Middle Tennessee State University

2017-18

The 2017-18 Common Data Set for Middle Tennessee State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 28, 2020. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

59.3%

Applications

9,938

Admitted

5,898

Enrolled

2,976

SAT Math

470-590

SAT Reading

520-620

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$48,541
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
54%
6-year completion
Average net price
$13,359
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$20,000
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report221numbers from this report.

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported19523
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported2390
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total part-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported21913
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents79Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino20188
Black or African American, non-Hispanic730Not reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic1777Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic12Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic97Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic0Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic115Not reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total3016Not reportedNot reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma20
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degrees4137
Postbachelor's certificates8
Master's degrees792
Post-master's certificates28
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship75
Doctoral degrees, professional practiceNot reported
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort30561259625
Did not persist0000
Final cohort170638213823470
Completed in less than four years26570368703
Completed in less than five yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years892179189
Total completers6591527061517
Six-year graduation rate0.386283705%0.397905759%0.510853835%0.437175793%
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist0000
Final cohort180141715783796
Completed in less than four years23958390687
Completed in less than five years32684304714
Completed in less than six years10619Not reported225
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist2013Not reported
Final cohort201313
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate76.80%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

4 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied43935545Not reported9,938
Admitted26123286Not reported5,898
Enrolled13981578Not reported2,976
Enrolled full-timeNot reported1578Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time1525Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Computer Science1
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT4110
ACT902728
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writing520Not reported620
SAT math470Not reported590
ACT composite2025Not reported
ACT math1825Not reported
ACT English1926Not reported
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7421
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4914
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2418
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9912
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.991
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.46
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:25
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?No
If yes, maximum period of postponement:| | |
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institution2,017
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan2,018
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No

Transfer Admission

3 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied17122127Not reported3839
Admitted11351380Not reported2515
Enrolled8991059Not reported1958
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)2%
Percent of males who join fraternities6%
Percent of females who join sororities10%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing57%
Percent who live off campus or commute43%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)3%
Percent of males who join fraternities4%
Percent of females who join sororities5%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing17%
Percent who live off campus or commute83%
Percent of students age 25 and older18%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22

Annual Expenses

1 TABLE
Credits per Term
Minimum2

Financial Aid

8 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2016-2017 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$33,375,154
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$70,975
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$0
Total Scholarships/Grants$43,509,024
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$32,043,676
Federal Work-Study$428,553
Total Self-Help$32,472,229
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$6,657,280
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$11,767,906
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$13,645,843
Total Scholarships/Grants$57,394,362
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$38,167,015
Total Self-Help$38,167,015
Parent Loans$10,828,071
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$4,558,292
Aid to Nonresidents
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:223
Financial Aid Deadlines
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month1
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day17
Financial Aid Notification
If yes, starting date (Month):2
If yes, starting date (Day):6
Financial Aid Reply
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
Institutional Aid
AcademicsX
AthleticsX
LeadershipX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 21 Common Data Set 2017-2018

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18
based on ____ students18,354
and ____ faculty1,034

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reported2.4%
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported7.0%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.3%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported1.3%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported0.0%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reported3.0%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported2.0%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.0%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported2.0%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported12.0%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported4.0%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported1.2%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported7.0%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported6.0%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.4%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.3%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported5.2%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported3.0%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported1.4%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.0%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reported3.0%
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported8.1%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported6.0%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported15.0%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported0.4%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0.00%0.00%100.00%

Source Document