Central Michigan University
2025-26
The 2025-26 Common Data Set for Central Michigan University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jul 21, 2026. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2025-26 report, Central Michigan University says 22,287 first-year students applied and 20,289 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 91%. 1,986 admitted students enrolled (9.8% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 970–1210 and ACT of 20–28.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 22,287 | 20,289 | 91% | 1,986 | School-reported totals. |
Application fee: $40. Fee waivers are reported as available.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
8 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 705 | 1,228 | 3 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 119 | 125 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 2,533 | 3,874 | 6 | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 3,357 | 5,227 | 9 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 11 | 33 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 3,368 | 5,260 | 9 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 9 | 41 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 25 | 55 | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 361 | 925 | 3 | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 395 | 1,021 | 4 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 60 | 120 | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 455 | 1,141 | 5 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 3823 | 6401 | 14 | 10,238 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 124 | 191 | 1 | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 712 | 938 | 2 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | 6 | 10 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 842 | 1,139 | 3 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 142 | 284 | 2 | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 500 | 914 | 2 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 30 | 74 | 1 | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 672 | 1,272 | 5 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3,933 |
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | 4,210 | 6,399 | 12 | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | 1,127 | 2,413 | 10 | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 14,171 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 49 | 246 | 285 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 150 | 634 | 642 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 195 | 855 | 856 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1,434 | 7,506 | 7,603 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 23 | 105 | 112 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 23 | 154 | 163 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 2 | 6 | 6 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 98 | 428 | 431 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 12 | 79 | 140 |
| Total | 1,986 | 10,013 | 10,238 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 127 |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | 2,223 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 1,538 |
| Post-master's certificates | 75 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 68 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 158 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 14 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 840 | 577 | 1,033 | 2,450 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 840 | 577 | 1,033 | 2,450 |
| Completed in less than four years | 230 | 228 | 524 | 982 |
| Completed in less than five years | 115 | 128 | 142 | 385 |
| Completed in less than six years | 33 | 18 | 30 | 81 |
| Total completers | 378 | 374 | 696 | 1,448 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 45% | 64.8% | 67.4% | 59.1% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 966 | 878 | 867 | 2,711 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 966 | 878 | 867 | 2,711 |
| Completed in less than four years | 266 | 364 | 441 | 1,071 |
| Completed in less than five years | 151 | 152 | 122 | 425 |
| Completed in less than six years | 44 | 29 | 23 | 96 |
| Total completers | 461 | 545 | 586 | 1,592 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 47.7% | 62.1% | 67.6% | 58.7% |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | 2,188 |
| Still enrolled next fall | 1,732 |
| Retention rate | 79.2% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
8 TABLESC8D · Entrance Exams
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 8,833 | 13,454 | 0 | 22,287 |
| Admitted | 7,949 | 12,340 | 0 | 20,289 |
| Enrolled | 715 | 1,271 | 0 | 1,986 |
| Enrolled full-time | 706 | 1,230 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 9 | 41 | 0 | Not reported |
C2 · Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | — | Yes | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | — | Yes | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 · First-time, first-year Profile
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 52.4 | 1,041 |
| ACT | 5.3 | 106 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 970 | 1,100 | 1,210 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 500 | 560 | 620 |
| SAT math | 470 | 530 | 590 |
| ACT composite | 20 | 24 | 28 |
| ACT math | 18 | 22 | 26 |
| ACT English | 20 | 23 | 29 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | 20 | 24 | 31 |
Transfer Admission
4 TABLES| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 727 | 1,368 | 0 | 2,095 |
| Admitted | 682 | 1,300 | 0 | 1,982 |
| Enrolled | 333 | 633 | 0 | 966 |
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESStudent Life
5 TABLESAnnual Expenses
7 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | $15,570 | $16,410 |
| Tuition: in-state | $15,570 | $16,410 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | $15,570 | $16,410 |
| Tuition: nonresident | $27,000 | $27,750 |
| Required fees | $450 | $450 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | $12,872 | $12,872 |
| Housing only, on-campus | $6,528 | $6,528 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | $6,344 | $6,344 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | $1,326 | $1,326 | $1,326 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | $8,866 |
| Transportation | $1,378 | $2,066 | $2,066 |
| Other expenses | $1,680 | $1,680 | $1,680 |
Financial Aid
13 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 509 | 1,594 | 47 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | $6,303 | $6,913 | $2,146 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 18 | 71 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | $8,697 | $11,539 | $0 |
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 1,936 | 8,593 | 1,420 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 1,790 | 7,170 | 1,007 |
| Determined to have financial need | 1,256 | 5,052 | 797 |
| Awarded any aid | 1,256 | 5,015 | 756 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 1,254 | 4,882 | 663 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 719 | 2,894 | 451 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 241 | 870 | 26 |
| Need fully met | 242 | 885 | 19 |
| Average percentage of need met | 1% | 1% | 0% |
| Average financial aid package | $21,584 | $20,047 | $8,130 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | $14,627 | $13,073 | $3,993 |
| Average need-based self-help award | $3,328 | $4,033 | $3,156 |
| Average need-based loan | $3,290 | $3,984 | $3,140 |
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 676 | 1% | $29,329 |
| Federal loan programs | 657 | 1% | $23,799 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 159 | 0% | $26,357 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 605 | 248 | 853 |
| Members of minority groups | 119 | 43 | 162 |
| Females | 277 | 141 | 418 |
| Males | 328 | 107 | 435 |
| Nonresidents | 24 | 1 | 25 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 484 | 61 | 545 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 113 | 139 | 252 |
| Bachelor's degree | 6 | 20 | 26 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 2 | 28 | 30 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 187 | 38 |
| 10-19 students | 391 | 71 |
| 20-29 students | 350 | 57 |
| 30-39 students | 207 | 4 |
| 40-49 students | 56 | 1 |
| 50-99 students | 45 | 1 |
| 100+ students | 9 | 0 |
| Total | 1,245 | 172 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | 9.6% | Not reported | 1.7% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 23.2% | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | 4.8% | Not reported | 4% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | 0.8% | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | 3.2% | Not reported | 13.5% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 2.3% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | 8.8% | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.6% |
| Law/legal studies | 2.4% | Not reported | 0.4% |
| English | 16% | Not reported | 0.6% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.1% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | 5.6% | Not reported | 0.3% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 5.9% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | 4% | Not reported | 0.1% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 8.8% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | 8% | Not reported | 2.2% |
| Public administration and social services | 3.2% | Not reported | 7.2% |
| Social sciences | 10.4% | Not reported | 4.1% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 4.9% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 5.0% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 22.9% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 0.7% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 100% | 0% | 100% |
Building something with this data? Use the free API.