Hamilton College
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Hamilton College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$78,411
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
91%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$28,985
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$17,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
362numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESFirst Name:Haochen
Last Name:Sun
Title:Institutional Research Analyst
Office:Office of Institutional Research and Assessment
Address Line 1:198 College Hill Rd, Clinton, NY 13323
Phone:315-859-4814
Email Address:hsun@hamilton.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.hamilton.edu/offices/oir/common-data-sets/common-data-sets
Street Address Line 1:198 College Hill Rd, Clinton, NY 13323
Main Phone Number (Area Code)315
Main Phone Number:859-4011
WWW Home Page Address:www.hamilton.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):315
Admissions Phone Number:859-4421
Admissions Email Address:admission@hamilton.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://www.hamilton.edu/admission/apply
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.hamilton.edu/about/diversity
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 39 | 154 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 43 | 188 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 16 | 61 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 278 | 1318 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 44 | 182 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 31 | 114 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 11 | 28 | Not reported |
| Total | 462 | 2045 | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 85 | 112 | 283 | 480 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 85 | 112 | 283 | 480 |
| Completed in less than four years | 66 | 92 | 231 | 389 |
| Completed in less than five years | 6 | 11 | 26 | 43 |
| Completed in less than six years | 2 | 1 | 3 | 6 |
| Total completers | 74 | 104 | 260 | 438 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 87.1% | 92.9% | 91.9% | 91.3% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 85 | 97 | 290 | 472 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 85 | 97 | 290 | 472 |
| Completed in less than four years | 74 | 92 | 252 | 418 |
| Completed in less than five years | 4 | 3 | 9 | 16 |
| Completed in less than six years | 0 | 0 | 2 | 2 |
| Total completers | 78 | 95 | 263 | 436 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 91.8% | 97.9% | 90.7% | 92.4% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 95.6% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 4262 | 5023 | Not reported | 9,643 |
| Admitted | 529 | 586 | Not reported | 1,135 |
| Enrolled | 222 | 230 | Not reported | 452 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied1,956
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted321
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied4,171
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted736
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied3,516
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted78
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Foreign language3
Social studies3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 33.77 | 156 |
| ACT | 16.88 | 78 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1430 | 1480 | 1520 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 700 | 740 | 770 |
| SAT math | 710 | 750 | 780 |
| ACT composite | 32 | 33 | 35 |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80078.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69921.2
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-80084.0
SAT Math: 600-69915.4
SAT Math: 500-5990.6
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-160087.2
SAT Composite: 1200-139912.2
SAT Composite: 1000-11990.6
SAT Composite: 400-599100
ACT Composite: 30-3697.4
ACT Composite: 24-291.3
ACT Composite: 18-231.3
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class79.0
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class100
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:20.6
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month1
Application closing date (fall): Day3
If yes, maximum period of postponement:Click or tap here to enter text.
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 159 | 136 | Not reported | 305 |
| Admitted | 18 | 16 | Not reported | 34 |
| Enrolled | 5 | 6 | Not reported | 11 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Hamilton College - Common Data Set 2023-2024
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Fall Notification Date: Day15
Spring Notification Date: Day1
Academic Offerings and Policies
1 TABLEAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Double majorX
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)71%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)71%
Percent of males who join fraternities19%
Percent of females who join sororities15%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students18.2
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.2
Average age of full-time students19.8
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)19.8
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | 68280 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 680 | 680 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | 9570 | 9570 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | 7940 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 800 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 500 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | 1000 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
6 TABLESAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$2,417,798
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$826,658
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$53,162,113
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$974,178
Total Scholarships/Grants$57,380,747
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,743,539
Federal Work-Study$1,084,711
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$188,600
Total Self-Help$4,016,850
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$6,500
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$571,368
Total Scholarships/Grants$577,868
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$37,000
Total Self-Help$37,000
Parent Loans$3,403,728
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 462 | Not reported | 1 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 335 | Not reported | 0 |
| Determined to have financial need | 256 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Awarded any aid | 256 | Not reported | 0 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 255 | Not reported | 0 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 225 | Not reported | 0 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 0 | Not reported | 0 |
| Need fully met | 255 | Not reported | 0 |
| Average percentage of need met | 100 | Not reported | 0 |
| Average financial aid package | 59356 | Not reported | 0 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 56218 | Not reported | 0 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3722 | 4780 | 0 |
| Average need-based loan | 3108 | 4254 | 0 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.484
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:⇒ Click or tap here to enter text. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☒ No Hamilton College - Common Data Set 2023-2024
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 201 | 66 | 267 |
| Members of minority groups | 46 | 10 | 56 |
| Females | 111 | 28 | 139 |
| Males | 90 | 38 | 128 |
| Nonresidents | 12 | 0 | 12 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 194 | 31 | 225 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 4 | 22 | 26 |
| Bachelor's degree | 3 | 8 | 11 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio9.2
based on ____ students2,047
and ____ faculty223
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 127 | 13 |
| 10-19 students | 127 | 13 |
| 20-29 students | 203 | 45 |
| 30-39 students | 69 | 16 |
| 40-49 students | 50 | 8 |
| 50-99 students | 19 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 1 | Not reported |
| Total | 469 | 82 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.90% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.10% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.87% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 8.06% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 5.48% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 11.61% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 8.55% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.90% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.32% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.84% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 3.23% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 29.35% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 7.42% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 3.71% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.