Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$48,102
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
56%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$16,068
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$23,750
federal loans only
FSA
16%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
356numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESIf there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:http://www.mcla.edu/apply/
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 81 | 107 | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 41 | 33 | 4 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 187 | 217 | 4 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 309 | 357 | 9 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 309 | 357 | 9 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1 | 1 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 2 | 10 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 19 | 38 | 2 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 22 | 49 | 2 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 52 | 96 | 13 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 10 | 27 | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1 | 3 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 8 | 11 | 2 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 11 | 19 | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 0 | 3 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 19 | 33 | 3 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 43 | 8 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | Not reported | 73 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 64 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 536 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 13 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 1 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 29 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | 22 | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | 748 | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 217 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 34 |
| Post-master's certificates | 3 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 132 | 89 | 66 | 287 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 132 | 89 | 66 | 287 |
| Completed in less than four years | 39 | 48 | 24 | 111 |
| Completed in less than five years | 12 | 0 | 12 | 24 |
| Completed in less than six years | 5 | 0 | 1 | 6 |
| Total completers | 56 | 48 | 37 | 141 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 42.4% | 53.9% | 56.1% | 49.1% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 68.9% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 497 | 1044 | Not reported | 1,543 |
| Admitted | 449 | 975 | Not reported | 1,425 |
| Enrolled | 82 | 108 | Not reported | 190 |
| Enrolled full-time | 81 | 107 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 1 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied747
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted691
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied754
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted696
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied42
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted38
Total academic units17
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies2
Academic electives1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 400-599100
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class10
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class35
Percent in top half of high school graduating class72
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class28
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class2
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:30
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent who had GPA of 4.019
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9913
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7411
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4911
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2415
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9923
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.498
Percent who had GPA below 1.0100
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:100
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 97 | 137 | 14 | 248 |
| Admitted | 89 | 121 | 14 | 224 |
| Enrolled | 43 | 43 | 4 | 90 |
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:⇒ 12 - 23 transfer credits and a minimum 2.50 college GPA 12 - 23 transfer credits, a minimum 2.00 college GPA and a high school transcript that meets the admission standards for freshmen applicants 24 or more transfer credits and a minimum 2.00 college GPA
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Weekend collegeX
Arts/fine artsX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)43%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing81%
Percent who live off campus or commute19%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)34%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing60%
Percent who live off campus or commute40%
Percent of students age 25 and older14%
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Theme housingX
Financial Aid
6 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 60 | 142 | 10 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 3490 | 3399 | 2666 |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Academic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$1,993,096
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$1,702,077
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$2,101,921
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$252,158
Total Scholarships/Grants$6,049,252
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$3,400,406
Federal Work-Study$268,274
Total Self-Help$3,668,680
Parent Loans$615,907
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$552,542
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$21,600
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$449,035
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$68,946
Total Scholarships/Grants$539,581
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,007,978
Total Self-Help$1,007,978
Parent Loans$100,749
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$63,523
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 189 | 675 | 73 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 189 | 658 | 60 |
| Determined to have financial need | 129 | 494 | 42 |
| Awarded any aid | 129 | 493 | 41 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 117 | 456 | 40 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 119 | 463 | 37 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 128 | 390 | 16 |
| Need fully met | 80 | 312 | 30 |
| Average percentage of need met | 88.3 | 87.2 | 77.8 |
| Average financial aid package | 20850 | 20290 | 12755 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 10030 | 9642 | 6267 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3310 | 3709 | 2516 |
| Average need-based loan | 2711 | 3152 | 2489 |
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:⇒ Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID -19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☐ No 35 Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts Common Data Set 2023-2024
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 79 | 43 | 122 |
| Members of minority groups | 15 | 5 | 20 |
| Females | 41 | 23 | 64 |
| Males | 37 | 19 | 56 |
| Nonresidents | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 71 | 7 | 78 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 6 | 14 | 20 |
| Bachelor's degree | 1 | 4 | 5 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 18 | 18 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 8 | 8 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio8
based on ____ students9
and ____ faculty6
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 135 | 20 |
| 10-19 students | 114 | 20 |
| 20-29 students | 46 | 15 |
| 30-39 students | 3 | 2 |
| 40-49 students | 1 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 100+ students | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 299 | 37 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.8% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 4.1% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 7.8% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 12.0% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11.1% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 10.6% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 8.8% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 14.3% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.