California State University-Long Beach
2021-22
The 2021-22 Common Data Set for California State University-Long Beach — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$64,403
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
69%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$10,440
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$14,289
federal loans only
FSA
10%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
376numbers from this report.
General Information
4 TABLESOffice:Institutional Research and Analytics
Email Address:Click or tap here to enter text.
Are your responses to the CDS posted for reference on your institution's Website?Yes
If yes, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.csulb.edu/institutional-research-
Main Phone Number (Area Code)562
Main Phone Number:985-4111
WWW Home Page Address:https://www.csulb.edu/
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):562
Admissions Phone Number:985-5471
Admissions Email Address:Click or tap here to enter text.
If there is a separate URL for your school’s online application, please specify:https://calstate.liaisoncas.com/applicant-ux/#/login
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Doctoral degree – professional practiceX
Doctoral degree -- otherX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 152 | 1892 | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 2478 | 15720 | Not reported |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 183 | 1240 | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 636 | 5319 | Not reported |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 5 | 29 | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 1147 | 7147 | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 7 | 79 | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 202 | 1456 | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 55 | 723 | Not reported |
| Total | 4865 | 33605 | Not reported |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 1630 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | 13 |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2262 | 492 | 1645 | 4399 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Final cohort | 2262 | 492 | 1645 | 4399 |
| Completed in less than four years | 651 | 209 | 646 | 1506 |
| Completed in less than five years | 830 | 132 | 509 | 1471 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Total completers | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2262 | 492 | 1645 | 4399 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 2262 | 492 | 1645 | 4399 |
| Completed in less than four years | 651 | 209 | 646 | 1506 |
| Completed in less than five years | 830 | 132 | 509 | 1471 |
| Completed in less than six years | 196 | 30 | 199 | 345 |
| Total completers | 1677 | 371 | 1274 | 3322 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 74.1% | 75.4% | 77.4% | 75.5% |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 |
| Completed program in less than two years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers out | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 87.32% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 26399 | 40592 | Not reported | 66,991 |
| Admitted | 11573 | 19839 | Not reported | 31,412 |
| Enrolled | 1828 | 2890 | Not reported | 4,718 |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | 2890 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 57 | 81 | Not reported | Not reported |
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Academic electives1
Computer Science0
Visual/Performing Arts0
Other (specify)1
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | Yes | — | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | Yes | — | — | — |
| Application essay | Yes | — | — | — |
| Recommendations | Yes | — | — | — |
| Interview | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Extracurricular activities | Yes | — | — | — |
| Talent or ability | Yes | — | — | — |
| Character and personal qualities | Yes | — | — | — |
| First generation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Alumni relation | Yes | — | — | — |
| Geographical residence | Yes | — | — | — |
| State residency | Yes | — | — | — |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | Yes | — | — | — |
| Volunteer work | Yes | — | — | — |
| Work experience | Yes | — | — | — |
| Level of applicant interest | Yes | — | — | — |
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 0 | 0 |
| ACT | 0 | 0 |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: Below 60
Percent who had GPA of 4.025
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9925.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7422.1
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4914.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.248.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.993.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490.2
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Amount of application fee:55
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:Does your institution allow high school students to enroll as full-time,
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 13793 | 19924 | Not reported | 33717 |
| Admitted | 5424 | 7539 | Not reported | 12963 |
| Enrolled | 1829 | 2621 | Not reported | 4450 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESDouble majorX
Dual enrollmentX
English as a Second Language (ESL)X
Honors ProgramX
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
HumanitiesX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)2%
Percent who live off campus or commute73%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)1%
Percent who live off campus or commute92%
Percent of students age 25 and older17%
Average age of full-time students18.4
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.4
Average age of full-time students21.9
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22.5
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Special housing for international studentsX
Theme housingX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 5742 | 5742 |
| Tuition: in-state | 5742 | 5742 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 16038 | 16038 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 16038 | 16038 |
| Required fees | 1142 | 1142 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1092 | 1092 | 1092 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1134 | 1434 | 1334 |
| Other expenses | 2140 | 2172 | 2468 |
Financial Aid
8 TABLESH2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 34 | 379 | 27 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 4183 | 2929 | 2632 |
| Athletic grant recipients | 56 | 247 | 0 |
| Average athletic grant | 11522 | 11450 | 0 |
Academic Year2021-2022 estimated
Federal$91,609,063
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$77,195,530
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$52,182,900
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,029,200
Total Scholarships/Grants$223,016,693
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$158,041,723
Federal Work-Study$6,408,177
Total Self-Help$164,449,900
Parent Loans$536,829
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$925,334
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$2,046,308
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$1,797,546
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$750,385
Total Scholarships/Grants$4,594,239
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$19,177,534
Total Self-Help$19,177,534
Parent Loans$1,495,704
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$1,902,812
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Degree-seeking undergraduates | 4726 | 28189 | 5416 |
| Applied for need-based aid | 4385 | 24047 | 3562 |
| Determined to have financial need | 3471 | 21184 | 3288 |
| Awarded any aid | 3430 | 20899 | 3128 |
| Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid | 3308 | 19934 | 2808 |
| Awarded need-based self-help aid | 3330 | 20078 | 2955 |
| Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid | 65 | 347 | 34 |
| Need fully met | 543 | 2295 | 361 |
| Average percentage of need met | 76.0 | 75.0 | 63.0 |
| Average financial aid package | 14143 | 14074 | 12067 |
| Average need-based scholarship or grant | 10463 | 9991 | 8849 |
| Average need-based self-help award | 4374 | 4971 | 4673 |
| Average need-based loan | 3438 | 4672 | 4545 |
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.3,193
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
| Measure | Number in class | Percent of class | Average per borrower |
|---|---|---|---|
| Any loan program | 1325 | 41.00 | 19275 |
| Federal loan programs | 1309 | 41.00 | 18578 |
| Institutional loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| State loan programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Private student loans | 75 | 2.00 | 16175 |
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details: Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? ☐ Yes ☒ No Common Data Set 2021-2022
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLESI1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 1018 | 1436 | 2454 |
| Members of minority groups | 387 | 497 | 884 |
| Females | 537 | 780 | 1317 |
| Males | 480 | 652 | 1132 |
| Nonresidents | 27 | 12 | 39 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 828 | 590 | 1418 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 169 | 704 | 873 |
| Bachelor's degree | 15 | 113 | 128 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 6 | 29 | 35 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 66 | 148 | 214 |
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio26
based on ____ students8
and ____ faculty89
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | 370 | 264 |
| 10-19 students | 370 | 264 |
| 20-29 students | 935 | 782 |
| 30-39 students | 1682 | 916 |
| 40-49 students | 1377 | 188 |
| 50-99 students | 368 | 28 |
| 100+ students | 170 | 14 |
| Total | 211 | 1 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
1 TABLEJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 0.60% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.53% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 5.88% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.41% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 7.56% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.72% |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.36% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.48% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.65% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 3.19% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.12% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.14% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | 4.08% |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.73% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 1.07% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 5.52% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | 3.29% |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 0.71% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 7.75% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 10.34% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 7.54% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 18.32% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.75% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.