Case Western Reserve University
2018-19
The 2018-19 Common Data Set for Case Western Reserve University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$87,989
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
87%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$41,190
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$24,000
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
273numbers from this report.
General Information
5 TABLESName of College/University:Case W estern Reserve University
Street Address Line 1:10900 Euclid Avenue
CityCleveland
StateOH
Zip44,106
Country:- USA
Main Phone Number:(216) 368-2000
WWW Home Page Address:http://www.case.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(216) 368-4450
Admissions Email Address:admission@case.edu
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Semester
Enrollment And Persistence
5 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 5262 |
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 6629 |
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 11891 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 177 | 693 | 719 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 153 | 401 | 404 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 56 | 211 | 223 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 598 | 2420 | 2494 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 5 | 8 | 8 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 321 | 1079 | 1085 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 4 | 4 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 68 | 249 | 250 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 15 | 67 | 75 |
| Total | 1393 | 106 | 35 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 1620 |
| Post-master's certificates | 14 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 219 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 439 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 271 | 359 | 742 | 1372 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 1 | 1 | 2 |
| Final cohort | 271 | 358 | 741 | 1370 |
| Completed in less than four years | 165 | 236 | 486 | 887 |
| Completed in less than five years | 53 | 69 | 133 | 255 |
| Completed in less than six years | 4 | 5 | 12 | 21 |
| Total completers | 222 | 310 | 631 | 1163 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 81.9% | 86.6% | 85.2% | 84.9% |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 165 | 289 | 448 | 902 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 165 | 289 | 447 | 901 |
| Completed in less than four years | 99 | 192 | 303 | 594 |
| Completed in less than five years | 27 | 45 | 56 | 128 |
| Completed in less than six years | 3 | 5 | 14 | 22 |
| Total completers | 129 | 242 | 373 | 744 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 78.2% | 83.7% | 83.4% | 82.6% |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 94.4% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 13883 | 12759 | Not reported | 26,642 |
| Admitted | 3988 | 3806 | Not reported | 7,794 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | 655 | Not reported | 655 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 655 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units16
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies3
Mathematics4
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language3
Social studies4
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | Yes | — | — |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Alumni relation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Geographical residence | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State residency | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Volunteer work | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Work experience | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Level of applicant interest | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 650 | 730 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 700 | 790 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 30 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 29 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 31 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class66
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class92
Percent in top half of high school graduating class99
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class1
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 yr .
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Is your early action plan a “restrictive” plan under which you limit students from applying to other early plans?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 273 | 192 | Not reported | 465 |
| Admitted | 53 | 53 | Not reported | 106 |
| Enrolled | 19 | 16 | Not reported | 35 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
Fall Closing Date: Month15
Spring Closing Date: Month1
Fall Rolling AdmissionX
Spring Rolling AdmissionX
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:60
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)76%
Percent of males who join fraternities58%
Percent of females who join sororities65%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)72%
Percent of males who join fraternities28%
Percent of females who join sororities36%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing80%
Percent who live off campus or commute20%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 50450 | 50450 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 1049 | 474 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
Minimum19
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?Yes
Financial Aid
9 TABLESAcademic Year2017-2018 estimated
Federal$4,958,717
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$71,374,983
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$3,158,816
Total Scholarships/Grants$80,648,888
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$12,931,284
Federal Work-Study$3,864,500
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$386,912
Total Self-Help$17,182,696
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$44,636,572
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,759,849
Total Scholarships/Grants$47,396,421
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$9,651,488
Total Self-Help$9,651,488
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.945
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms:X
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Month1
Priority date for filing required financial aid forms: Day15
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms:X
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Month):2
Deadline for filing required financial aid forms (Day):1
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):20
Students must reply by (date): Month5
Students must reply by (date): Day1
AcademicsX
ArtX
LeadershipX
Music/dramaX
State/district residencyX
State/district residencyX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:We meet 100% of demonstrated need for incoming students. Case W estern Reserve University / Common Data Set 2018-19
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio11.1
based on ____ students7,631
and ____ faculty688
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0.50% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | 0.05% | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.43% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 5.75% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 0.43% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 33.22% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.63% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.06% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.28% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.21% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.79% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.84% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 28% |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.68% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.50% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.68% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 4.97% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.95% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 2.27% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 5.61% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 10.15% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.00% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.