University of Colorado Boulder

2024-25

The 2024-25 Common Data Set for University of Colorado Boulder — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 23, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

76.2%

Applications

68,931

Admitted

52,534

Enrolled

7,432

SAT Composite

1180-1390

SAT Math

580-700

SAT Reading

590-700

ACT Composite

27-33

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$69,738
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
74%
6-year completion
Average net price
$25,346
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$19,500
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report471 of ~471numbers from this report.

General Information

3 TABLES
Address Information
Admissions Phone Number:Main Institution Phone Number 303-492-1411
Admissions Office
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):303
Admissions Phone Number:492-6301
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://www.colorado.edu/admissions
Degrees Offered
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX

Enrollment And Persistence

6 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking3629372407353Not reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking109095402044Not reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking1153310220021753Not reported
Full-time total degree-seeking1625214898031150Not reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduates6027087Not reported
Full-time total undergraduates16.31214925031237Not reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking3940079Not reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seeking76660142Not reported
Part-time all other degree-seeking96058301543Not reported
Part-time total degree-seeking107568901764Not reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduates1762070383Not reported
Part-time total undergraduates125189602147Not reported
Total undergraduates12671582103338433384
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seeking5975270Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking9019330Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduates110Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduates149914610Not reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seeking4322690Not reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seeking196214970Not reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduates36480Not reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduates243018140Not reportedNot reported
Total graduate students392932750Not reportedNot reported
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide total enrollment by reported gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknownTotal
Grand total all students5196190960Not reported40588
All
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents155835851
Hispanic/Latino106845054565
Black or African American, non-Hispanic171645663
White, non-Hispanic48562214122433
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic136666
Asian, non-Hispanic51420862123
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic73437
Two or more races, non-Hispanic55822912332
Race and/or ethnicity unknown74323291433384
Total7432Not reportedNot reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma0
Associate degrees0
Bachelor's degrees6645
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degrees2133
Post-master's certificates0
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship447
Doctoral degrees, professional practice175
Doctoral degrees, other0
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort94285148236616
Did not persist101011
Final cohort94185148136605
Completed in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completers62860136664895
Six-year graduation rate67%71%76%74%
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort100585046276482
Did not persist1056
Final cohort100485046226476
Completed in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completers68862235424852
Six-year graduation rate69%73%77%75%
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate90%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

6 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by gender or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by gender or status.
MeasureMenWomenAnother genderUnknown genderTotal
Applied3450034718Not reported3268,931
Admitted2431628201Not reported2252,534
Enrolled full-time36663762Not reported4Not reported
Enrolled part-time3942Not reported0Not reported
Enrolled totalNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported7,432
Other fields
Total first-time, first-year who applied17,301
Total first-time, first-year who were admitted14,678
Total first-time, first-year who enrolled3,987
Total first-time, first-year who applied48,976
Total first-time, first-year who were admitted35,692
Total first-time, first-year who enrolled3,290
Total first-time, first-year who applied2,654
Total first-time, first-year who were admitted2,164
Total first-time, first-year who enrolled155

Wait List

Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:5,740
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:1,158
Number of wait-listed students admitted:1,007
Admissions Requirements
Of these, units that must be lab2
Social studies3
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT251827
ACT7514
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT composite118013001390
SAT evidence-based reading and writing590650700
SAT math580640700
ACT composite273033
ACT math252831
ACT English263034
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80028
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69947
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59921
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4994
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80027
SAT Math: 600-69941
SAT Math: 500-59926
SAT Math: 400-4995
SAT Math: 300-3991
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160024
SAT Composite: 1200-139948
SAT Composite: 1000-119922
SAT Composite: 800-9995
SAT Composite: 600-7990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3659
ACT Composite: 24-2933
ACT Composite: 18-237
ACT Composite: 12-171
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class30
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class59
Percent in top half of high school graduating class89
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class11
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class1
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:40
Percent who had GPA of 4.053
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9920
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7415
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.498
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.243
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.991
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.040
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9924
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7419
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4911
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.244
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.992
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.044
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9923
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7418
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4910
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.244
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.992
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.79
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:99.6
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:65
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall)1
Priority Date15
Priority Date: Month11
Priority Date: Day15
Amount of housing deposit:300
If yes, maximum period of postponement:12 months

