California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt

2022-23

The 2022-23 Common Data Set for California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Jan 30, 2023. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

89.9%

Applications

9,144

Admitted

8,218

Enrolled

913

SAT Math

510-613

SAT Reading

530-660

ACT Composite

21-24

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$47,626
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
49%
6-year completion
Average net price
$13,171
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$18,000
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report355numbers from this report.

General Information

5 TABLES
Respondent Information
First Name:Seth
Last Name:Bradley
Title:Research Analyst
ZipcodeC ode 95521
Country:United States
Phone:707/826-5338
Other
City:Arcata
Address Information
Name of College/University:California State Polytechnic University, Humboldt
CityArcata
ZipC ode 95521
Country:United States
Main Phone Number (Area Code)707
Main Phone Number:826-3011
Admissions Office
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):707
Admissions Phone Number:826-4402
Academic Year
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://diversity.humboldt.edu/

Enrollment And Persistence

4 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking333352Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking12161737Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seeking19442607Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents54554
Hispanic/Latino20011611190
Black or African American, non-Hispanic42211216
White, non-Hispanic54028132841
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic17151153
Asian, non-Hispanic37177185
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic84141
Two or more races, non-Hispanic101497503
Race and/or ethnicity unknown11119120
Total96152155303
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma26
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degreesNot reported
Postbachelor's certificatesNot reported
Master's degrees196
Post-master's certificatesNot reported
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarshipNot reported
Doctoral degrees, professional practiceNot reported
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort7652004351400
Did not persist0000
Final cohort7652004351400
Completed in less than four years1444497285
Completed in less than five years15940103302
Completed in less than six years45122784
Total completers34896227671
Six-year graduation rate45.50%48.00%52.00%47.90%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

5 TABLES
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied36955449Not reported9,144
Admitted33014917Not reported8,218
Enrolled395518Not reported913
Enrolled full-time395518Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time1515Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units15.00
English4.00
Mathematics3.00
Science2.00
Of these, units that must be lab2.00
Foreign language2.00
Social studies1.00
History1.00
Academic electives1.00
Computer Science1.00
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT19.15184
ACT2.7126
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT compositeNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
SAT evidence-based reading and writing530600660
SAT math510560613
ACT composite212424
ACT math172124
ACT English212527
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80012.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69941.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59929.0
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49917.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3990.6
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Math: 700-8004.9
SAT Math: 600-69929.4
SAT Math: 500-59944.6
SAT Math: 400-49916.3
SAT Math: 300-3994.9
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Composite: 1400-16005.4
SAT Composite: 1200-139936.4
SAT Composite: 1000-119939.7
SAT Composite: 800-99914.7
SAT Composite: 600-7993.8
SAT Composite: 400-5990
ACT Composite: 30-363.9
ACT Composite: 24-2957.7
ACT Composite: 18-2326.9
ACT Composite: 12-1711.5
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent who had GPA of 4.017.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9916.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7415.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4918.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2414.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9913.9
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.492.9
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.1
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Admission Policies
Amount of application fee:70
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Are first-time, first-year students accepted for terms other than the fall?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:-
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?Yes

Transfer Admission

2 TABLES
Application for Admission
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
Transfer Credit Policies
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://registrar.humboldt.edu/transfer-credit

Student Life

3 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)9%
Percent of males who join fraternities1%
Percent of females who join sororities1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing87%
Percent who live off campus or commute13%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)6%
Percent of males who join fraternities1%
Percent of females who join sororities1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing38%
Percent who live off campus or commute62%
Percent of students age 25 and older26%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18.2
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18.2
Average age of full-time students22.4
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)22.8
Activities Offered
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Pep bandX
Radio stationX
Student newspaperX
YearbookX

Annual Expenses

5 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://finaid.humboldt.edu/calculator/
Public Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
TuitionNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-district5742.005742.00
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-state17622.0017622.00
Tuition: nonresident17622.0017622.00
Required fees2122.002122.00
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
All Institutions Expenses
Estimated Expenses
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
G5 estimated expenses. Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
MeasureResidentsCommuters living at homeCommuters not living at home
Books and supplies1090.001090.001090.00
Food onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Housing onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing totalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation1158.001158.001158.00
Other expenses2204.002204.002204.00
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
Out-of-state:$396

