Duke University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Duke University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$97,800
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
97%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$29,612
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$13,000
federal loans only
FSA
3%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
121numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESStreet Address Line 1:Chapel Drive
CityDurham
StateNorth Carolina
Zip27,708
Country:United States
Main Phone Number:(919) 684-8111
WWW Home Page Address:www.duke.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(919)684-3214
Admissions Email Address:undergrad-admissions@duke.edu
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 792 | 949 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 33 | 23 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2146 | 2448 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 2971 | 3420 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 3765 | 32191 | 10410 | 46366.0 |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 98% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
4 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 46,366 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3,145 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied3,765
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted376
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied32,191
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted2,370
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied10,410
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted399
Total academic units4
Mathematics3
Science3
Foreign language3
Social studies3
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 47 | 824 |
| ACT | 30 | 519 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1520 | 1550 | 1570 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 740 | 760 | 770 |
| SAT math | 780 | 790 | 800 |
| ACT composite | 34 | 35 | 35 |
| ACT math | 33 | 34 | 35 |
| ACT English | 35 | 35 | 36 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80095.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-6994.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5990.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-80097.7
SAT Math: 600-6992.1
SAT Math: 500-5990.2
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-160097.9
SAT Composite: 1200-13992.1
ACT Composite: 30-3699.2
ACT Composite: 24-290.8
Application closing date (fall): Month1
Application closing date (fall): Day2
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | 834 | Not reported | 1828 |
| Admitted | Not reported | 43 | Not reported | 88 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | 23 | Not reported | 56 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
Fall Closing Date: Month3
Fall Reply Date: Month6
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Fall Reply Date: Day5
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESComprehensive transition and postsecondary program for students with intellectual disabilitiesX
Independent studyX
Foreign languagesX
HumanitiesX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 66325.00 | 66325.00 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 2433.00 | 2433.00 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 18128.00 | 18128.00 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 10254.00 | 10254.00 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 7874.00 | 7874.00 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 536.00 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 582 | 1318 | Not reported |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
1 TABLEAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio5
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | 2.20% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | 0.00% | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0.90% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 14.30% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.70% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 12.60% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00% |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00% |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 15.60% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00% |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 1.90% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | 0.00% |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.