University of Colorado Boulder

2022-23

The 2022-23 Common Data Set for University of Colorado Boulder — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Mar 13, 2024. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

36.3%

Applications

54,861

Admitted

19,924

Enrolled

7,106

SAT Composite

1170-1380

SAT Math

570-700

SAT Reading

590-690

ACT Composite

26-31

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$69,738
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
74%
6-year completion
Average net price
$25,346
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$19,500
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report373numbers from this report.

General Information

2 TABLES
Admissions Office
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://www.colorado.edu/admissions
Degrees Offered
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Doctoral degree research/scholarshipX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported103
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported119
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total part-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported222
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents132856988
Hispanic/Latino90330893992
Black or African American, non-Hispanic148387535
White, non-Hispanic48911607220963
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic173148
Asian, non-Hispanic47114261897
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic82028
Two or more races, non-Hispanic49015091999
Race and/or ethnicity unknown71062356530671
Total7106Not reportedNot reported
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma0
Associate degrees0
Bachelor's degrees6754
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degrees1757
Post-master's certificates0
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship427
Doctoral degrees, professional practice178
Doctoral degrees, other0
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort9288494601Not reported
Did not persist102Not reported
Final cohort9278494599Not reported
Completed in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Completed in less than six yearsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total completers6266173517Not reported
Six-year graduation rate68%73%76%Not reported
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort7018286031984Not reported
Did not persist148048167Not reported
Final cohort91416364270Not reported
Completed in less than four years8907563Not reportedNot reported
Completed in less than five years20167212388Not reported
Completed in less than six years6912457Not reportedNot reported
Total completers1594023Not reported
Six-year graduation rate842%3017%140%Not reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate88%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

6 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied2669028170Not reported54,861
Admitted19686237Not reported19,924
Enrolled35593453Not reported7,106
Enrolled full-time35593453Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time5242Not reportedNot reported

Wait List

Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:6,570
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:2,590
Number of wait-listed students admitted:101
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units17
Of these, units that must be lab2
Social studies3
History1
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Class rankNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Academic GPANot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Talent or abilityNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Character and personal qualitiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
First generationNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Alumni relationNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Geographical residenceNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
State residencyNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Religious affiliation or commitmentNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Volunteer workNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Work experienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Level of applicant interestNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT312234
ACT14964
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT composite117012801380
SAT evidence-based reading and writing590640690
SAT math570640700
ACT composite262931
ACT math242730
ACT English242933
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80023
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69950
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59923
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4995
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-80026
SAT Math: 600-69941
SAT Math: 500-59927
SAT Math: 400-4995
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-160022
SAT Composite: 1200-139949
SAT Composite: 1000-119924
SAT Composite: 800-9995
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3643
ACT Composite: 24-2941
ACT Composite: 18-2314
ACT Composite: 12-172
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class26
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class54
Percent in top half of high school graduating class85
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class15
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class2
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:44
Percent who had GPA of 4.034
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9930
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7418
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4914
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.249
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.995
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Admission Policies
Does your institution have an application fee?Yes
Amount of application fee:65
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Does your institution have an application closing date?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month1
Application closing date (fall): Day15
Priority Date: Month11
Priority Date: Day15
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:12 months
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No

Transfer Admission

4 TABLES
Fall Applicants
D2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
D2 transfer admissions. Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Applied23281766Not reported4095
Admitted16721309Not reported2981
Enrolled7274Not reported76
Application for Admission
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?No
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of Some
Standardized test scoresRequired of Some
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of Some
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Other requirements vary by department. Some colleges require specific courses and a minimum number of credit hours. College of Music applicants must also complete a College of Music application after their admission application has been submitted, provide a letter of reference and schedule an audition. Visit the College of Music transfer website for more information. Common Data Set 2022 -2023
Fall Closing Date: Month15
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Other
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:45
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://www.colorado.edu/veterans/2020/03/10/military-credit

