Hofstra University
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Hofstra University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Hofstra University says 25,021 first-year students applied and 17,035 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 68%. 1,068 admitted students enrolled (6.3% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1240–1380 and ACT of 27–32.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 25,021 | 17,035 | 68% | 1,068 | School-reported totals. |
Application fee: $70.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
4 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
2 TABLES| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 30 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 380 | 1219 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 193 | 627 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 619 | 2846 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 8 | 21 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 322 | 1019 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 176 | 429 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 26 | 117 | Not reported |
| Total | 1754 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 84% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 9873 | 15123 | 25 | Not reported | 25,021 |
| Admitted | 6447 | 10573 | 15 | Not reported | 17,035 |
| Enrolled full-time | 685 | 1065 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 1 | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,068 |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 26 | 449 |
| ACT | 4 | 72 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1240 | 1310 | 1380 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 610 | 650 | 700 |
| ACT composite | 27 | 30 | 32 |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
3 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 764 | 1170 | Not reported | 1934 |
| Admitted | 334 | 482 | Not reported | 816 |
| Enrolled | 104 | 104 | Not reported | 208 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
5 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 56545 | 56545 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1115 | 1115 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 18942 | 18942 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 12582 | 12582 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 6360 | 6360 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1000 | 1608 | 1608 |
| Other expenses | 1050 | 1050 | 1200 |
Financial Aid
10 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 340 | 1681 | 12 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 27293.00 | 25182.00 | 11285.00 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 20 | 109 | 1 |
| Average athletic grant | 28838.00 | 33510.00 | 1990.00 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLES| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 134 | 31 |
| 10-19 students | 557 | 93 |
| 20-29 students | 134 | 31 |
| 30-39 students | 557 | 93 |
| 40-49 students | 428 | 92 |
| 50-99 students | 264 | 2 |
| 100+ students | 30 | 0 |
| Total | 35 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 1% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 2% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 12.5% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.0% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 3.6% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 6.1% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.0% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 6% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 7.9% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 3% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 8.8% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 13.5% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 18.8% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.5% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.