Lake Superior State University
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Lake Superior State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$49,045
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
51%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$12,822
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$23,250
federal loans only
FSA
14%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
445numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESName of College/University:Lake Superior State University
Street Address Line 1:49783-1699
Main Phone Number (Area Code)906
Main Phone Number:632-6841
WWW Home Page Address:W W W .LSSU.EDU
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):906
Admissions Phone Number:635-2231
Admissions Email Address:ADMISSIONS@LSSU.EDU
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1812 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1812 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 0 | 21 | 21 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 1 | 20 | 21 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 1 | 13 | 16 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 34 | 761 | 844 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 6 | 92 | 117 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 1 | 11 | 15 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 283 | 675 | 778 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 283 | 675 | 778 |
| Total | 326 | 1593 | 1812 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 19 |
| Associate degrees | 130 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 357 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 149 | 66 | 164 | 379 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 149 | 66 | 164 | 379 |
| Completed in less than four years | 33 | 26 | 70 | 129 |
| Completed in less than five years | 29 | 13 | 31 | 73 |
| Completed in less than six years | 10 | 4 | 4 | 18 |
| Total completers | 72 | 43 | 105 | 220 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 48% | 65% | 64% | 58% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 169 | 61 | 178 | 408 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 168 | 61 | 178 | 407 |
| Completed in less than four years | 74 | 27 | 102 | 203 |
| Completed in less than five years | 6 | 2 | 6 | 14 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 2 | 1 | 4 |
| Total completers | 81 | 31 | 109 | 221 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 48% | 51% | 61% | 54% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 65.20% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESEntrance Exams
In addition, does your institution use applicants' test scores for academic advising?Yes
SATX
ACTX
APX
Institutional ExamX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History1
Academic electives0
Computer Science1
Visual/Performing Arts0
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | Yes | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 43 | 139 |
| ACT | 9 | 30 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 963 | 1178 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 480 | 590 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 470 | 570 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 19 | 27 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 17 | 26 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 16 | 27 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8004
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69917
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59949
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49925
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3995
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total1
SAT Math: 700-8001
SAT Math: 600-69913
SAT Math: 500-59949
SAT Math: 400-49933
SAT Math: 300-3994
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3610
ACT Composite: 24-2923
ACT Composite: 18-2343
ACT Composite: 12-1724
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.00
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9926
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7415
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4916
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2415
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9916
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.499
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.993
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.20
Does your institution have an application fee?No
Yes, on a rolling basis:X
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 173 | 178 | Not reported | 351 |
| Admitted | 125 | 129 | Not reported | 254 |
| Enrolled | 73 | 79 | Not reported | 152 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
FallX
SpringX
SummerX
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:- D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit: C- Number Unit Type - D13 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution: N/A. Any number of credits may be transferred. Number Unit Type - D14 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution: N/A. Any number of credits may be transferred. Number Unit Type - D15 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree: - 15 Credits of LSSU Coursework & 50% of departmental credits Number Unit Type - D16 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor's degree: - D17 Describe other transfer credit policies: ## D18-D22: Military Service Transfer Credit Policies - D18 Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits: Yes No Number Unit Type - D19 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on military education evaluated by the American Council on Education (ACE): Number Unit Type - D20 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on Department of Defense supported prior learning assessments (College Level Examination Program (CLEP) or DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)): Yes No - D21 Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website? - D22 Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution: If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located: None ##
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 17 Common Data Set 2021-2022
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
English (including composition)X
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
3 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing74%
Percent who live off campus or commute26%
Percent of students age 25 and older3%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)3%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing47%
Percent who live off campus or commute53%
Percent of students age 25 and older12%
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Literary magazineX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 13440 | 13440 |
| Tuition: in-state | 13440 | 13440 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 13440 | 13440 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 13440 | 13440 |
| Required fees | 400 | 250 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum16
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 900 | 900 | 900 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1050 | 1050 | 1050 |
| Other expenses | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
In-state (out-of-district):$560
Out-of-state:$560
Financial Aid
7 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 71 | 291 | 7 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 4425 | 4400 | 1989 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 24 | 137 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Federal$3,081,467
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,637,233
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$3,937,526
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$533,247
Total Scholarships/Grants$10,189,473
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,899,208
Federal Work-Study$274,399
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$257,050
Total Self-Help$3,430,657
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,691,980
Total Scholarships/Grants$0
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$5,238,725
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$392,157
Total Self-Help$5,630,882
Parent Loans$1,819,653
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 297 | 1456 | 194 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 278 | 1238 | 125 |
| Determined to have financial need | 226 | 959 | 99 |
| Awarded any aid | 224 | 955 | 93 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 214 | 884 | 84 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 141 | 662 | 50 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 45 | 196 | 1 |
| Average percentage of need met | 45 | 38 | 20 |
| Average financial aid package | 13784 | 12306 | 5946 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 11752 | 3810 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | 5017 | 5509 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | 4521 | 4502 | 3768 |
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 160 | 72 | 28694 |
| Federal loan programs | 153 | 69 | 23419 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | 48 | 22 | 21000 |
| Private student loans | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:35
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 93 | 57 | 150 |
| Members of minority groups | 18 | 8 | 26 |
| Females | 34 | 30 | 64 |
| Males | 59 | 27 | 86 |
| Nonresidents | 10 | 2 | 12 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 57 | 11 | 68 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 26 | 16 | 42 |
| Bachelor's degree | 9 | 17 | 26 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 9 | 9 | 18 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
based on ____ students1,812
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 79 | 107 |
| 10-19 students | 79 | 107 |
| 20-29 students | 136 | 92 |
| 30-39 students | 86 | 11 |
| 40-49 students | 28 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 15 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 13 | Not reported |
| Total | 0 | 210 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | 4.8% | 4.8% | 9.1% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 1.6% | 1.6% | 1.6% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 5.3% |
| Engineering | 0.8% | 0.8% | 6.9% |
| Engineering technologies | 3.2% | 3.2% | 2.2% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 24.6% | 24.6% | 1.3% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | 3.2% | 3.2% | 9.7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Parks and recreation | 11.9% | 11.9% | 8.1% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | 18.2% | 5.6% | 5.3% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | 0.8% | 0.8% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 9.1% | 26.2% | 14.7% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | 4.0% | 4.0% |
| Social sciences | 45.5% | 0.8% | 2.2% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | 7.0% | 7.0% | 11.3% |
| Business/marketing | 27.2% | 5.5% | 15.6% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100.00% | 100.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.