Illinois Wesleyan University
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Illinois Wesleyan University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$70,871
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
75%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$28,199
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$27,000
federal loans only
FSA
9%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
366numbers from this report.
General Information
7 TABLESFirst Name:Michael D.
Last Name:Thompson
Title:Associate Vice President for Institutional
Office:Office of Institutional Effectiveness
Address Line 1:PO Box 2900
Zipcode61702-2900
Phone:309-556-1041
Email Address:mthomps4@iwu.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
City:Bloomington
StateIL
Name of College/University:Illinois Wesleyan University
Street Address Line 1:PO Box 2900
CityBloomington
StateIL
Zip61702-2900
Main Phone Number (Area Code)309
Main Phone Number:556-1000
WWW Home Page Address:www.iwu.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):309
Admissions Phone Number:556-3031
Admissions Email Address:iwu.admit@iwu.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Public
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Bachelor'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1653 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 19 | 55 | 57 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 56 | 157 | 157 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 45 | 118 | 119 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 277 | 1144 | 1147 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 2 | 2 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 24 | 109 | 110 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 7 | 53 | 53 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 3 | 7 | 7 |
| Total | 433 | 1646 | 1653 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 104 | 153 | 193 | 450 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 104 | 153 | 193 | 450 |
| Completed in less than four years | 82 | 118 | 141 | 341 |
| Completed in less than five years | 6 | 4 | 11 | 21 |
| Completed in less than six years | 0 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Total completers | 88 | 123 | 154 | 365 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 85% | 80% | 80% | 81% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 86 | 140 | 229 | 455 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 86 | 140 | 229 | 455 |
| Completed in less than four years | 59 | 110 | 184 | 353 |
| Completed in less than five years | 5 | 3 | 9 | 17 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
| Total completers | 65 | 114 | 194 | 373 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 76% | 81% | 85% | 82% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 85% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESWait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:0
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:0
Number of wait-listed students admitted:0
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language3
Social studies2
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
Entrance Exams
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 33 | 143 |
| ACT | 31 | 135 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1130 | 1320 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 580 | 670 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 530 | 640 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 24 | 29 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 23 | 29 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 24 | 30 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
ACT Composite: 30-3622
ACT Composite: 24-2958
ACT Composite: 18-2320
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class35
Percent in top half of high school graduating class87
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class87
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class13
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 Year
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESHigh school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:No No No X ##
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:16
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:course
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:16
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:course
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:16
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESDouble majorX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Other (describe):X
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)20%
Percent of males who join fraternities20%
Percent of females who join sororities28%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)19%
Percent of males who join fraternities21%
Percent of females who join sororities29%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing79%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Other housing options (specify):X
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 53610 | 53610 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 204 | 204 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?Yes
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 800 | 800 | 800 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 0 | 1200 | 0 |
| Other expenses | 1700 | 1000 | 1700 |
Financial Aid
11 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 87 | 423 | Not reported |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 30636 | 27158 | Not reported |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Federal$2,255,701
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,097,903
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$36,956,616
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$488,181
Total Scholarships/Grants$41,798,401
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$4,553,735
Federal Work-Study$1,438,617
Total Self-Help$5,992,352
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$13,832,698
Total Scholarships/Grants$13,832,698
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$6,270,573
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$165,600
Total Self-Help$6,436,173
Parent Loans$4,324,719
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 436 | 1658 | Not reported |
| Applied for need-based aid | 413 | 1418 | Not reported |
| Determined to have financial need | 346 | 1217 | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | 346 | 1215 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 346 | 1215 | Not reported |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 239 | 902 | Not reported |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 121 | 387 | Not reported |
| Need fully met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average percentage of need met | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.18
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 240 | 77 | 36771 |
| Federal loan programs | 235 | 76 | 26065 |
| Institutional loan programs | 137 | 44 | 4358 |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 46 | 15 | 43530 |
FAFSAX
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month11
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:- [ ] Yes
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 110 | 92 | 202 |
| Members of minority groups | 16 | 7 | 23 |
| Females | 47 | 55 | 102 |
| Males | 63 | 37 | 100 |
| Nonresidents | 7 | 1 | 8 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 103 | 46 | 149 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 7 | 31 | 38 |
| Bachelor's degree | 0 | 8 | 8 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 7 | 7 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 78 | 21 |
| 10-19 students | 78 | 21 |
| 20-29 students | 168 | 28 |
| 30-39 students | 120 | 8 |
| 40-49 students | 15 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | 8 | 1 |
| 100+ students | 3 | 1 |
| Total | 1 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 100% | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.