Financial Aid

8 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipientsNot reported21031
Average institutional non-need grantNot reported9511038
Athletic grant recipientsNot reported894
Average athletic grantNot reported60031822
Reporting Year
Academic Year2022-2023 estimated
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$13,007,859
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$7,418,626
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$9,629,624
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,253,454
Total Scholarships/Grants$31,309,563
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$19,730,385
Federal Work-Study$814,081
Total Self-Help$20,544,466
Parent Loans$376,041
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$136,876
Athletic Awards$516,679
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$180,083
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$449,721
Total Scholarships/Grants$629,804
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$6,120,954
Total Self-Help$6,120,954
Parent Loans$1,373,348
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$537,592
Students Awarded Aid
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2 students awarded aid. Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Degree-seeking undergraduatesNot reported4593622
Applied for need-based aidNot reported4017460
Determined to have financial needNot reported3335408
Awarded any aidNot reported3314396
Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aidNot reported2872314
Awarded need-based self-help aidNot reported2892332
Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aidNot reported6813
Need fully metNot reported39948
Average percentage of need metNot reported79.0070.00
Average financial aid packageNot reported1641913420
Average need-based scholarship or grantNot reported94945617
Average need-based self-help awardNot reported68087612
Average need-based loanNot reported7828.09301.0
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.653
Source Type Loan
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
H5 student loans. Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
MeasureNumber in classPercent of classAverage per borrower
Any loan program42365.0023195
Federal loan programs41964.0021484
Institutional loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
State loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Private student loansNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Institutional Aid
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic? տ Yes տտ No Common Data Set 2022-2023 I. INST RUCTIONAL FACULT Y AND CLASS SIZE I-1. Please report the num ber of instru ctional facult y members in each categ ory for Fall 2022. Include faculty who are on your institution’s payroll on the census date your institution uses for IPEDS/AAUP. The following definition of full-time instructional faculty is used by the American Association of University Profes sors (AAUP) in its annual Fac ulty Compensation Survey (the part time definitions are not used by AAUP). Instructional Faculty is defined as those members of the instructional-research staff whose major regular assignment is instruction, including those with released time for research. Use the chart below to determine inclusions and exclus ions: Full-time Part- time Include only Instructional faculty in preclinical and clinical medicine, faculty w ho are not if they teach A paid (e. g., those who donat e their services or are in the military), or research- Excludeone or more only faculty, post-doctoral fellows, or pre-doctoral fellows no n-clin ica l credit courses Include if Administrative officers with titles such as dean of students, librar ian, registrar, they teach B coach, and the like, even though they may devote part of their time to Exclude one or more classroom instruction and may have faculty status no n-clin ica l credit courses C Other administrators/staff w ho teach one or more non-c linical credit courses Exclude Include even though they do not have faculty status D Undergraduate or graduate students w ho assist in the instruction of courses, ExcludeExclude but have titles such as teaching assistant, teaching fellow, and the like E Faculty on sabbat ical or leave with pay Include Exclude F Faculty on leave without pay Exclude Exclude G Replacement faculty for faculty on sabbatical leave or leave w ith payExclude Include Full-time instru ctional faculty: faculty employed on a full-t ime basis for instruction (inc luding t hose wit h released time for research) Part-tim e inst ruct ional faculty: Adjunc ts and other ins tructors being paid s olely for part-time classroom instr uction. Also includes full-time faculty teaching less than two s emesters, three quarters, two trimesters, or two four -month sessions. Employees who are not consider ed full-time instruction faculty but who teach one or mor e non-clinical credit courses may be counted as part-time faculty. Minority faculty: includes faculty who designate themselves as Black, non-Hispanic; American Indian or Alaska Native; Asian, N ative Haw aiian or other Pacific Islander, or Hispanic. Doctorate: includes such degrees as Doctor of Philosophy, Doctor of Education, Doctor of J uridical Science, and Doctor of Public Health in any field such as arts, sciences, education, engineering, business, and public administration. Also includes terminal degr ees former ly designated as “first professional,” including dentistry (DD S or DMD), medicine (MD), optometry (OD), osteopathic medic ine (DO), phar macy (DPharm or BPharm), podiatric medicine (DPM), veterinary medicine (DVM), chiropractic (DC or DCM), or law (JD). Terminal master’s degree: a master ’s degr ee that is considered the highest degree in a field: example, M. Arch (in architecture) and MFA ( master