Carleton College
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for Carleton College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$75,525
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
90%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$25,407
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$16,750
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
189numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESIf yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://apps.carleton.edu/campus/ira/CDS1
Source of institutional control (Check only one):Private (nonprofit)
Classify your undergraduate institution:Coeducational college
Academic year calendar:Trimester
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 56 | 225 | 234 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 48 | 0 | 0 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 28 | 100 | 101 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 281 | 1195 | 1221 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | Not reported | 2 | 2 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 54 | 188 | 190 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 43 | 152 | 155 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 15 | 34 | 36 |
| Total | 525 | 2069 | 2119 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | 0 |
| Associate degrees | 0 |
| Bachelor's degrees | 0 |
| Postbachelor's certificates | 461 |
| Master's degrees | 0 |
| Post-master's certificates | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 0 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 0 |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total completers | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Did not persist | 2015 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 2015 | 13 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 150 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 94.9% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 3607 | 3775 | Not reported | 7,382 |
| Admitted | 682 | 718 | Not reported | 1,400 |
| Enrolled | 253 | 272 | Not reported | 525 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 272 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 0 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units4
Mathematics3
Science3
Of these, units that must be lab1
Foreign language3
Social studies3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | Yes | — | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | Yes | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | Yes | — |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | Yes | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | Yes | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | Yes | — | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | Yes | — |
| State residency | — | — | Yes | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Volunteer work | — | Yes | — | — |
| Work experience | — | Yes | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 3 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1380 | 1520 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 670 | 750 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 690 | 790 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 31 | 34 | Not reported |
| ACT math | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class70.8
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class93.4
Percent in top half of high school graduating class100
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class0
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class0
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 year
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?Yes
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 113 | 121 | Not reported | 234 |
| Admitted | 10 | 9 | Not reported | 19 |
| Enrolled | 4 | 5 | Not reported | 9 |
Does your institution enroll transfer students? (If no, please skip to Section E)Yes
If yes, may transfer students earn advanced standing credit by transferring credits earned from course work completed at other colleges/universities?Yes
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:D9 List application priority, closing, notification, and candidate reply dates for transfer students. If applications are reviewed on a continuous or rolling basis, place a check mark in the “Rolling admission” column.
Fall Closing Date: Month31
Fall Closing Date:Day15
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:108
American Council on Education (ACE)No
College Level Examination Program (CLEP)No
DANTES Subject Standardized Tests (DSST)No
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:CDS-D Page 14 Common Data Set 2019-2020 E. ACADEM IC OFFERINGS AND POLICIES E1 Special study options: Identify those programs available at your institution. Refer to the glossary for definitions. E1 Accelerated program X E1 Cooperative education program E1 Cross-registration X E1 Distance learning E1 Double major X E1 Dual enrollment X E1 English as a Second Language (ESL) E1 Exchange student program (domestic) E1 External degree program E1 Honors Program E1 Independent study X E1 Internships X E1 Liberal arts/career combination E1 Student-designed major X E1 Study abroad X E1 Teacher certification program X E1 W eekend college E1 Other (specify): Senior capstone course or project ("Comps") X E2 This question has been removed from the Common Data Set. E3 Areas in which all or most students are required to complete some course work prior to graduation: E3 Arts/fine arts X E3 Computer literacy E3 English (including composition) X E3 Foreign languages X E3 History E3 Humanities X E3 Mathematics E3 Philosophy E3 Sciences (biological or physical) X E3 Social science X E3 Other (describe): Quantitative Reasoning, Global Citizenship, First-Year Seminar X
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)85%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)83%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing96%
Percent who live off campus or commute4%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://www.carleton.edu/admissions/apply/afford/aid-estimators/npc/
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Minimum2
Do tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Financial Aid
6 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$1,346,095
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$43,455,186
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,768,050
Total Scholarships/Grants$47,050,010
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$5,192,833
Federal Work-Study$1,127,410
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$2,018,375
Total Self-Help$8,338,618
Parent Loans$920,946
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$443,846
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,056,616
Total Scholarships/Grants$1,500,462
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$170,991
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$1,621,935
Total Self-Help$1,792,926
Parent Loans$248,000
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.460
If institutional financial aid is available for undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents, provide the number of undergraduate degree-seeking nonresidents who were awarded need-based or non-need-based aid:79
AcademicsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:CDS-H Page 23 Common Data Set 2019-2020
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio9
based on ____ students2,019
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 1.2% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.3% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 10.3% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.9% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 4.7% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 9.0% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 8.6% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.8% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.5% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 14.1% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 7.6% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 19.5% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 8.6% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 3.9% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.0% | 0.0% | 100.0% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.