Marshall University

2022-23

The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Marshall University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jul 10, 2023. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

96.9%

Applications

6,356

Admitted

6,158

Enrolled

1,549

SAT Composite

900-1150

SAT Math

430-550

SAT Reading

460-600

ACT Composite

19-25

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$46,354
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
51%
6-year completion
Average net price
$7,502
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$23,250
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report536numbers from this report.

General Information

8 TABLES
Respondent Information
First Name:Douglas
Last Name:Tuers
Title:Institutional Research Analyst, Sr.
Office:Institutional Research and Planning
Address Line 1:1 John Marshall Drive
Zipcode25,755
Country:United States
Phone:304-696-3648
Email Address:irp@marshall.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.marshall.edu/irp/institutional-data/
Other
City:Huntington
StateWV
Address Information
Name of College/University:Marshall University
Street Address Line 1:One John Marshall Drive
CityHuntington
StateWV
Zip25,755
Country:United States
Main Phone Number (Area Code)304
Main Phone Number:696-3170
WWW Home Page Address:www.marshall.edu
Admissions Office
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):304
Admissions Phone Number:696-3160
Admissions Email Address:admissions@marshall.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://www.marshall.edu/admissions/apply/
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester
Degrees Offered
CertificateX
AssociateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking650872Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking183177Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking18462576Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported7962
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported2873
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time students33564751Not reportedNot reported
Total part-time students0947Not reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported10835
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents98490
Hispanic/Latino38177185
Black or African American, non-Hispanic104407436
White, non-Hispanic129558586626
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic92533
Asian, non-Hispanic1996109
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic045
Two or more races, non-Hispanic62254274
Race and/or ethnicity unknown1361204
Total154969667962
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma4
Associate degrees138
Bachelor's degrees1350
Postbachelor's certificates72
Master's degrees705
Post-master's certificates50
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship22
Doctoral degrees, professional practice197
Doctoral degrees, other0
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort8792587081845
Did not persist2002
Final cohort8772587081843
Completed in less than four years22478333635
Completed in less than five years10026108234
Completed in less than six years26111653
Total completers350115457922
Six-year graduation rate0.40%0.45%0.65%0.50%
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort8192607851864
Did not persist3003
Final cohort8162607851861
Completed in less than four years19678361635
Completed in less than five years10532112249
Completed in less than six years45133896
Total completers346123511980
Six-year graduation rate42.40%47.31%65.10%52.66%
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort00
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years150Not reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate74.41%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

7 TABLES

Entrance Exams

In addition, does your institution use applicants' test scores for academic advising?Yes
SATX
ACTX
Institutional ExamX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied25913765Not reported6,356
Admitted25003658Not reported6,158
Enrolled650872Not reported1,549
Enrolled full-time650872Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time198Not reportedNot reported

Wait List

Do you have a policy of placing students on a waiting list?No
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT21322
ACT62957
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT composite90010301150
SAT evidence-based reading and writing460530600
SAT math430500550
ACT composite192225
ACT math172024
ACT English182225
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Composite: 1400-16001.6
SAT Composite: 1200-139916.2
SAT Composite: 1000-119937.3
SAT Composite: 800-99937.3
SAT Composite: 600-7997.8
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-367.1
ACT Composite: 24-2928.1
ACT Composite: 18-2349.8
ACT Composite: 12-1714.7
ACT Composite: 6-110.2
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.034.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9916.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7413.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4911.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.248.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9910.0
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.494.2
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.8
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.65
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:99.3
Admission Policies
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Amount of application fee:40
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Can on-line application fee be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?Yes
Yes, on a rolling basis:X
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD):Month5
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD): Day15
Amount of housing deposit:0
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:-
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
Other
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X

Transfer Admission

3 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied285392Not reported677
Admitted270385Not reported655
Enrolled219233Not reported452
Other fields
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Application for Admission
FallX
SpringX
SummerX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any
Transfer Credit Policies
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:72
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:24
American Council on Education (ACE)Yes
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Number72
Unit Typecredit
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://catalog.marshall.edu/undergraduate/admissions/#Transfer
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 14 Common Data Set 2021-2022

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Accelerated programX
Comprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Weekend collegeX
Required Course Work
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Describe:Communication, Multicultural

Student Life

4 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)20%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)20%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Activities Offered
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
Housing
Coed residence hallsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Theme housingX

Annual Expenses

7 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://marshall.studentaidcalculator.com/survey.aspx
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Public Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
TuitionNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-district71907190
Tuition: in-state71907190
Tuition: out-of-state1824418244
Tuition: nonresident1824418244
Required fees14141414
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
All Institutions Expenses
Credits per Term
Minimum12
Tuition Policies
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?No
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
Estimated Expenses
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
G5 estimated expenses. Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
MeasureResidentsCommuters living at homeCommuters not living at home
Books and supplies110011001100
Food onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Housing onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing totalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation240032003200
Other expenses108718001800
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
In-district:$300
In-state (out-of-district):$300
Out-of-state:$761
NONRESIDENTS:$761

Financial Aid

11 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipients333114015
Average institutional non-need grant330233741910
Athletic grant recipients683549
Average athletic grant175221646214443
Reporting Year
Academic Year2022-2023 estimated
Methodology
Federal methodology (FM)X
Students Awarded Aid
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2 students awarded aid. Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Degree-seeking undergraduates63046642022
Applied for need-based aid14735612403
Determined to have financial need10974281324
Awarded any aid10904217281
Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid8693295206
Awarded need-based self-help aid6532620197
Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid916267966
Need fully met333113723
Average percentage of need met44.843.330.2
Average financial aid package14472126505512
Average need-based scholarship or grant884876403624
Average need-based self-help award512065116633
Average need-based loan508164996589
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,048
Source Type Loan
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
H5 student loans. Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
MeasureNumber in classPercent of classAverage per borrower
Any loan program61758.8727593
Federal loan programs61258.4024465
Institutional loan programs00.000
State loan programs10.105000
Private student loans948.9721780
Aid to Nonresidents
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:55
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$22,988
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$1,264,333
Financial Aid Forms
FAFSAX
Financial Aid Notification
b) Students notified on a rolling basis:X
If yes, starting date (Month):4
If yes, starting date (Day):1
Aid Available
State LoansX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
Institutional Aid
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
AthleticsX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes X No

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

3 TABLES
Instructional Faculty
I1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
I1 instructional faculty. Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
MeasureFull-timePart-timeTotal
Total instructional faculty457158615
Members of minority groups9213105
Females21887305
Males23971310
Nonresidents10111
Doctorate or other terminal degree37815393
Master's, but not terminal master's78142220
Bachelor's degree112
Unknown or other highest degree000
Stand-alone graduate/professional programs36641407
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
based on ____ students8,410
and ____ faculty510
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 students388Not reported
10-19 students388Not reported
20-29 students511Not reported
30-39 students536Not reported
40-49 students157Not reported
50-99 students63Not reported
100+ students58Not reported
Total10Not reported

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reported0.67%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported1.87%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported1.42%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported6.21%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported3.29%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reported0.90%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported0.22%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported2.92%
Liberal arts/general studies25.00%Not reported12.72%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported6.36%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported0.22%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reported28%
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported0.97%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported4.41%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.17%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported5.53%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported2.99%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported2.47%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported2.77%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported3.44%
Health professions and related programs100.00%100.00%20.12%
Business/marketing75.00%Not reported17.43%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported0.90%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total100.00%100.00%100.00%

Source Document