Denison University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Denison University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$67,753
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
79%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$40,007
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$26,000
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
184numbers from this report.
General Information
2 TABLESAdmissions Email Address:100 West College Street
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://denison.edu/campus/denison-forward/diversity-inclusion-resources](https://denison.edu/campus/denison-forward/diversity-inclusion-resources
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 292.0 | 344.0 | 0.0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 11.0 | 12.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 832.0 | 900.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 1135.0 | 1256.0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 90 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 43 | 171 | 171 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 33 | 130 | 130 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 398 | 1447 | 1452 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 41 | 102 | 102 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 26 | 102 | 102 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 4 | 34 | 37 |
| Total | 636 | 2398 | 2406 |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 89% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 14,580 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2,468 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Foreign language4
Social studies4
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1320 | 1370 | 1440 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 650 | 680 | 710 |
| SAT math | 650 | 700 | 760 |
| ACT composite | 29 | 31 | 32 |
| ACT math | 26 | 28 | 30 |
| ACT English | 29 | 33 | 34 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80041
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69954
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5995
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160043
SAT Composite: 1200-139957
SAT Composite: 1000-11990
SAT Composite: 800-9990
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Transfer Admission
1 TABLEList any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:##
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)76%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute1%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)74%
Percent of males who join fraternities20%
Percent of females who join sororities34%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing99%
Percent who live off campus or commute1%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
5 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:[https://denison.edu/forms/net-price-calculator](https://denison.edu/forms/net-price-calculator)
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 67000 | 67000 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 16400 | 16400 |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000.00 | 1000.00 | 1000.00 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 16400.00 |
| Transportation | 2500.00 | 2500.00 | 2500.00 |
| Other expenses | 2500.00 | 2500.00 | 2500.00 |
NONRESIDENTS:$45,198
Financial Aid
2 TABLESProvide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.484
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$18,531,180
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio9
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Computer and information sciences | 18.0% | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Personal and culinary services | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Education | 20.0% | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Engineering | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Engineering technologies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 20.0% | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Family and consumer sciences | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Law/legal studies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| English | 20.0% | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Library science | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Biological/life sciences | 54.0% | Not reported | 8.7% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 22.0% | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | 35.0% | Not reported | 5.6% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 9.0% | Not reported | 1.4% |
| Theology and religious vocations | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Physical sciences | 14.0% | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Science technologies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Psychology | 46.0% | Not reported | 7.4% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Public administration and social services | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Social sciences | 128% | Not reported | 20.5% |
| Construction trades | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Precision production | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | 0.0% | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Visual and performing arts | 43.0% | Not reported | 6.9% |
| Health professions and related programs | 17.0% | Not reported | 2.7% |
| Business/marketing | 44.0% | Not reported | 7.1% |
| History | 18.0% | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.