Michigan Technological University
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Michigan Technological University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Michigan Technological University says 12,715 first-year students applied and 10,621 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 84%. 1,373 admitted students enrolled (13% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1140–1340 and ACT of 25–31.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 12,715 | 10,621 | 84% | 1,373 | School-reported totals. |
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
2 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 963 | 407 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 152 | 43 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2,972 | 1,227 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 4,087 | 1,677 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 1 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 4,088 | 1,677 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 3 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 4 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 134 | 52 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 141 | 53 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 37 | 26 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 178 | 79 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 4266 | 1756 | Not reported | 0 | 6,022 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 210 | 116 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 405 | 192 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 615 | 308 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 72 | 35 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 261 | 107 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 3 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 336 | 148 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,407 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 7,429 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 18 | 65 | 66 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 57 | 184 | 187 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 20 | 59 | 60 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1,071 | 4,890 | 4,938 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 4 | 28 | 28 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 17 | 105 | 113 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 55 | 209 | 209 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 131 | 414 | 417 |
| Total | 1,373 | 5,958 | 6,022 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | 16 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1,094 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 207 |
| Master's degrees | 466 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 86 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 266 | 340 | 639 | 1,245 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Final cohort | 266 | 339 | 638 | 1,243 |
| Completed in less than four years | 76 | 123 | 265 | 464 |
| Completed in less than five years | 57 | 94 | 177 | 328 |
| Completed in less than six years | 11 | 11 | 31 | 53 |
| Total completers | 144 | 228 | 473 | 845 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 54.1% | 67.3% | 74.1% | 68% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 316 | 350 | 650 | 1,316 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Final cohort | 316 | 349 | 649 | 1,314 |
| Completed in less than four years | 89 | 113 | 250 | 452 |
| Completed in less than five years | 77 | 108 | 212 | 397 |
| Completed in less than six years | 19 | 10 | 25 | 54 |
| Total completers | 185 | 231 | 487 | 903 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 58.5% | 66.2% | 75% | 68.7% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESEntrance Exams
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 7,654 | 5,061 | Not reported | Not reported | 12,715 |
| Admitted | 6,472 | 4,149 | Not reported | Not reported | 10,621 |
| Enrolled full-time | 963 | 407 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 3 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,373 |
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | Yes | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | — | Yes |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 71 | Not reported |
| ACT | 20 | Not reported |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1,140 | 1,240 | 1,340 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 570 | 620 | 680 |
| SAT math | 560 | 620 | 670 |
| ACT composite | 25 | 28 | 31 |
| ACT math | 26 | 28 | 31 |
| ACT English | 23 | 27 | 32 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | 25 | 29 | 32 |
| ACT Reading | 25 | 30 | 32 |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 382 | 204 | Not reported | Not reported | 586 |
| Admitted | 230 | 126 | Not reported | Not reported | 356 |
| Enrolled | 99 | 40 | Not reported | Not reported | 139 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
2 TABLESFinancial Aid
12 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 546 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $11,594 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 71 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | $15,945 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1,274 | 4,591 | 105 |
| Determined to have financial need | 800 | 3,155 | 71 |
| Awarded any aid | 800 | 3,152 | 69 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 687 | 2,594 | 53 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 418 | 2,150 | 47 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 772 | 2,901 | 41 |
| Need fully met | 393 | 1,035 | 4 |
| Average percentage of need met | 89% | 81% | 43% |
| Average financial aid package | $27,778 | $23,765 | $10,375 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $10,761 | $10,737 | $5,523 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $3,242 | $4,394 | $4,316 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,117 | $4,221 | $4,188 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 566 | 61% | $38,019 |
| Federal loan programs | 547 | 59% | $21,841 |
| Institutional loan programs | 18 | 2% | $4,416 |
| State loan programs | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 212 | 23% | $44,776 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 404 | 66 | 470 |
| Members of minority groups | 96 | 5 | 101 |
| Females | 142 | 35 | 177 |
| Males | 262 | 31 | 293 |
| Nonresidents | 28 | 4 | 32 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 348 | 36 | 384 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 54 | 23 | 77 |
| Bachelor's degree | 2 | 7 | 9 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 256 | 76 |
| 10-19 students | 286 | 251 |
| 20-29 students | 258 | 70 |
| 30-39 students | 95 | 26 |
| 40-49 students | 89 | 24 |
| 50-99 students | 135 | 18 |
| 100+ students | 30 | 0 |
| Total | 1,149 | 465 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 4.8% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.3% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 33.3% | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | 66.7% | 50% | 54.7% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | 50% | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 7.9% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 100% | 100% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.