Grinnell College
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for Grinnell College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$62,830
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
88%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$17,648
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$17,500
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
442numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESFirst Name:Carlie D.
Last Name:VanWilligen
Title:Director of Institutional Research
Office:Office of Analytics and Institutional Research
Address Line 1:1103 Park Street, #116
Phone:641-269-4307
Email Address:vanwilli@grinnell.edu
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.grinnell.edu/about/offices
City:Grinnell, Iowa 50112, USA
Name of College/University:Grinnell College
Street Address Line 1:1227 Park Street, 1st Floor
CityGrinnell College
StateIA
Zip50,112
Main Phone Number (Area Code)641
Main Phone Number:269-4000
WWW Home Page Address:www.grinnell.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):641
Admissions Phone Number:269-3600
Admissions Email Address:admission@grinnell.edu
DiplomaX
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1748 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1748 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 92 | 340 | 340 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 37 | 132 | 134 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 24 | 73 | 73 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 245 | 889 | 899 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 37 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 37 | 132 | 133 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 28 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 28 | 86 | 86 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 8 | 61 | 83 |
| Total | 471 | 1713 | 1748 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 363 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 86 | 128 | 228 | 442 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 86 | 128 | 228 | 442 |
| Completed in less than four years | 64 | 111 | 186 | 361 |
| Completed in less than five years | 3 | 5 | 12 | 20 |
| Completed in less than six years | 0 | 1 | 2 | 3 |
| Total completers | 67 | 117 | 200 | 384 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 78% | 91% | 88% | 87% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 89 | 135 | 211 | 435 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 89 | 135 | 211 | 435 |
| Completed in less than four years | 74 | 108 | 169 | 351 |
| Completed in less than five years | 4 | 7 | 10 | 21 |
| Completed in less than six years | 0 | 1 | 4 | 5 |
| Total completers | 78 | 116 | 183 | 377 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 88% | 86% | 87% | 87% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 93.0% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 4957 | 5556 | Not reported | 10,513 |
| Admitted | 464 | 644 | Not reported | 1,108 |
| Enrolled | 212 | 259 | Not reported | 471 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:2,759
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:1,286
Number of wait-listed students admitted:28
Total academic units4
Mathematics4
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language3
Social studies3
History3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | Yes | — |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1390 | 1510 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 670 | 750 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 700 | 780 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 30 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 27 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 30 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80077.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69920.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5992.2
ACT Composite: 30-3681.2
ACT Composite: 24-2917.5
ACT Composite: 18-231.3
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class71
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class90
Percent in top half of high school graduating class99
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class1
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class31
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:31
Total0
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:-
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 43 | 32 | Not reported | 75 |
| Admitted | 5 | 4 | Not reported | 9 |
| Enrolled | 4 | 0 | Not reported | 4 |
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Fall Notification Date: Month6
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:-
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Fall Notification Date: Day1
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:62
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:62
American Council on Education (ACE)No
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)No
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:Common Data Set 2021-2022
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Other (specify):X
Specify:D2 Has been removed from the CDS.
Other (describe):X
Describe:Common Data Set 2021-2022
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)92%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)91%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing88%
Percent who live off campus or commute12%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 60988 | 60988 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 492 | 492 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 900 | 900 | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1100 | 1100 | 1100 |
| Other expenses | 1100 | 1100 | 1100 |
Financial Aid
13 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 118 | 425 | 1 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 18688 | 19234 | 25000 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Federal$2,012,414
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$297,788
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$53,502,891
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$804,707
Total Scholarships/Grants$56,617,800
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$0
Federal Work-Study$0
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,968,481
Total Self-Help$1,968,481
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$737,602
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$8,900,897
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,061,589
Total Scholarships/Grants$9,962,486
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$0
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$388,272
Total Self-Help$388,272
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$667,476
Athletic Awards$0
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 471 | 1718 | 4 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 362 | 1220 | 2 |
| Determined to have financial need | 312 | 1108 | 2 |
| Awarded any aid | 312 | 1108 | 2 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 312 | 1108 | 2 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 246 | 869 | 2 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 62 | 215 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 312 | 1108 | 2 |
| Average percentage of need met | 100.0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 55722 | 54789 | 44382 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 53709 | 52847 | 42507 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 2296 | 2261 | 1875 |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.332
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 209 | 57.00 | 19634 |
| Federal loan programs | 169 | 46.00 | 15836 |
| Institutional loan programs | 80 | 22.00 | 10285 |
| State loan programs | 1 | 0.00 | 20000 |
| Private student loans | 12 | 3.00 | 65802 |
Institutional need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
Institutional non-need-based scholarship or grant aid is availableX
CSS ProfileX
FAFSAX
Noncustodial ProfileX
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month12
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:X
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):1
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):15
College/university loans from institutional fundsX
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? Yes No Common Data Set 2021-2022
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 179 | 26 | 205 |
| Members of minority groups | 48 | 4 | 52 |
| Females | 88 | 13 | 101 |
| Males | 91 | 13 | 104 |
| Nonresidents | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 179 | 16 | 195 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 0 | 7 | 7 |
| Bachelor's degree | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio9
based on ____ students1,674
and ____ faculty67
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 76 | 19 |
| 10-19 students | 76 | 19 |
| 20-29 students | 188 | 22 |
| 30-39 students | 133 | 6 |
| 40-49 students | 21 | 0 |
| 50-99 students | 3 | 0 |
| 100+ students | 0 | 0 |
| Total | 0 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 2.218% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.887% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 11.895% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 5.444% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 13.508% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.839% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.411% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.815% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.847% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 6.25% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 23.992% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 6.048% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 5.847% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 10000.10% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.