Hollins University
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Hollins University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$40,075
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
65%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$20,896
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$27,000
federal loans only
FSA
12%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
421numbers from this report.
General Information
8 TABLESFirst Name:Maliha
Last Name:Zaman
Title:Exec. Dir of Inst. Effectivess and Chief Data Officer
Address Line 1:7916 W illiamson Road
Zipcode24,020
Phone:540-362-6000
Email Address:zamanms@hollins.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://registrar.press.hollins.edu/common-data-sets/
City:Roanoke
StateVA
Name of College/University:Hollins University
Street Address Line 1:7916 W illiamson Road
CityRoanoke
StateVA
Zip24,020
Main Phone Number (Area Code)540
Main Phone Number:362-6000
WWW Home Page Address:https://hollins.edu/
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):540
Admissions Phone Number:362-6401
Admissions Email Address:huadm@hollins.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Men's college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 691 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 111 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 14 | 56 | 58 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 28 | 65 | 65 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 33 | 102 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 116 | 401 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 1 | 8 | 8 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 2 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 16 | 50 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 2 | 5 | 5 |
| Total | 210 | 689 | 691 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 91 | 48 | 85 | 224 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 91 | 48 | 85 | 224 |
| Completed in less than four years | 47 | 27 | 63 | 137 |
| Completed in less than five years | 3 | 3 | 3 | 9 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 1 | Not reported | 1 |
| Total completers | 51 | 30 | 66 | 147 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 0.56043956% | 0.625% | 0.776470588% | 0.65625% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Total completers | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
7 TABLESEntrance Exams
In addition, does your institution use applicants' test scores for academic advising?No
APX
CLEPX
Institutional ExamX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?Yes
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | 3310 | Not reported | 3,310 |
| Admitted | 2393 | 2393 | Not reported | 4,786 |
| Enrolled | 210 | 210 | Not reported | 420 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 210 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
Do you have a policy of placing students on a waiting list?Yes
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Social studies3
Foreign language3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | — | Yes | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 19 | 40 |
| ACT | 10 | 21 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1140 | 1195 | 1300 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 583 | 635 | 690 |
| SAT math | 530 | 560 | 608 |
| ACT composite | 25 | 27 | 30 |
| ACT math | 20 | 23 | 26 |
| ACT English | 25 | 29 | 33 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80022.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69947.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59930
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8005
SAT Math: 600-69925
SAT Math: 500-59967.5
SAT Math: 400-4992.5
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16000.1
SAT Composite: 1200-13990.4
SAT Composite: 1000-11990.5
ACT Composite: 30-3628.5
ACT Composite: 24-2952.5
ACT Composite: 18-2319
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.034
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9923
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7415
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4911
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2412
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.994
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.491
Total100
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:97
Priority Date: Month2
Priority Date: Day1
Must reply by May 1st or within____weeks if notified after2
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD):Month5
Deadline for housing deposit (MMDD): Day1
Amount of housing deposit:400
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:2 terms
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)No
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESHigh school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:- D12 Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit: Number Unit Type - D13 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution: 64 CREDITS Number Unit Type - D14 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution: 64 - D15 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree: - D16 Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor's degree: 40.00 - D17 Describe other transfer credit policies: ## D18-D22: Military Service Transfer Credit Policies - D18 Does your institution accept the following military/veteran transfer credits: Yes No Number Unit Type - D19 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on military education evaluated by the American Council on Education (ACE): Number Unit Type - D20 Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred based on Department of Defense supported prior learning assessments (College Level Examination Program (CLEP) or DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)): Yes No - D21 Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website? - D22 Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution: ##
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:64
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:40
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)Yes
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)Yes
Are the military/veteran credit transfer policies published on your website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://www.hollins.edu/admission/transfer-students/
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 14 Common Data Set 2022-2023
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)12%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing86%
Percent who live off campus or commute4%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)41%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing87%
Percent who live off campus or commute12%
Percent of students age 25 and older2%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
6 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://web1.hollins.edu/finaidcalc/fac/Default.aspx
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 41350 | 41350 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1185 | 910 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum22
Do tuition and fees vary by year of study (e.g., sophomore, junior, senior)?No
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 800 | 800 | 800 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1000 | 1200 | 1200 |
| Other expenses | 1200 | 1200 | 1200 |
Financial Aid
12 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 38 | 166 | 0 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 31145 | 31758 | 0 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Federal methodology (FM)X
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 210 | 686 | 3 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 193 | 571 | 3 |
| Determined to have financial need | 172 | 520 | 3 |
| Awarded any aid | 172 | 520 | 3 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 172 | 520 | 3 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 99 | 321 | 3 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 172 | 520 | 3 |
| Need fully met | 50 | 149 | 0 |
| Average percentage of need met | 85 | 86 | 81 |
| Average financial aid package | 38786 | 39485 | 17574 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 33372 | 33149 | 15666 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3803 | 5070 | 3491 |
| Average need-based loan | 3292 | 4193 | 3491 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.118
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 79 | 67.00 | 38362 |
| Federal loan programs | 77 | 65.00 | 27228 |
| Institutional loan programs | 2 | 2.00 | 3000 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0.00 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 27 | 23.00 | 34925 |
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:55
Average dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$39,196
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$2,155,780
FAFSAX
State aid formX
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month2
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
b) Students notified on a rolling basis:X
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
ArtX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes No
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 77 | 35 | 112 |
| Members of minority groups | 14 | 2 | 16 |
| Females | 45 | 18 | 63 |
| Males | 33 | 16 | 49 |
| Nonresidents | 4 | 0 | 4 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 77 | 17 | 94 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Bachelor's degree | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 4 | 4 | 8 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio8
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 27 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 27 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 7 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 100+ students | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 292 | 26 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.05% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.04% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 0.05% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.06% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.078% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.029% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.01% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.006% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 0.099% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.128% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 0.145% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.076% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.029% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.