Middle Tennessee State University

2020-21

The 2020-21 Common Data Set for Middle Tennessee State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jan 22, 2021. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

70.6%

Applications

12,143

Admitted

8,568

SAT Composite

1000-1210

SAT Math

500-590

SAT Reading

510-620

ACT Composite

20-26

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$48,541
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
54%
6-year completion
Average net price
$13,359
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$20,000
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report428numbers from this report.

Enrollment And Persistence

4 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking14881547Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking532413Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking51786340Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported19188
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported2892
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time students75978836Not reportedNot reported
Total part-time students23143333Not reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported22080
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents59369Not reported
Hispanic/Latino2611311Not reported
Black or African American, non-Hispanic5213268Not reported
White, non-Hispanic194211503Not reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic743Not reported
Asian, non-Hispanic126709Not reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic517Not reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic125682Not reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknown47103Not reported
Total309310000
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort143831712793034
Did not persist0000
Final cohort143831712793034
Completed in less than four years31597499911
Completed in less than five years26244215521
Completed in less than six years621543120
Total completers6391567571552
Six-year graduation rate0.444367177%0.492113565%0.591868647%0.511535926%
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort156440012603224
Did not persist0000
Final cohort156440012603224
Completed in less than four years29273451816
Completed in less than five years27668212556
Completed in less than six years731747137
Total completers6411587101509
Six-year graduation rate0.409846547%0.395%0.563492063%0.468052109%
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort00
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate78.50%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

6 TABLES

Entrance Exams

SATX
ACTX
APX
CLEPX
Institutional ExamX
State Exam (specify):X
Specify:TN SAILS Program
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied53256818Not reported12,143
Admitted38364732Not reported8,568
EnrolledNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled full-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Computer Science1
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT9252
ACT932741
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT composite1000Not reported1210
SAT evidence-based reading and writing510Not reported620
SAT math500Not reported590
ACT composite20Not reported26
ACT math1825Not reported
ACT English2028Not reported
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8003.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69934.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59942.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49918.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8004.1
SAT Math: 600-69920.7
SAT Math: 500-59952.6
SAT Math: 400-49919.9
SAT Math: 300-3992.6
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16000.0
SAT Composite: 1200-13990.3
SAT Composite: 1000-11990.5
SAT Composite: 800-9990.2
SAT Composite: 600-7990.0
SAT Composite: 400-5990.0
SAT Composite: Total99.7
ACT Composite: 30-369.7
ACT Composite: 24-2937.0
ACT Composite: 18-2343.6
ACT Composite: 12-179.7
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.018.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9922.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915.0
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.999.4
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491.7
Admission Policies
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Amount of application fee:25
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?No
If yes, maximum period of postponement:##
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)No
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
Other
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X

Transfer Admission

3 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied16162105Not reportedNot reported
Admitted11501547Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled8081071Not reportedNot reported
Other fields
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
Application for Admission
FallX
SpringX
SummerX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:##
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://mtsu.edu/military/process.php
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:*60 credits is maximum for PLA from ACE, CLEP, DSST , etc.

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Accelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Study abroadX
Required Course Work
Arts/fine artsX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX

Student Life

4 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)11%
Percent who live off campus or commute69%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)8%
Percent who live off campus or commute90%
Percent of students age 25 and older16%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Activities Offered
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
Housing
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX

Annual Expenses

1 TABLE
Information
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X

Financial Aid

13 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipients71527581231
Average institutional non-need grant865295201368
Athletic grant recipients643105
Average athletic grant261862446114309
Reporting Year
Academic Year2020-2021 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$33,174,616
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$9,862,793
Total Scholarships/Grants$43,037,409
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$25,928,360
Federal Work-Study$689,489
Total Self-Help$26,617,849
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$6,982,760
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$28,975,107
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$18,237,867
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$7,950,094
Total Scholarships/Grants$62,145,828
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$34,489,701
Total Self-Help$34,489,701
Parent Loans$11,774,740
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$4,888,016
Athletic Awards$7,654,356
Students Awarded Aid
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2 students awarded aid. Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Degree-seeking undergraduates3035155203668
Applied for need-based aid2941136651435
Determined to have financial need2194105351146
Awarded any aid2177103651073
Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid13336564674
Awarded need-based self-help aid10535925668
Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid19206857254
Need fully met277115042
Average percentage of need met66.062.047.0
Average financial aid package11180103724973
Average need-based scholarship or grant676062193272
Average need-based self-help award323941183674
Average need-based loan321240063628
Source Type Loan
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
H5 student loans. Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
MeasureNumber in classPercent of classAverage per borrower
Any loan program115558.0025285
Federal loan programs113657.0023241
Institutional loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
State loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Private student loans1507.0018683
Aid to Nonresidents
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:217
Financial Aid Forms
FAFSAX
Financial Aid Deadlines
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month2
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
Financial Aid Notification
b) Students notified on a rolling basis:X
If yes, starting date (Month):2
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Financial Aid Reply
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
Aid Available
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
Institutional Aid
AcademicsX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes No

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

3 TABLES
Instructional Faculty
I1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
I1 instructional faculty. Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
MeasureFull-timePart-timeTotal
Total instructional faculty9553201275
Members of minority groups949103
Females459183642
Males496137633
Nonresidents729
Doctorate or other terminal degree79596891
Master's, but not terminal master'sNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Bachelor's degreeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Unknown or other highest degreeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Stand-alone graduate/professional programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17
based on ____ students18,315
and ____ faculty1,062
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 students1709
10-19 students1709
20-29 students55413
30-39 students29515
40-49 students932
50-99 students371
100+ students514
Total90

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reported2.5%
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported0.0%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported7.4%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reported1.0%
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.8%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported3.4%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported1.5%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reported2.8%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported0.9%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.9%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported1.6%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported5.4%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported4.7%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported0.3%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reported28%
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported7.3%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported4.6%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.0%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.4%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported6.0%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported3.4%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported1.4%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.7%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reported3.9%
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported11.3%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported3.9%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported16.9%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1.0%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0.00%0.00%100.00%

Source Document