James Madison University
2018-19
The 2018-19 Common Data Set for James Madison University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$69,954
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
80%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$23,322
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$20,093
federal loans only
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
233numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESAre your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://www.jmu.edu/instresrch/cds.shtml
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:http://www.jmu.edu/admissions/apply/index.shtml_
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 63 | 355 | 437 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 308 | 1337 | 1342 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 198 | 949 | 950 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 3450 | 14757 | 14888 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 5 | 22 | 23 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 214 | 886 | 898 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 4 | 22 | 22 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 217 | 918 | 918 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 82 | 433 | 445 |
| Total | 4541 | 19679 | 19923 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 778 |
| Post-master's certificates | 11 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 13 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 562 | 809 | 2655 | 4026 |
| Did not persist | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 561 | 809 | 2655 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 273 | 469 | 1580 | 2322 |
| Completed in less than five years | 129 | 157 | 615 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 17 | 23 | 61 | Not reported |
| Total completers | 419 | 649 | 2256 | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 74.7% | 80.2% | Not reported | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 538 | 893 | 2892 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 4 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 538 | 893 | 2888 | 4319 |
| Completed in less than four years | 279 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | 125 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 14 | 24 | 77 | Not reported |
| Total completers | 418 | 728 | 2486 | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 77.7% | 81.5% | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2014 | 12 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 13 |
| Final cohort | 2014 | 14 |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 16 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 18 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 90.4% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESTotal academic units4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Social studies2
History2
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 570 | 650 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 550 | 640 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 23 | 28 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8007.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69953.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59936.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4992.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 700-8007.6
SAT Math: 600-69940.9
SAT Math: 500-59947.9
SAT Math: 400-4993.6
SAT Math: 300-3990.1
SAT Math: 200-2990
ACT Composite: 30-3613.9
ACT Composite: 24-2955.2
ACT Composite: 18-2329.2
ACT Composite: 12-171.7
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?No
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 870 | Not reported | Not reported | 1741 |
| Admitted | 609 | Not reported | Not reported | 1290 |
| Enrolled | 369 | Not reported | Not reported | 739 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of Some
Standardized test scoresRequired of Some
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of Some
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:13 Common Data Set 2018-2019
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:120
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESDistance learningX
Double majorX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Computer literacyX
English (including composition)X
MathematicsX
Student Life
2 TABLESCampus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
YearbookX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 4766 | 4766 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1826 | 1826 | 1826 |
| Other expenses | 1888 | 1888 | 1888 |
In-state (out-of-district):$788
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$14,012,021
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$11,749,671
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,232,771
Total Scholarships/Grants$37,600,898
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$22,748,479
Federal Work-Study$750,859
Total Self-Help$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$5,784,656
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$311,932
Total Scholarships/Grants$6,256,588
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$49,615,620
Parent Loans$48,900,964
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$7,307,463
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.3,861
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
Job skillsX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
Job skillsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:25 Common Data Set 2018-2019
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio16
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 8.34% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.15% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 1.51% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 61% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.55% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.67% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5.62% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.81% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.35% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 5.26% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.62% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5.17% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 2.61% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.51% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4.34% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 18.83% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 17.55% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.64% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.