Lake Superior State University
2016-17
The 2016-17 Common Data Set for Lake Superior State University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$49,045
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
51%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$12,822
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$23,250
federal loans only
FSA
14%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
212numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESMain Phone Number (Area Code)906
Main Phone Number:632-6841
WWW Home Page Address:WWW.LSSU.EDU
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):906
Admissions Phone Number:635-2231
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 11 | 139 | 139 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 6 | 40 | 41 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 7 | 24 | 25 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 323 | 1650 | 1674 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 24 | 175 | 184 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 3 | 10 | 10 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 5 | 25 | 27 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 379 | 2063 | 2100 |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 72% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 622 | 835 | Not reported | 1,457 |
| Admitted | 561 | 759 | Not reported | 1,320 |
| Enrolled | 175 | Not reported | Not reported | 175 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 7 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units0
English0
Mathematics0
Science0
Foreign language0
Social studies0
History0
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics4
Science3
Foreign language2
Social studies2
History1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Class rank | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Academic GPA | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Standardized test scores | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Application essay | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Recommendations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | — | Yes |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | — | Yes |
| Work experience | — | — | — | Yes |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 490 | 580 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 20 | 25 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 18 | 24 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 19 | 25 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class39
Percent in top half of high school graduating class76
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class24
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class4
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:67
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7418
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4917
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2416
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9918
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.497
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.991
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Amount of application fee:35
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 151 | 183 | Not reported | 334 |
| Admitted | 132 | 170 | Not reported | 302 |
| Enrolled | 93 | 109 | Not reported | 202 |
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:20
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:32
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
English (including composition)X
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
1 TABLECampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:http://www.lssu.edu/finaid/calculator.php
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 16848 | 16848 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 368 | 130 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
4 TABLESFederal$3,772,140
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$800,942
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$155,993
Total Scholarships/Grants$7,392,659
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$10,440,860
Federal Work-Study$336,381
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$937,407
Total Self-Help$11,714,648
Parent Loans$336,381
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$155,993
Athletic Awards$1,414,428
Federal$7,416
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$2,915,468
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$442,434
Total Scholarships/Grants$3,411,339
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$336,381
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$11,714,648
Total Self-Help$2,112,983
Parent Loans$937,407
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$442,434
Federal Nursing LoansX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
Job skillsX
Music/dramaX
Job skillsX
Music/dramaX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Lake Superior State University - Common Data Set (CDS) 2016-17 Direct questions to Pritish Ponaka, Data Analyst, Institutional Research Phone: 906-635-2757; FAX: 906-635-6671; Email: vponaka@lssu.edu
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
based on ____ students1,907
and ____ faculty122
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 105 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 117 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 31 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 0 |
| Total | Not reported | 253 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 2% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 2% | Not reported | 2% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 1% | Not reported | 3% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Engineering technologies | 1% | Not reported | 2% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 13% | Not reported | 2% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | 8% | Not reported | 9% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 60% | Not reported | 20% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | 3% | Not reported | 18% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.