Michigan Technological University
2025-26
The 2025-26 Common Data Set for Michigan Technological University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Sep 10, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2025-26 report, Michigan Technological University says 10,359 first-year students applied and 8,853 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 85%. 1,448 admitted students enrolled (16% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1120–1330 and ACT of 25–32. Compared with 2024-25, applications fell 19% (12,715 to 10,359) and the acceptance rate went from 84% to 85%.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 10,359 | 8,853 | 85% | 1,448 | School-reported totals. |
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1,045 | 398 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 109 | 29 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2,959 | 1,219 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 4,113 | 1,646 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 2 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 4,115 | 1,646 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 3 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 3 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 125 | 44 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 131 | 46 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 45 | 26 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 176 | 72 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 4,291 | 1,718 | Not reported | 6,009 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 187 | 116 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 385 | 191 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 572 | 307 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 80 | 34 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 276 | 125 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 6 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 362 | 161 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,402 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | 4,687 | 1,953 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | 538 | 233 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | 5,225 | 2,186 | Not reported | 7,411 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 9 | 52 | 53 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 65 | 201 | 202 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 20 | 70 | 70 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1,211 | 4,886 | 4,941 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 4 | 25 | 25 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 24 | 101 | 110 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 4 | 4 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 47 | 190 | 192 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 67 | 407 | 412 |
| Total | 1,448 | 5,936 | 6,009 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | 17 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1,293 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 294 |
| Master's degrees | 494 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 67 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 274 | 297 | 728 | 1,299 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 274 | 296 | 728 | 1,298 |
| Completed in less than four years | 88 | 105 | 349 | 542 |
| Completed in less than five years | 58 | 90 | 168 | 316 |
| Completed in less than six years | 9 | 12 | 29 | 50 |
| Total completers | 155 | 207 | 546 | 908 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.6% | 0.7% | 0.8% | 0.7% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 266 | 340 | 639 | 1,245 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Final cohort | 266 | 339 | 638 | 1,243 |
| Completed in less than four years | 76 | 123 | 265 | 464 |
| Completed in less than five years | 57 | 94 | 177 | 328 |
| Completed in less than six years | 11 | 11 | 31 | 53 |
| Total completers | 145 | 228 | 473 | 846 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.5% | 0.7% | 0.7% | 0.7% |
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | 1,370 |
| Still enrolled next fall | 1,212 |
| Retention rate | 0.9% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESC8D · Entrance Exams
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 6,696 | 3,663 | Not reported | 10,359 |
| Admitted | 5,754 | 3,099 | Not reported | 8,853 |
| Enrolled | 1,048 | 400 | Not reported | 1,448 |
| Enrolled full-time | 1,045 | 398 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 3 | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
C2 · Wait List
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 0.7 | 959 |
| ACT | 0.2 | 261 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1,120 | 1,230 | 1,330 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 560 | 620 | 670 |
| SAT math | 560 | 620 | 670 |
| ACT composite | 25 | 29 | 32 |
| ACT math | 26 | 29 | 32 |
| ACT English | 23 | 27 | 32 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | 25 | 29 | 33 |
| ACT Reading | 26 | 31 | 33 |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 409 | 190 | Not reported | 599 |
| Admitted | 243 | 105 | Not reported | 348 |
| Enrolled | 117 | 36 | Not reported | 153 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
5 TABLESAnnual Expenses
7 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $20,396 | $20,396 |
| Tuition: in-state | $20,396 | $20,396 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $46,294 | $46,294 |
| Tuition: nonresident | $46,294 | $46,294 |
| Required fees | $382 | $382 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $14,321 | $14,321 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $8,028 | $8,028 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | $6,293 | $6,293 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $1,200 | $1,200 | $1,200 |
| Food only | Not reported | $6,293 | $6,293 |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | $8,028 |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | $1,474 | $1,474 | $1,474 |
| Other expenses | $1,372 | $1,372 | $1,372 |
Financial Aid
15 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 588 | 2,285 | 54 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $11,689 | $10,897 | $5,687 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 69 | 315 | 3 |
| Average athletic grant | $16,100 | $15,120 | $17,600 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1,443 | 5,759 | 177 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1,355 | 4,547 | 104 |
| Determined to have financial need | 838 | 3,103 | 76 |
| Awarded any aid | 838 | 3,095 | 70 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 748 | 2,616 | 53 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 423 | 1,966 | 43 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 820 | 2,847 | 49 |
| Need fully met | 433 | 1,113 | 11 |
| Average percentage of need met | 1% | 1% | 1% |
| Average financial aid package | $29,656 | $25,288 | $11,863 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $13,933 | $12,253 | $6,204 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $3,156 | $4,427 | $4,284 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,014 | $4,219 | $4,004 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 658 | 1% | $35,920 |
| Federal loan programs | 639 | 1% | $21,460 |
| Institutional loan programs | 14 | 0% | $5,628 |
| State loan programs | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 228 | 0% | $40,680 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 419 | 55 | 474 |
| Members of minority groups | 93 | 3 | 96 |
| Females | 146 | 28 | 174 |
| Males | 273 | 27 | 300 |
| Nonresidents | 35 | 3 | 38 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 366 | 30 | 396 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 53 | 21 | 74 |
| Bachelor's degree | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 215 | 67 |
| 10-19 students | 282 | 226 |
| 20-29 students | 251 | 93 |
| 30-39 students | 115 | 23 |
| 40-49 students | 95 | 20 |
| 50-99 students | 113 | 28 |
| 100+ students | 26 | 0 |
| Total | 1,097 | 457 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | 0.5% | 0.6% | 0.5% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | 0.4% | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Business/marketing | 0.5% | Not reported | 0.1% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 1% | 1% | 1% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.