Middle Tennessee State University

2021-22

The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Middle Tennessee State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jan 28, 2022. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

68.4%

Applications

11,244

Admitted

7,691

Enrolled

2,707

SAT Composite

1020-1210

SAT Math

500-590

SAT Reading

510-620

ACT Composite

19-26

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$48,541
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
54%
6-year completion
Average net price
$13,359
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$20,000
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report457numbers from this report.

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking12781429Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking530369Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking49155958Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seeking67237756Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduates1121Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking1926Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seeking6676Not reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seeking10691267Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seeking11541369Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduates317541Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported17892
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seeking118193Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking210348Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduates65Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduates334546Not reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seeking120233Not reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seeking5931069Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduates2347Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduates7361349Not reportedNot reported
Total graduate students10701895Not reported2965
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time students70688323Not reportedNot reported
Total part-time students22073259Not reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported20857
All
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents42343Not reported
Hispanic/Latino2131341Not reported
Black or African American, non-Hispanic4102763Not reported
White, non-Hispanic180210984Not reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic339Not reported
Asian, non-Hispanic111683Not reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic521Not reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic126662Not reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknown40166Not reported
Total275217002Not reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma3
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degreesNot reported
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degrees678
Post-master's certificates44
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship46
Doctoral degrees, professional practiceNot reported
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort137430611132793
Did not persist0000
Final cohort137430611132793
Completed in less than four years358113502973
Completed in less than five years22747154428
Completed in less than six years45143897
Total completers6301746941498
Six-year graduation rate56.86%62.35%53.63%53.63%
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort143831712793034
Did not persist0000
Final cohort143831712793034
Completed in less than four years131597499911
Completed in less than five years26244215521
Completed in less than six years621543120
Total completers6391567571552
Six-year graduation rate49.21%59.18%51.15%51.15%
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reported
Final cohortNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time19Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied49126332Not reported11,244
Admitted33744317Not reported7,691
Enrolled12781429Not reported2,707
Enrolled full-timeNot reported1429Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time1926Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Computer Science1
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT7.05194
ACT91.642522
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT composite1020Not reported1210
SAT evidence-based reading and writing510Not reported620
SAT math500Not reported590
ACT composite19Not reported26
ACT math17Not reported25
ACT English19Not reported27
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8005.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69932.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59945.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49916.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3991.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8003.1
SAT Math: 600-69920.6
SAT Math: 500-59952.6
SAT Math: 400-49919.6
SAT Math: 300-3994.1
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16003.1
SAT Composite: 1200-139928.4
SAT Composite: 1000-119947.4
SAT Composite: 800-99920.1
SAT Composite: 600-7991.0
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-368.8
ACT Composite: 24-2935.2
ACT Composite: 18-2343.4
ACT Composite: 12-1712.6
ACT Composite: 6-110.0
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.022.0
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9925.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4913.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2411.1
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.997.6
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491.0
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.0
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:25
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month8
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Priority Date: Month7
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:350
If yes, maximum period of postponement:Click or tap here to enter text.

Transfer Admission

2 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied15042055Not reported3559
Admitted11091514Not reported2623
Enrolled796956Not reported1752
Application for Admission
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:⇒ Click or tap here to enter text.

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Accelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Weekend collegeX
Required Course Work
Arts/fine artsX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX

Student Life

4 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)10%
Percent of males who join fraternities6%
Percent of females who join sororities7%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing28%
Percent who live off campus or commute72%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent of males who join fraternities7%
Percent of females who join sororities6%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing13%
Percent who live off campus or commute87%
Percent of students age 25 and older19%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Activities Offered
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Housing
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX

Financial Aid

8 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipients79738331298
Average institutional non-need grant1004294441928
Athletic grant recipients552859
Average athletic grant243552442524709
Reporting Year
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$30,864,810
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$10,212,719
Total Scholarships/Grants$41,077,529
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$21,605,674
Federal Work-Study$423,430
Total Self-Help$22,029,104
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$13,219,889
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$30,002,156
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$20,178,815
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$8,060,967
Total Scholarships/Grants$71,461,827
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$30,526,541
Total Self-Help$30,526,541
Parent Loans$9,769,891
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$4,195,778
Athletic Awards$7,183,432
Students Awarded Aid
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2 students awarded aid. Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Degree-seeking undergraduates2707145113381
Applied for need-based aid2570136821581
Determined to have financial need1814100821182
Awarded any aid1802100361143
Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid10545971668
Awarded need-based self-help aid6794881622
Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid17709299859
Need fully met296136348
Average percentage of need metNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Average financial aid package66.063.0Not reported
Average need-based scholarship or grantNot reported64723627
Average need-based self-help awardNot reported40863869
Average need-based loanNot reported3128Not reported
Source Type Loan
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
H5 student loans. Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
MeasureNumber in classPercent of classAverage per borrower
Any loan program11425724282
Federal loan programs11275622284
Institutional loan programs000
State loan programs000
Private student loans123121274
Financial Aid Reply
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
Institutional Aid
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:⇒ Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☐ No Common Data Set 2021-2022

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

3 TABLES
Instructional Faculty
I1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
I1 instructional faculty. Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
MeasureFull-timePart-timeTotal
Total instructional faculty9433201263
Members of minority groups10338141
Females453169622
Males490152642
Nonresidents101
Doctorate or other terminal degree77891869
Master's, but not terminal master's151158309
Bachelor's degree84553
Unknown or other highest degree62632
Stand-alone graduate/professional programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
based on ____ students17,213
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 students31916
10-19 students31916
20-29 students843Not reported
30-39 students6092
40-49 students2382
50-99 students672
100+ students1132
Total181

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

1 TABLE
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reported2.2%
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported0.1%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported5.8%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reported0.2%
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.9%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported3.6%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported1.5%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reported2.1%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported1.2%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.1%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported1.2%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported3.7%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported5.5%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported4.8%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.3%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.3%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported6.5%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported3.0%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported1.7%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.8%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reported3.6%
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported12.1%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported3.9%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported18.4%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1.0%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
TotalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported

Source Document