of fine arts in art or theater). Common Data Set 2022-2023 Full-time Pa rt - time Total A Total number of instructional faculty 235 287 522 B Total number w ho are members of minority groups 67 82 149 C Total number w ho ar e women 118 189 307 D Total number w ho ar e men 117 98 215 E Total number who are nonresidentV (international) 9 211 F Total number with doctor ate, or other terminal degree 232 71 303 G Total number w hose highes t degree is a master’s but not a 2 139 121 terminal master’s H Total n umb er w hose h ig hes t degr ee is a bachelor’s 0 64 64 I Total number w hose highes t degree is unknow n or other (Note: 1 13 14 Items f, g, h, and i must sum up to item a.) J Total number in stand-alone graduate/professional programs in 0 00 which f aculty t each virtually only graduate-level students I-2. Student to Faculty Ratio Report the F all 2022 ratio of full-time equivalent students (full-time plus 1/3 part time) to full-time equivalent instructional faculty (full t ime plus 1/3 part t ime). In the ratio calculat ions, exclude both f aculty and students in stand-alone graduate or pr ofessional programs such as medic ine, law, veterinary, dentistry, social work, business, or public health in which faculty teach virtually only graduate level students. x Do not count undergraduate or graduate student teaching assistants as faculty. Fall 2022 Student t o Faculty ratio: 17 to 1 (based on 5275 students and 315 faculty) Common Data Set 2022-2023 I-3. Underg raduate Class Size In the table below, please use the following definitions to report information about the size of classes and class sections offered in the Fall 2022 term. 9 Please include classes th at have been moved online in response to the CO VID-19 pandemic. Class Sections: A class section is an organized course offered for credit, identified by discipline and number, meeting at a stated time or times in a classroom or s imilar setting, and not a subsection such as a laboratory or discussion session. U ndergraduat e class sections are defined as any sections in w hich at least one degree-seeking under graduate student is enrolled for credit. Exclude distance learning classes and noncredit classes and indiv idual instruction such as dissertation or thesis research, music instruction, or one-to-one readings. Exclude students in independent study, co-oper ative programs, inter nships , foreign language taped tutor sessions, practicums, and all students in one-on-one c lasses. Each class section s hould be counted only onc e and should not be duplicated because of course catalog cross-listings. Class Subsections: A class subsection includes any subsection of a course, such as laboratory, recitation, and discussion subsections that are supplementary in nature and ar e scheduled to meet separately from th e lecture portion of the course. Undergraduate subsections are defined as any subsections of courses in which degree- seeking undergraduate students enr olled for credit. As above, exclude noncredit classes and individual instruction such as dissertat ion or thesis research, music instruction, or one-t o-one readings. Each class subsection should b e counted only once and should not be duplicated because of cross -listings. Using the above definitions, please r eport for each of the following class-size intervals the number of class sections and class subsections offer ed in Fall 2022. For example, a lect ure class wit h 800 s tudents who met at another time in 40 separate labs with 20 students should be counted once in the “100+” column in the c lass section column and 40 times under the “ 20-29” column of the c lass subsec tions table. Number of Class Sections with Underg raduates Enrolled Undergradu ate Class Size (provide numbers) 2-9 10-19 20-29 30-39 40-49 50-99 100+ Total CLASS 94 267 242 95 71 48 6 823 SECTIO NS 2-9 10-19 20-29 30-39 40-49 50-99 100+ Total CLASS SUB- 22 123 202 70 1 0 355 SECTIO NS Common Data Set 2022-2023

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

1 TABLE
Instructional Faculty
I1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
I1 instructional faculty. Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
MeasureFull-timePart-timeTotal
Total instructional faculty235287522
Members of minority groups6782149
Females118189307
Males11798215
Nonresidents9211
Doctorate or other terminal degree23271303
Master's, but not terminal master's2139121
Bachelor's degree06464
Unknown or other highest degree11314
Stand-alone graduate/professional programs000

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reported17.06%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EngineeringNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reported0.00%
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reported0.81%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reported0.00%
EnglishNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported3.82%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reported0.00%
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported9.90%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported1.45%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported0.32%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reported0.00%
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported3.66%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported10.33%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported5.97%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reported0.00%
Precision productionNot reportedNot reported0.00%
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported6.24%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reported0.01%
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1.62%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0.00%0.00%99.48%

Source Document