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Accelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Undergraduate ResearchX
Required Course Work
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
Intensive writingX
MathematicsX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX

Student Life

4 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)48%
Percent who live off campus or commute6%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)45%
Percent who live off campus or commute73%
Percent of students age 25 and older9%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18.1
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.1
Average age of full-time students20.1
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20.4
Activities Offered
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
International Student OrganizationX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Housing
Coed residence hallsX
Apartments for married studentsX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Fraternity/sorority housingX
Theme housingX
Other housing options (specify):X

Annual Expenses

4 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:[https://ofa.colorado.edu/netpricecalculator/](https://ofa.colorado.edu/netpricecalculator/)
Public Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
TuitionNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-districtNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-state1197611520
Tuition: out-of-state4032038770
Tuition: nonresident4229640670
Required fees16461586
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
All Institutions Expenses
Estimated Expenses
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
G5 estimated expenses. Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
MeasureResidentsCommuters living at homeCommuters not living at home
Books and supplies120012001200
Food onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Housing onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing totalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation149414941494
Other expenses161014401610

Financial Aid

8 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipients28409716295
Average institutional non-need grant9250101998530
Athletic grant recipients773185
Average athletic grant289712829216838
Reporting Year
Academic Year2022-2023 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$24,632,298
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$59,456,060
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$5,114,116
Total Scholarships/Grants$102,600,676
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$43,446,037
Federal Work-Study$855,051
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$3,786,699
Total Self-Help$48,087,787
Parent Loans$20,520,387
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$2,584,503
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$4,000
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$39,621,703
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$15,477,628
Total Scholarships/Grants$55,158,230
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$62,273,513
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$125,534
Total Self-Help$62,399,047
Parent Loans$33,627,294
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$7,621,429
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.200
Source Type Loan
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
H5 student loans. Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
MeasureNumber in classPercent of classAverage per borrower
Any loan program18613629719
Federal loan programs17693418241
Institutional loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
State loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Private student loans470949019
Aid to Nonresidents
Total dollar amount of institutional financial aid awarded to undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents:$2,360,366
Institutional Aid
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:• The First Generation Scholarship is awarded to undergraduate Colorado residents who have financial need and whose parent(s) or legal guardians do not have a bachelor's degree. Please see https://www.colorado.edu/scholarships/cu-boulder -scholarships/campus -programs/first-generation- scholarship for more information. • The CU Boulder Transfer Excellence Scholarship is offered to undergraduate resident and nonresident students pursuing their first degree, who are transferring to CU Boulder with a cumulative college GPA of 3.75 or better and who have completed a minimum of 12 credit hours of college course work after high school graduation (or equivalent). Transfer students with completed admissions applications are automatically considered for the CU Boulder Transfer Excellence scholarship. Please see https://www.colorado.edu/scholarships/cu-boulder/transferexcellence for more information. • The Sharer Scholars scholarship is awarded to newly admitted Colorado resident transfer students who are transferring to CU Boulder from a Colorado college or university and plan to graduate within two years. Please see https://www.colorado.edu/scholarships/2020/10/21/sharer-scholars -program -transfer-students for more information. • Native and Indigenous Student Scholarship: CU Boulder offers a limited number of scholarships to promising incoming first- year students who are members of a federally recognized tribe. For those who are a member of one of the 48 tribes with historical and present ties to Colorado, we also offer in-state tuition rates whether you are a resident of Colorado or not. Please see https://www.colorado.edu/scholarships/native-indigenous for more information. Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☒ No Common Data Set 2022 -2023 INSTRUCTIONAL FACULTY AND CLASS SIZE I-1. Please report the number of instructional faculty members in each category for Fall 2022. Include faculty who are on your institution’s payroll on the census date your institution uses for IPEDS/AAUP. The following definition of full -time ins tructional faculty is used by the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) in its annual Faculty Compensation Survey (the part time definitions are not used by AAUP). Instructional Faculty is defined as those members of the instructional-research staff whose major regular assignment is instruction, including those with released time for research. Use the chart below to determine inclusions and exclusions: Full-time Part-time A Instructional faculty in preclinical and clinical medicine, faculty who Exclude Include only if they are not paid (e.g., those who donate their services or are in the teach one or more military), or research-only faculty, post-doctoral fellows, or pre- non-clinical credit doctoral fellows courses B Administrative officers with titles such as dean of students, librarian, Exclude Include if they teach registrar, coach, and the like, even though they may devote part of one or more non- their time to classroom instruction and may have faculty status clinical credit courses C Other administrators/staff who teach one or more non-clinical credit Exclude Include courses even though they do not have faculty status D Undergraduate or graduate students who assist in the instruction of Exclude Exclude courses, but have titles such as teaching assistant, teaching fellow, and the like E Faculty on sabbatical or leave with pay Include Exclude F Faculty on leave without pay Exclude Exclude G Replacement faculty for faculty on sabbatical leave or leave with pay Exclude Include Full-time instructional faculty: faculty employed on a full-time basis for instruction (including those with released time for research) Part-time instructional faculty : Adjuncts and other instructors being paid solely for part-time classroom instruction. Also includes full-time faculty teaching less than two semesters, three quarters, two trimesters, or two four-month sessions. Employees who are not considered full -time instruction faculty but who teach one or more non-clinical credit courses may be counted as part-time faculty. Minority faculty: includes faculty who designate themselves as B lack, non-Hispanic; American Indian or Alaska Native; Asian, Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, or Hispanic. Doctorate: includes such degrees as Doctor of Philosophy, Doctor of Education, Doctor of Juridical Science, and Doctor of Public Health in any field such as arts, sciences, education, engineering, business, and public administration. Also includes terminal degrees formerly designated as “first professional,” including dentistry (DDS or DMD), medicine (MD), optometry (OD), osteopathic medicine (DO), pharmacy (DPharm or BPharm), podiatric medicine (DPM), veterinary medicine (DVM), chiropractic (DC or DCM), or law (JD). Terminal master’s degree: a master’s degree that is considered the highest degree in a field: example, M. Arch (in architecture) and MFA (master of fine arts in art or theater). Full-time Part-time Total A Total number of instructional faculty 1,660 611 2,271 B Total number who are members of minority groups 337 97 434 C Total number who are women 688 265 953 Common Data Set 2022 -2023 D Total number who are men 972 345 1,317 E Total number who are nonresident (international) 42 12 54 F Total number with doctorate, or other terminal degree 1,435 132 1,567 G Total number whose highest degree is a master’s but 169 102 271 not a terminal master’s H Total number whose highest degree is a bachelor’s 24 77 101 I Total number whose highest degree is unknown or 32 298 330 other (Note: Items f, g, h, and i must sum up to item a.) J Total number in stand-alone graduate/professional 39 27 66 programs in which faculty teach virtually only graduate- level students Faculty -- Highest Degree Nearly all tenured and tenure-track faculty (97%) have a doctorate or other terminal degree. The percentage of full-time instructional faculty whose highest degree is a doctorate or other terminal degree is 86 %. I-2. Student to Faculty Ratio Report the Fall 2022 ratio of full-time equivalent students (full -time plus 1/3 part time) to full -time equivalent instructional faculty (full time plus 1/3 part time). In the ratio calculations, exclude both faculty and students in stand-alone graduate or professional programs such as medicine, law, veterinary, dentistry, social work, business, or public health in which faculty teach virtually only graduate level students. Do not count undergraduate or graduate student teaching assistants as faculty. Fall 2022 Student to Faculty ratio: __18.3 __ to 1 Based on 3 3,841 student FTE and 1,852 faculty FTE (from 39,670 undergraduate and graduate students excluding law and telecommunications and 2,316 instructional faculty excluding law and telecommunications). Common Data Set 2022 -2023 I-3. Undergraduate Class Size In the table below, please use the following definitions to report information about the size of classes and class sections offered in the Fall 2022 term.  