Lake Superior State University
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for Lake Superior State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$49,045
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
51%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$12,822
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$23,250
federal loans only
FSA
14%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
427numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESMain Phone Number (Area Code)906
Main Phone Number:632-6841
WWW Home Page Address:WWW.LSSU.EDU
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):906
Admissions Phone Number:635-2231
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | Not reported | 48 | 48 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 3 | 23 | 29 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 19 | 23 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 111 | 1076 | 1272 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 18 | 118 | 163 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 2 | 20 | 25 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 172 | 346 | 349 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 306 | 1650 | 1909 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 4 |
| Associate degrees | 129 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 378 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 169 | 61 | 178 | 408 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 169 | 61 | 178 | 408 |
| Completed in less than four years | 35 | 15 | 75 | 125 |
| Completed in less than five years | 33 | 11 | 20 | 64 |
| Completed in less than six years | 6 | 2 | 6 | 14 |
| Total completers | 74 | 28 | 101 | 203 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 44% | 46% | 57% | 50% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 294 | 1538 | 200 | 348 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 264 | 1289 | 145 |
| Final cohort | 216 | 1029 | 125 | 348 |
| Completed in less than four years | 212 | 1017 | 115 | 100 |
| Completed in less than five years | 209 | 967 | 105 | 54 |
| Completed in less than six years | 146 | 758 | 68 | 15 |
| Total completers | 0 | 0 | 0 | 169 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 47% | 195% | 3% | 49% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 71.22% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 645 | 1064 | Not reported | 1,709 |
| Admitted | 450 | 730 | Not reported | 1,180 |
| Enrolled | 125 | 168 | Not reported | 293 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 168 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 4 | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units0
English0
Mathematics0
Science0
Of these, units that must be lab0
Foreign language0
Social studies0
History0
Academic electives0
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts0
Other (specify)0
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History1
Academic electives0
Computer Science1
Visual/Performing Arts1
Other (specify)0
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | — | Yes | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 79 | 241 |
| ACT | 14 | 42 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 950 | 1170 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 490 | 600 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 460 | 580 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 18 | 26 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 17 | 24.75 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 17 | 24 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8004
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69924
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59944
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49924
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3994
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-8001
SAT Math: 600-69913
SAT Math: 500-59946
SAT Math: 400-49933
SAT Math: 300-3997
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-16001
SAT Composite: 1200-139917
SAT Composite: 1000-119943
SAT Composite: 800-99933
SAT Composite: 600-7996
SAT Composite: 400-599100
ACT Composite: 30-362
ACT Composite: 24-2931
ACT Composite: 18-2348
ACT Composite: 12-1719
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class11
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class31
Percent in top half of high school graduating class65
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class35
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class15
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:48
Percent who had GPA of 4.01
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9915
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7417
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4916
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2416
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9917
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.4913
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.995
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 152 | 192 | Not reported | 344 |
| Admitted | 114 | 123 | Not reported | 237 |
| Enrolled | 82 | 77 | Not reported | 159 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants: NONE
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
English (including composition)X
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
1 TABLECampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 12912 | 12912 |
| Tuition: in-state | 12912 | 12912 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 12912 | 12912 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 12912 | 12912 |
| Required fees | 400 | 250 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum12
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1250 | 1250 | 1250 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 900 | 900 | 900 |
| Other expenses | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
In-state (out-of-district):$538
Out-of-state:$538
Financial Aid
9 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 64 | 261 | 1 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 3607 | 4481 | 750 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 31 | 130 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 10149 | 11388 | 0 |
Academic Year2020-2021 estimated
Federal$3,453,058
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,383,484
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$4,014,107
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$550,832
Total Scholarships/Grants$10,401,481
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$3,263,987
Federal Work-Study$273,182
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$259,057
Total Self-Help$3,796,226
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,747,227
Athletic Awards$1,747,227
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$5,337,158
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$364,350
Total Self-Help$5,701,508
Parent Loans$2,022,991
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 294 | 1538 | 200 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 264 | 1289 | 145 |
| Determined to have financial need | 216 | 1029 | 125 |
| Awarded any aid | 212 | 1017 | 115 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 209 | 967 | 105 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 146 | 758 | 68 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 47 | 195 | 3 |
| Average percentage of need met | 53 | 42 | 23 |
| Average financial aid package | 12768 | 11669 | 6171 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 10573 | 8363 | 3797 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3323 | 4686 | 4300 |
| Average need-based loan | 3014 | 4098 | 4263 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.219
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 156 | 71 | 30992 |
| Federal loan programs | 153 | 70 | 25894 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 38 | 17 | 22974 |
Federal Nursing LoansX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
Job skillsX
Music/dramaX
Job skillsX
Music/dramaX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Lake Superior State University - Common Data Set (CDS) 2020-21` Direct questions to Lake Superior State University Institutional Research Data Request form Link: 34 https://www.lssu.edu/institutional-research/data-request-form/ Common Data Set 2020-2021 Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☐ No Lake Superior State University - Common Data Set (CDS) 2020-21` Direct questions to Lake Superior State University Institutional Research Data Request form Link: 35 https://www.lssu.edu/institutional-research/data-request-form/ Common Data Set 2020-2021
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 90 | 56 | 146 |
| Members of minority groups | 10 | 4 | 14 |
| Females | 33 | 32 | 65 |
| Males | 57 | 24 | 81 |
| Nonresidents | 10 | 3 | 13 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 54 | 7 | 61 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 21 | 16 | 37 |
| Bachelor's degree | 7 | 20 | 27 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 8 | 13 | 21 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio17
based on ____ students1,909
and ____ faculty95
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 77 | 100 |
| 10-19 students | 77 | 100 |
| 20-29 students | 133 | 81 |
| 30-39 students | 79 | 24 |
| 40-49 students | 34 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | 16 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 16 | 0 |
| Total | 0 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | 7.91% | Not reported | 7.69% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 1.44% | Not reported | 1.71% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 2.88% | Not reported | 6.84% |
| Engineering | 1.44% | Not reported | 7.69% |
| Engineering technologies | 5.76% | Not reported | 1.99% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.85% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 26.62% | Not reported | 3.13% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.41% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.57% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | 5.04% | Not reported | 5.98% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | 2.88% | Not reported | 2.85% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3.70% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 31.65% | Not reported | 17.38% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.16% |
| Social sciences | 66.67% | Not reported | 1.71% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | 8.63% | Not reported | 13.39% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 2.28% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.