Hofstra University
2020-21
The 2020-21 Common Data Set for Hofstra University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$69,039
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
69%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$34,176
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$23,621
federal loans only
FSA
9%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
270numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESFirst Name:Chavon
Last Name:Stuparich
Title:Executive Director
Office:Institutional Research & Assessment
Phone:(516) 463-6809
Email Address:chavon.stuparich@hofstra.edu
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:http://www.hofstra.edu/IRAA
Main Phone Number:1-(516)-463- 6600
WWW Home Page Address:www.hofstra.edu
Admissions Phone Number:1-(516)-463-6700
Admissions Email Address:admission@hofstra.edu
CertificateX
Bachelor'sX
Postbachelor's certificateX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 51 | 286 | 315 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 223 | 849 | 852 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 97 | 543 | 544 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 744 | 3311 | 3316 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | 20 | 20 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 165 | 730 | 731 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 61 | 203 | 203 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 47 | 120 | 136 |
| Total | 1390 | Not reported | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1453 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 1 |
| Master's degrees | 1132 |
| Post-master's certificates | 95 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 53 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 345 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 82% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 9570 | 14492 | Not reported | 24,062 |
| Admitted | 6105 | 10525 | Not reported | 16,630 |
| Enrolled | 607 | 774 | Not reported | 1,381 |
| Enrolled full-time | 607 | 774 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 6 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language3
Social studies4
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 72 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1160 | 1330 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT math | 580 | 670 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 24 | 31 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class32
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class61
Percent in top half of high school graduating class90
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class10
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class1
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:35
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.73
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:100
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 536 | 704 | Not reported | 1240 |
| Admitted | 336 | 447 | Not reported | 783 |
| Enrolled | 90 | 86 | Not reported | 176 |
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Students with fewer than 24 credits attempted must submit high school transcript. Standardized test scores are optional. 13 Common Data Set 2020- 2021
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:94
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://www.hofstra.edu/sfs/financialaid/financialaid_yellowribbon_veteran.html
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
External degree programX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)36%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing51%
Percent who live off campus or commute49%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)35%
Percent of males who join fraternities6%
Percent of females who join sororities12%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing31%
Percent who live off campus or commute69%
Percent of students age 25 and older3%
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:[https://www.hofstra.edu/admission/adm\_netprice.html](https://www.hofstra.edu/admission/adm_netprice.html)
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 48315 | 48315 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1095 | 1095 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
If yes, what percentage of full-time undergraduates pay more than the tuition and fees reported in $G$1?2%
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1000 | 1380 | 1380 |
| Other expenses | 1050 | 1050 | 1200 |
Financial Aid
8 TABLESAcademic Year2020-2021 estimated
Federal$8,094,942
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$73,421,015
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,036,015
Total Scholarships/Grants$85,723,199
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$27,824,009
Federal Work-Study$9,176,312
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,035,671
Total Self-Help$38,035,992
Parent Loans$21,076,835
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$143,062
Athletic Awards$2,594,912
Federal$555,516
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$43,059,857
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,154,764
Total Scholarships/Grants$44,956,662
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$15,964,759
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$2,435,005
Total Self-Help$18,399,764
Parent Loans$17,223,974
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$8,700,455
Athletic Awards$4,295,267
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.1,165
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month11
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
If yes, starting date (Month):1
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
AcademicsX
ArtX
Job skillsX
LeadershipX
AcademicsX
ArtX
Job skillsX
LeadershipX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:The increase in Hofstra University’s average institutional aid awarded for 2020-21 year far exceeded the tuition increase. Are these policies related to the COVID -19 pandemic? Yes No 25 Common Data Set 2020- 2021
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLESFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio13
based on ____ students7,973
and ____ faculty596
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 161 | 22 |
| 10-19 students | 446 | 86 |
| 20-29 students | 161 | 22 |
| 30-39 students | 446 | 86 |
| 40-49 students | 423 | 68 |
| 50-99 students | 283 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 32 | 0 |
| Total | 25 | 0 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 1% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 2% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 15.9% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 4.2% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 5.3% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.3% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.4% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 7% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5.8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 5% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9.6% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 5.4% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 11.0% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 24.2% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.8% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.