California Institute of Technology
2018-19
The 2018-19 Common Data Set for California Institute of Technology — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
The numbers, as published
140numbers from this report.
Enrollment And Persistence
3 TABLESB1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total full-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total part-time students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Grand total all students | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 2233 |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 17 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 42 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 4 | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 62 | Not reported | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 83 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 23 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 231 | Not reported | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 0 | 0 | 9 | 9 |
| Did not persist | 0 | 0 | 1 | 1 |
| Final cohort | 27 | 1 | 235 | 263 |
| Completed in less than four years | 23 | 1 | 188 | 212 |
| Completed in less than five years | 3 | 0 | 18 | 21 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | 0 | 9 | 12 |
| Total completers | 26 | 1 | 215 | 242 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 84.0% | 100.0% | 89.6% | 89.3% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 5866 | 2342 | Not reported | 8,208 |
| Admitted | 259 | 284 | Not reported | 543 |
| Enrolled | 124 | 107 | Not reported | 231 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 107 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units3
Mathematics4
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab1
Social studies1
History1
Total academic units4
Science4
Foreign language3
Social studies3
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | — | Yes | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | Yes | — | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | — | — | — | Yes |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 68 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 740 | 780 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 790 | 800 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 35 | 36 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 35 | 36 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 35 | 36 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Total0
Amount of application fee:75
Student Life
2 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)59%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing100%
Percent who live off campus or commute0%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)63%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing86%
Percent who live off campus or commute14%
Percent of students age 25 and older1%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Annual Expenses
1 TABLEDo tuition and fees vary by undergraduate instructional program?No
Financial Aid
4 TABLESAcademic Year2018-2019 estimated
Federal$888,320
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$21,148,908
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$264,147
Total Scholarships/Grants$22,455,803
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$1,154,125
Federal Work-Study$727,979
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$105,905
Total Self-Help$1,988,009
Parent Loans$25,938
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$5,000
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$233,167
Total Scholarships/Grants$238,167
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$427,641
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$5,000
Total Self-Help$432,641
Parent Loans$334,353
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$471,258
Athletic Awards$0
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:##
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio3
based on ____ students2,016
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 25% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 37% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 26% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 100.00% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.