Fairfield University
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Fairfield University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Fairfield University says 18,509 first-year students applied and 6,162 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 33%. 1,461 admitted students enrolled (24% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1270–1370 and ACT of 29–32. Waitlist: 8,898 offered a spot, 2,477 accepted one, and 22 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 18,509 | 6,162 | 33% | 1,461 | School-reported totals. |
28% joined after being offered a spot. 1% of students who joined were admitted. 48% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 8,898 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 2,477 |
| Admitted from wait list | 22 |
| Joined after being offered | 28% |
| Admitted after joining | 1% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
This school marks applicant interest as Important. Read yield and wait-list behavior with that policy in mind.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
7 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 611 | 849 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 129 | 151 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1509 | 2077 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 2249 | 3077 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 2249 | 3077 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 5 | 12 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 12 | 17 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 17 | 30 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 8 | 10 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 25 | 40 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 2274 | 3117 | 0 | 0 | 5391 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 166 | 245 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 105 | 236 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 271 | 481 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 70 | 130 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 162 | 352 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 1 | 6 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 233 | 488 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 504 | 969 | 0 | 0 | 1473 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 6864 | 3558 | 0 | 0 | 6864 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 18 | 104 | 104 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 137 | 477 | 478 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 16 | 70 | 72 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1172 | 4260 | 4264 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 19 | 94 | 94 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 4 | 4 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 35 | 109 | 109 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 62 | 254 | 265 |
| Total | 1461 | 5373 | 5391 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 0 |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 1056 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 21 |
| Master's degrees | 529 |
| Post-master's certificates | 15 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 55 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 112 | 255 | 723 | 1090 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 0 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 112 | 254 | 723 | 1089 |
| Completed in less than four years | 74 | 212 | 605 | 891 |
| Completed in less than five years | 3 | 5 | 16 | 24 |
| Completed in less than six years | 0 | 0 | 3 | 3 |
| Total completers | 77 | 217 | 624 | 918 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 69% | 85% | 86% | 84% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 103 | 279 | 611 | 993 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 103 | 279 | 611 | 993 |
| Completed in less than four years | 81 | 224 | 501 | 806 |
| Completed in less than five years | 3 | 4 | 14 | 21 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 2 | 2 | 5 |
| Total completers | 85 | 230 | 517 | 832 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 83% | 82% | 85% | 84% |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 91% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 6977 | 11532 | 0 | 0 | 18,509 |
| Admitted | 2401 | 3761 | 0 | 0 | 6,162 |
| Enrolled full-time | 611 | 849 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | 1 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 1,461 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | Yes | — | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | Yes | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | Yes | — | — |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 14 | 200 |
| ACT | 5 | 69 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1270 | 1310 | 1370 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 630 | 660 | 700 |
| SAT math | 630 | 660 | 690 |
| ACT composite | 29 | 30 | 32 |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESAcademic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
4 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 57450 | 57450 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 900 | 900 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 19838 | 19838 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 12038 | 12038 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 7800 | 7800 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1175 | 1175 | 1175 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 8600 |
| Transportation | 950 | 1350 | 1350 |
| Other expenses | 1055 | 1055 | 1055 |
Financial Aid
10 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 877 | 3201 | 3 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 23408.00 | 23395.00 | 11966.00 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 70 | 221 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 25341.00 | 28497.00 | 0.00 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1460 | 5326 | 65 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1102 | 3065 | 11 |
| Determined to have financial need | 551 | 1858 | 9 |
| Awarded any aid | 546 | 1847 | 6 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 537 | 1811 | 6 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 312 | 1088 | 3 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 227 | 611 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 227 | 650 | 0 |
| Average percentage of need met | 78.3 | 70.0 | 17.6 |
| Average financial aid package | 32097.00 | 31943.00 | 15109.00 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 30784.00 | 30039.00 | 12526.00 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 3185.00 | 4226.00 | 5166.00 |
| Average need-based loan | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
2 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 383 | 404 | 787 |
| Members of minority groups | 77 | 74 | 151 |
| Females | 204 | 228 | 432 |
| Males | 179 | 176 | 355 |
| Nonresidents | 26 | 4 | 30 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 340 | 161 | 501 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 42 | 225 | 267 |
| Bachelor's degree | 1 | 13 | 14 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 5 | 5 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 96 | 130 |
| 10-19 students | 96 | 130 |
| 20-29 students | 395 | 92 |
| 30-39 students | 553 | 12 |
| 40-49 students | 159 | 10 |
| 50-99 students | 5 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 8 | Not reported |
| Total | 1216 | 244 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 7.3% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.1% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 2.0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.6% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.4% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.4% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 5.6% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.5% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.7% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.0% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 15.1% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 47.2% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.1% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.0% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.