composite102011201220
SAT evidence-based reading and writing520570630
SAT math500550600
ACT composite192226
ACT math172025
ACT English192326
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8007.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69932
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59944.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49916.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8006.9
SAT Math: 600-69919
SAT Math: 500-59950.9
SAT Math: 400-49920.4
SAT Math: 300-3992.8
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16004.2
SAT Composite: 1200-139927.3
SAT Composite: 1000-119949.5
SAT Composite: 800-99918.5
SAT Composite: 600-7990.5
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-369.2
ACT Composite: 24-2932.3
ACT Composite: 18-2346.6
ACT Composite: 12-1711.8
ACT Composite: 6-110.1
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.022.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9923.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7418.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4914.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2411.1
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.997.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491.7
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:25
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month8
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Priority Date: Month7
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:350
If yes, maximum period of postponement:One semester

Transfer Admission

2 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied14521811Not reported3263
Admitted10641365Not reported2429
Enrolled727877Not reported1604
Application for Admission
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:⇒ Click or tap here to enter text.

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Accelerated programX
Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
External degree programX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Weekend collegeX
Required Course Work
Arts/fine artsX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
Physical EducationX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX

Student Life

4 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)10%
Percent of males who join fraternities6%
Percent of females who join sororities7%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing28%
Percent who live off campus or commute72%
Percent of students age 25 and older2%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent of males who join fraternities7%
Percent of females who join sororities6%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing24%
Percent who live off campus or commute76%
Percent of students age 25 and older20%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Activities Offered
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Housing
Coed residence hallsX
Men's residence halls (Men)X
Women's residence halls (Females)X
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Living Learning CommunitiesX

Financial Aid

7 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipients78941561101
Average institutional non-need grant959299572635
Athletic grant recipients562964
Average athletic grant226942655221103
Reporting Year
Academic Year2022-2023 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$30,097,083
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$11,274,593
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$0
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$41,371,676
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$18,805,493
Federal Work-Study$356,946
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$19,162,439
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$28,158,521
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$28,497,305
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$20,002,849
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$7,905,958
Total Scholarships/Grants$84,564,633
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$29,377,684
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$29,377,684
Parent Loans$9,839,939
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$4,474,559
Athletic Awards$7,943,806
Students Awarded Aid
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2 students awarded aid. Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Degree-seeking undergraduates2764138843554
Applied for need-based aid2323127961660
Determined to have financial need158291271183
Awarded any aid158191261165
Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid8935393731
Awarded need-based self-help aid6624236595
Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid158091201070
Need fully met314166480
Average percentage of need metNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Average financial aid package7269Not reported
Average need-based scholarship or grantNot reportedNot reported4703
Average need-based self-help awardNot reportedNot reported3813
Average need-based loanNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Source Type Loan
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
H5 student loans. Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
MeasureNumber in classPercent of classAverage per borrower
Any loan program10015423722
Federal loan programs9835320958
Institutional loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
State loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Private student loansNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Institutional Aid
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:⇒ Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☐ No Common Data Set 2022- 2023

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

3 TABLES
Instructional Faculty
I1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
I1 instructional faculty. Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
MeasureFull-timePart-timeTotal
Total instructional faculty9492361185
Members of minority groups17828206
Females460131591
Males489105594
Nonresidents101
Doctorate or other terminal degree70138739
Master's, but not terminal master's235160395
Bachelor's degree03333
Unknown or other highest degree13518
Stand-alone graduate/professional programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
based on ____ students16,076
and ____ faculty1,028
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 students285Not reported
10-19 students28537
20-29 students82437
30-39 students5750
40-49 students2080
50-99 students623
100+ students97Not reported
Total23Not reported

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

1 TABLE
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reported2.2%
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported0.1%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported5.3%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reported0.4%
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.2%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported3.1%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported1.7%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reported2.2%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported1.0%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.8%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported1.3%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported2.4%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported4.8%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported4.9%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.5%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.0%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported6.2%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported3.6%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported1.8%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.9%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reported5.5%
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported10.9%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported4.7%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported18.3%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1.1%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
TotalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source Document