Transfer Admission

1 TABLE
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Other requirements vary by department. Some colleges require specific courses and a minimum number of credit hours. College of Music applicants must also complete a College of Music application after their admission application has been submitted, provide a letter of reference, and schedule an audition. Visit the College of Music transfer website for more information. ## Common Data Set 2024-2025 -

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Accelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Dual enrollmentX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Required Course Work
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HumanitiesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX

Student Life

4 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)46%
Percent of men who join fraternities1%
Percent of women who join sororities21%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing94%
Percent who live off campus or commute6%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)43%
Percent of men who join fraternities8%
Percent of women who join sororities19%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing26%
Percent who live off campus or commute74%
Percent of students age 25 and older5%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18.1
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.1
Average age of full-time students20.3
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Activities Offered
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Housing
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX
Living Learning CommunitiesX

Annual Expenses

5 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:[https://ofa.colorado.edu/netpricecalculator/](https://ofa.colorado.edu/netpricecalculator/)
Private Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
Tuition4580843986
Tuition: in-districtNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-state1356612312
Tuition: out-of-state4370841932
Tuition: nonresidentNot reportedNot reported
Required feesNot reported1690
Food and housing, on-campus1850418504
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
Public Tuition
All Institutions Expenses
Estimated Expenses
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
G5 estimated expenses. Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
MeasureResidentsCommuters living at homeCommuters not living at home
Books and supplies120012001200
Food onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Housing onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing totalNot reportedNot reported18656
Transportation131413141314
Other expenses172816281728

Financial Aid

7 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipients13542Not reported322
Average institutional non-need grant109568842Not reported
Athletic grant recipients2991Not reported
Average athletic grant35451Not reported1980
Reporting Year
2024-20252024-2025 estimated
Methodology
Both FM and IM35297784
Need-based Aid Awarded
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$68,444,364
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$4,781,488
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$128,803,862
Total Scholarships/Grants$41,130,646
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,247,890
Federal Work-Study$3,201,782
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$45,580,318
Total Self-Help$12,800,993
Parent Loans$1,318,996
Athletic Awards$11,086
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$61,629,854
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$16,101,850
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$77,886,421
Total Scholarships/Grants$84,746,493
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$217,960
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$84,964,453
Total Self-Help$57,584,211
Parent Loans$9,750,997
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.105
Institutional Aid
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:- The First Generation Scholarship is awarded to undergraduate Colorado residents who have financial need and whose parent(s) or legal guardians do not have a bachelor's degree. Please see https://www.colorado.edu/scholarships/cu-boulder-scholarships/campus-programs/first-generationscholarship for more information. - The CU Boulder Transfer Excellence Scholarship is offered to undergraduate resident and nonresident students pursuing their first degree, who are transferring to CU Boulder with a cumulative college GPA of 3.75 or better and who have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours of college course work after high school graduation (or equivalent). Transfer students with completed admissions applications are automatically considered for the CU Boulder Transfer Excellence scholarship. Please see https://www.colorado.edu/scholarships/cu-boulder/transferexcellence for more information. - Native and Indigenous Student Scholarship: CU Boulder offers a limited number of scholarships to promising incoming first-year students who are members of a federally recognized tribe. For those who are a member of one of the 48 tribes with historical and present ties to Colorado, we also offer in-state tuition rates whether you are a resident of Colorado or not. Please see https://www.colorado.edu/scholarships/native-indigenous for more information.

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

3 TABLES
Instructional Faculty
I1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
I1 instructional faculty. Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
MeasureFull-timePart-timeTotal
Total instructional faculty17455892334
Members of minority groups36983452
Females750247997
Males9953371332
Nonresidents501666
Doctorate or other terminal degree15001351635
Master's, but not terminal master's19782279
Bachelor's degree176279
Unknown or other highest degree31310341
Stand-alone graduate/professional programs452267
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2024 Student to Faculty ratio19.1
based on ____ students36,868
and ____ faculty1,933
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 students7.8125
10-19 students31.7410
20-29 students813805
30-39 students420280
40-49 students24559
50-99 students43721
100+ students2844
Total36351704

Source Document