Denison University
2022-23
The 2022-23 Common Data Set for Denison University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$67,753
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
79%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$40,007
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$26,000
federal loans only
FSA
7%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
457numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESMain Phone Number (Area Code)740
Main Phone Number:587-0810
WWW Home Page Address:www.denison.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):740
Admissions Phone Number:587-6276
Admissions Email Address:admissions@denison.edu
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://denison.edu/campus/admission/apply-
Bachelor'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 90 | 403 | 406 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 51 | 167 | 167 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 38 | 135 | 135 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 437 | 1396 | 1403 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 23 | 76 | 76 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 1 | 1 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 40 | 103 | 103 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 3 | 37 | 39 |
| Total | 683 | 2318 | 2330 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 120 | 121 | 396 | 637 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Final cohort | 120 | 120 | 395 | 635 |
| Completed in less than four years | 96 | 99 | 326 | 521 |
| Completed in less than five years | 2 | 1 | 10 | 13 |
| Completed in less than six years | 2 | 0 | 1 | 3 |
| Total completers | 100 | 100 | 337 | 537 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 2016% | 83% | 85% | 85% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 125 | 132 | 374 | 631 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 125 | 132 | 373 | 630 |
| Completed in less than four years | 96 | 88 | 301 | 485 |
| Completed in less than five years | 3 | 12 | 13 | 28 |
| Completed in less than six years | 1 | 0 | 0 | 1 |
| Total completers | 100 | 100 | 314 | 514 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 76% | 84% | 82% | 82% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 2% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
6 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 5534 | 6686 | Not reported | 12,220 |
| Admitted | 1222 | 1462 | Not reported | 2,684 |
| Enrolled | 327 | 356 | Not reported | 683 |
| Enrolled full-time | 327 | 356 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
Wait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:1,564
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:559
Number of wait-listed students admitted:33
Total academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Foreign language4
Social studies4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 28 | 188 |
| ACT | 26 | 175 |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1290 | 1370 | 1440 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 630 | 680 | 710 |
| SAT math | 640 | 690 | 750 |
| ACT composite | 29 | 31 | 32 |
| ACT math | 26 | 28 | 31 |
| ACT English | 29 | 32 | 34 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80041
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69949
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59910
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 700-80047
SAT Math: 600-69943
SAT Math: 500-59910
SAT Math: 400-4990
SAT Math: 300-3990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Composite: 1400-160042
SAT Composite: 1200-139952
SAT Composite: 1000-11996
SAT Composite: 800-9990
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-3666
ACT Composite: 24-2934
ACT Composite: 18-230
ACT Composite: 12-170
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class72
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class85
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:31
Application closing date (fall): Month1
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Priority Date: Month1
Priority Date: Day15
Amount of housing deposit:0
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 Year
Transfer Admission
3 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 80 | 65 | Not reported | 145 |
| Admitted | 22 | 29 | Not reported | 51 |
| Enrolled | 12 | 11 | Not reported | 23 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:⇒ NA
Fall Closing Date: Month4
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Notification Date: Month5
Spring Notification Date: Month12
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Spring Closing Date: Day15
Fall Notification Date: Day15
Spring Notification Date: Day15
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESDouble majorX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)76%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)74%
Percent of males who join fraternities17%
Percent of females who join sororities43%
Percent who live off campus or commute1%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Coed residence hallsX
Men's residence halls (Men)X
Women's residence halls (Females)X
Apartments for single studentsX
Cooperative housingX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 64000 | 64000 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 0 | 0 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1500 | 1500 | 1500 |
| Other expenses | 1500 | 1500 | 1500 |
Financial Aid
8 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 283 | 963 | 2 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 19022 | 20137 | 9000 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Academic Year2022-2023 estimated
Federal$1,953,923
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$274,870
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$55,265,364
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$416,872
Total Scholarships/Grants$57,911,029
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$4,944,912
Federal Work-Study$1,042,690
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,283,424
Total Self-Help$7,271,026
Parent Loans$0
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,199,463
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$402,605
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$8,900
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$21,897,417
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$217,021
Total Scholarships/Grants$22,525,943
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$6,485,928
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$4,302,355
Total Self-Help$10,788,283
Parent Loans$2,847,429
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,622,211
Athletic Awards$0
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 683 | Not reported | 6 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 517 | 1718 | 2 |
| Determined to have financial need | 378 | 1309 | 0 |
| Awarded any aid | 378 | 1309 | 0 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 374 | 1284 | 0 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 378 | 1309 | 0 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 50 | 174 | 0 |
| Need fully met | 378 | 1309 | 0 |
| Average percentage of need met | 100 | 100 | Not reported |
| Average financial aid package | 53335 | 54705 | Not reported |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 42723 | 42799 | Not reported |
| Average need-based self-help award | 6206 | 7438 | Not reported |
| Average need-based loan | 3783 | 4680 | Not reported |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.530
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 235 | 44 | 31610 |
| Federal loan programs | 231 | 44 | 22783 |
| Institutional loan programs | 51 | 10 | 6815 |
| State loan programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Private student loans | 35 | 7 | 51936 |
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:- ⇒ NA ##
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 240 | 76 | 316 |
| Members of minority groups | 62 | 10 | 72 |
| Females | 118 | 34 | 152 |
| Males | 122 | 42 | 164 |
| Nonresidents | 12 | 2 | 14 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 233 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 5 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degree | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio9
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 141 | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | 141 | Not reported |
| 20-29 students | 315 | Not reported |
| 30-39 students | 207 | Not reported |
| 40-49 students | 12 | Not reported |
| 50-99 students | 2 | Not reported |
| 100+ students | 0 | Not reported |
| Total | 0 | Not reported |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 17% | Not reported | 2.5% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 27% | Not reported | 4.0% |
| Communication/journalism | 64% | Not reported | 9.4% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Computer and information sciences | 19% | Not reported | 2.8% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Education | 22% | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 20% | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| English | 29% | Not reported | 4.3% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | 1% | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Biological/life sciences | 60% | Not reported | 8.8% |
| Mathematics and statistics | 18% | Not reported | 2.7% |
| Military science and military technologies | 0% | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | 31% | Not reported | 4.6% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 13% | Not reported | 1.9% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Physical sciences | 25% | Not reported | 3.7% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Psychology | 53% | Not reported | 7.8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Social sciences | 141% | Not reported | 20.8% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | 0% |
| Visual and performing arts | 24% | Not reported | 3.5% |
| Health professions and related programs | 4% | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Business/marketing | 58% | Not reported | 8.6% |
| History | 22% | Not reported | 3.2% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.