Hope College

2012-13

The 2012-13 Common Data Set for Hope College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Nov 11, 2013. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2012-13 template isn't published yet.

Enrolled score bands (25th–75th percentile)§C9 →
SAT Math§C9
520–670
25TH–75TH
ACT 25–75§C9
23–29
89% SUB
§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
SCORECARD
$58,427
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
SCORECARD
80%
6-year completion
Average net price
SCORECARD
$27,182
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
SCORECARD
$26,800
federal loans only
Nonpayment
FSA
6%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate

Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.

The numbers, as published

§ This report168numbers from this report.

General Information

3 TABLES
Respondent Information
Last Name:X
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://www.hope.edu/admin/ir
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

4 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported3343
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported0
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total part-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported3343
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents22Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino56Not reportedNot reported
Black or African American, non-Hispanic23Not reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic770Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic1Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic9Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic0Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic22Not reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total903Not reportedNot reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diplomaNot reported
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degrees738
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degreesNot reported
Post-master's certificatesNot reported
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarshipNot reported
Doctoral degrees, professional practiceNot reported
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort778Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist0Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years524Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years66Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years12Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completers602Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort0Not reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rateNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist2008Not reported
Final cohort200813
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
AppliedNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Admitted11571813Not reported2,970
EnrolledNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled full-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-timeNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
History5
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Class rankNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Academic GPANot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Standardized test scoresNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Application essayNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
RecommendationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
InterviewNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Extracurricular activitiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Talent or abilityNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Character and personal qualitiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
First generationNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Alumni relationNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Geographical residenceNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
State residencyNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Religious affiliation or commitmentNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Volunteer workNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Work experienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Level of applicant interest——Yes—
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT14128
ACT89808
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT math520Not reported670
ACT composite23Not reported29
ACT math23Not reported29
ACT English23Not reported30
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class37
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class64
Percent in top half of high school graduating class92
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class8
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7423
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4910
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2410
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.992
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total101
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.77
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:50
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Priority Date: Month3
Priority Date: Day1
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:300
If yes, maximum period of postponement:one year
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes

Transfer Admission

4 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied6895Not reported163
Admitted5785Not reported142
Enrolled2931Not reported60
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate replydates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Other
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Spring Notification Date: Day1
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:20

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)34%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing99%
Percent who live off campus or commute1%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)32%
Percent of males who join fraternities10%
Percent of females who join sororities12%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing81%
Percent who live off campus or commute19%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students19
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20

Annual Expenses

3 TABLES
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
Tuition2855028550
Tuition: in-districtNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required feesNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
Credits per Term
Minimum2
Tuition Policies
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No

Financial Aid

5 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2011-2012 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$30,868
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$30,868
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$298,744
Total Scholarships/Grants$26,472,875
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$7,238,274
Federal Work-Study$309,054
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,090,384
Total Self-Help$8,637,712
Parent Loans$23,717
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,652,755
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$514,321
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$607,833
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,110,805
Total Scholarships/Grants$10,264,672
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$8,680,368
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$800,000
Total Self-Help$9,480,368
Parent Loans$4,865,502
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$686,404
Aid to Nonresidents
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:51
Institutional Aid
AcademicsX
ArtX
Music/dramaX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 21 Common Data Set 2012-2013

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
based on ____ students3,251

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported1.6%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported5.6%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.3%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported13.3%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported3.7%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported3.9%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported4.4%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported6.0%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported0.6%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported4.5%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported3.7%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported1.8%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported6.7%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported9.3%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported3.1%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported5.9%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported6.1%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported6.1%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported11.3%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported2.2%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0.00%0.00%100.10%

Source Document

Building something with this data? Use the free API.