Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$48,102
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
56%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$16,068
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$23,750
federal loans only
FSA
16%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
199numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESIf there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:http://www.mcla.edu/apply/
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 0 | 3 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 46 | 132 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 37 | 133 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 179 | 897 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 2 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2 | 22 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 1 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 8 | 38 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 12 | 50 | Not reported |
| Total | 285 | 1278 | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 7 |
| Master's degrees | 30 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 89 | 86 | 175 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 72.4% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESTotal academic units17
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History1
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 8 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 960 | 1150 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 480 | 570 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 480 | 600 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 18 | 26 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8002
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69912
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59953
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49932
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3991
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-8004
SAT Math: 600-69921
SAT Math: 500-59944
SAT Math: 400-49929
SAT Math: 300-3992
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-16002
SAT Composite: 1200-139914
SAT Composite: 1000-119950
SAT Composite: 800-99932
SAT Composite: 600-7992
SAT Composite: 400-599100
ACT Composite: 30-3619
ACT Composite: 24-2931
ACT Composite: 18-2335
ACT Composite: 12-1717
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.19
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 Year
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 237 | 124 | Not reported | 361 |
| Admitted | 231 | 110 | Not reported | 341 |
| Enrolled | 99 | 58 | Not reported | 157 |
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants: 12 – 23 transfer credits and a minimum 2.50 college GPA 12 – 23 transfer credits, a minimum 2.00 college GPA and a high school transcript that meets the admission standards for freshmen applicants 24 or more transfer credits and a minimum 2.00 college GPA 12 MCLA Common Data Set 2019-2020
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:45
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
Arts/fine artsX
Computer literacyX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)27%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing81%
Percent who live off campus or commute19%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)30%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing62%
Percent who live off campus or commute38%
Percent of students age 25 and older13%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2019-2020 estimated
Federal$2,746,217
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$3,453,415
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$565,291
Total Scholarships/Grants$7,704,987
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$6,717,710
Federal Work-Study$310,736
Total Self-Help$7,028,446
Parent Loans$869,730
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$575,441
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$500,655
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$52,960
Total Scholarships/Grants$564,015
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,198,089
Total Self-Help$1,198,089
Parent Loans$213,742
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$165,409
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.173
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
LeadershipX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
LeadershipX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 23 MCLA Common Data Set 2019-2020
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio11
based on ____ students5
and ____ faculty1
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 92 | 18 |
| 10-19 students | 92 | 18 |
| 20-29 students | 165 | 29 |
| 30-39 students | 110 | 2 |
| 40-49 students | 7 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 100+ students | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 374 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 2.0% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 4.0% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 17.7% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 10.0% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.4% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 10.7% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 15.1% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.