Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus

2017-18

The 2017-18 Common Data Set for Fairleigh Dickinson University-Metropolitan Campus — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Feb 26, 2018. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Mapped to the 2025-26 template; the official 2017-18 template isn't published yet.

First-year admissions & retention§C1 · §B22 →
Retention§B22
78.1%
Full-time 1st-yr
Enrolled score bands (25th–75th percentile)§C9 →
SAT EBRW§C9
510–610
25TH–75TH
SAT Math§C9
510–600
25TH–75TH
ACT 25–75§C9
21–26
15% SUB
§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
SCORECARD
$57,273
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
SCORECARD
53%
6-year completion
Average net price
SCORECARD
$15,404
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
SCORECARD
$25,000
federal loans only
Nonpayment
FSA
14%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate

Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.

The numbers, as published

§ This report228numbers from this report.

General Information

4 TABLES
Respondent Information
First Name:1000 River Road
Last Name:x
Institutional Control
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classification
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic Year
Academic year calendar:Semester

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported8214
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported3144
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total part-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported11358
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents62Not reportedNot reported
Hispanic/Latino796824
Black or African American, non-Hispanic181Not reportedNot reported
White, non-Hispanic881Not reportedNot reported
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic1Not reportedNot reported
Asian, non-Hispanic107Not reportedNot reported
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic5Not reportedNot reported
Two or more races, non-Hispanic58Not reportedNot reported
Race and/or ethnicity unknownNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total2344Not reportedNot reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diplomaNot reported
Associate degrees76
Bachelor's degrees1383
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degrees1440
Post-master's certificates5
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarshipNot reported
Doctoral degrees, professional practiceNot reported
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist00Not reportedNot reported
Final cohort482298Not reportedNot reported
Completed in less than four years152105Not reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years7843Not reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six years69Not reportedNot reported
Total completersNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Six-year graduation rate0.489626556%0.526845638%Not reportedNot reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Did not persist0000
Final cohort5053912741170
Completed in less than four years123145112380
Completed in less than five years824727156
Completed in less than six years713Not reported28
Total completers212205147564
Six-year graduation rate42.0%52.4%53.6%48.2%
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohort0Not reported
Did not persist201313
Final cohort201313
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% timeNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate78.13%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

4 TABLES
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language1
Social studies2
Academic electives3
Total academic units18
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language2
Social studies2
Academic electives4
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school record——Yes—
Class rank——Yes—
Academic GPAYes———
Standardized test scoresYes———
Application essay——Yes—
Recommendations—Yes——
Interview——Yes—
Extracurricular activities——Yes—
Talent or ability——Yes—
Character and personal qualities———Yes
First generation———Yes
Alumni relation——Yes—
Geographical residence——Yes—
State residency——Yes—
Religious affiliation or commitment———Yes
Volunteer work——Yes—
Work experience——Yes—
Level of applicant interestNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT749
ACT159
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writing510Not reported610
SAT math510Not reported600
ACT composite21Not reported26
ACT mathNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT EnglishNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class49
Percent in top half of high school graduating class80
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class20
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class4
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7418
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2414.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9917.3
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.496.5
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.36
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:40
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Amount of housing deposit:350
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time, first-time, first-year students one year or more before high school graduation? (FT)Yes
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Number of early decision applications received by your institution2,017
Number of applicants admitted under early decision plan2,018
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes

Transfer Admission

3 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied492787Not reported1279
Admitted443655Not reported1098
Enrolled191198Not reported389
Other fields
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Does an open admission policy, if reported, apply to transfer students?No
Transfer Credit Policies
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:64
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a two-year institution:credit
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:96
Maximum number of credits or courses that may be transferred from a four-year institution:credit
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn an associate degree:30
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:32

Student Life

2 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)18%
Percent who live off campus or commute32%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)14%
Percent who live off campus or commute60%
Percent of students age 25 and older19%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students21
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)23

Annual Expenses

3 TABLES
Information
Please provide an approximate date (i.e., month/day) when your institution's final 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance will be available:No
Credits per Term
Minimum2
Tuition Policies
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No

Financial Aid

7 TABLES
Reporting Year
Academic Year2016-2017 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$6,053,024
Total Scholarships/Grants$58,791,557
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$14,090,201
Federal Work-Study$1,329,087
Total Self-Help$15,419,288
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$3,304,317
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$846,172
Total Scholarships/Grants$4,152,614
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$3,357,884
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$0
Total Self-Help$3,357,884
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,590,386
Aid to Nonresidents
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:707
Financial Aid Deadlines
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month1
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day1
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:X
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):2
Other
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):15
Institutional Aid
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
AthleticsX
Music/dramaX
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 22 Fairleigh Dickinson University Common Data Set 2017-2018

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio13
based on ____ students7,995
and ____ faculty595

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported0.04%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.02%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported0.01%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reported0.02%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported0.00%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported0.02%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reported0.89%0.33%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.04%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported0.01%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported0.04%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.00%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.01%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported0.09%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reported0.04%
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.03%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported0.06%
Health professions and related programsNot reported0.11%0.06%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported0.16%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported0.02%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0.00%100.00%100.00%

Source Document

Building something with this data? Use the free API.