Please include classes that have been moved online in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. Class Sections: A class section is an organized course offered for credit, identified by discipline and number, meeting at a stated time or times in a classroom or similar setting, and not a subsection such as a laboratory or discussion session. Undergraduate class sections are defined as any sections in which at least one degree- seeking undergraduate student is enrolled for credit. Exclude distance learning classes and noncredit classes and individual instruction such as dissertation or thesis research, music instruction, or one-to-one readings. Exclude students in independent study, co-operative programs, internships, foreign language taped tutor sessions, practicums, and all students in one-on -one classes. Each class section should be counted only once and should not be duplicated because of course catalog cross-listings. Class Subsections: A class subsection includes any subsection of a course, such as laboratory, recitation, and discussion subsections that are supplementary in nature and are scheduled to meet separately from the lecture portion of the course. Undergraduate subsections are defined as any subsections of courses in which degree-seeking undergraduate students enrolled for credit. As above, exclude noncredit classes and individual instruction such as dissertation or thesis research, music instruction, or one-to-one readings. Each class subsection should be counted only once and should not be duplicated because of cross-listings. Using the above definitions, please report for each of the following class-size intervals the number of class sections and class subsections offered in Fall 2022. For example, a lecture class with 800 students who met at another time in 40 separate labs with 20 students should be counted once in the “100+” column in the class section column and 40 times under the “20-29” column of the class subsections table. NOTE: In response to the COVID -19 pandemic, in Fall 2022 the University of Colorado Boulder offered a mix of in-person, online, remote, and hybrid courses. The Fall 2022 class section and subsection counts report classes conducted in person; classes conducted via hybrid instruction, i.e., combining traditional face-to-face instruction with web-based online learning; and courses that are meeting exclusively remote. We do not include online courses, as these were courses that were online before Fall 2022. Number of Class Sections with Undergraduates Enrolled Undergraduate Class Size (provide numbers) 2-9 10-19 20-29 30-39 40-49 50-99 100+ Total CLASS SECTIONS 268 1,163 779 446 231 376 261 3,524 % of total class sections 7.6% 33.0% 22.1% 12.7% 6.6% 10.7% 7.4% Cumulative % 7.6% 40.6% 62.7% 75.4% 82.0% 92.7% 100% 2-9 10-19 20-29 30-39 40-49 50-99 100+ Total CLASS SUB- SECTIONS 146 470 771 187 59 24 3 1,660 % of total class subsections 8.8% 28.3% 46.4% 11.3% 3.6% 1.4% 0.2 % Cumulative % 8.8% 37.1% 83.5% 94.7% 98.4% 99.8% 100% Common Data Set 2022 -2023

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

2 TABLES
Student to Faculty Ratio
based on ____ students3,841
and ____ faculty1,852
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 studentsNot reportedNot reported
10-19 students22.146.4
20-29 students22.1771
30-39 students12.7187
40-49 students6.659
50-99 students10.724
100+ students7.43
TotalNot reported1660

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

2 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservation214%Not reported2.9%
Architecture150%Not reported2.1%
Area, ethnic, and gender studies54%Not reported0.7%
Communication/journalism734%Not reported10.1%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciences507%Not reported7.0%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Education61%Not reported0.8%
Engineering950%Not reported13.1%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics129%Not reported1.8%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
English86%Not reported1.2%
Liberal arts/general studies19%Not reported0.3%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciences891%Not reported12.3%
Mathematics and statistics183%Not reported2.5%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and religious studies68%Not reported0.9%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciences218%Not reported3.0%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Psychology567%Not reported7.8%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Social sciences864%Not reported11.9%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing arts207%Not reported2.9%
Health professions and related programs66%Not reported0.9%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
History82%Not reported1.1%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
TotalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Bachelors

Source Document