California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt

2021-22

The 2021-22 Common Data Set for California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: May 18, 2022. Subscribe via RSS.

Flat PDFDownload PDFDownload spreadsheetCSV

Acceptance Rate

91.1%

Applications

7,025

Admitted

6,398

Enrolled

609

SAT Composite

1022.5-1257.5

SAT Math

500-608

SAT Reading

520-653

ACT Composite

22-28.5

§ Federal outcomes

Federal outcomes

Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.

Median earnings
$47,626
10 yrs after enrollment
Graduation rate
49%
6-year completion
Average net price
$13,171
sticker minus grants
Median debt at grad.
$18,000
federal loans only

The numbers, as published

§ This report461numbers from this report.

Enrollment And Persistence

5 TABLES
Institutional Enrollment
B1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 undergraduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking244365Not reportedNot reported
Full-time other first-year degree-seeking277387Not reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seeking13321972Not reportedNot reported
Full-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other first-year degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total undergraduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported5201
B1 graduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 graduate enrollment. Full-time, part-time, and total graduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Full-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Full-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time first-time degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time all other degree-seekingNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time other credit-course graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Part-time total graduatesNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total graduate studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported538
B1 overall enrollment
Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
B1 overall enrollment. Institution-wide full-time, part-time, and total enrollment by reported sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknownTotal
Total full-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total part-time studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Grand total all studentsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported5739
Enrollment by Racial/Ethnic Category
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity. Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
MeasureFirst-time first-yearDegree-seeking undergraduatesTotal undergraduates
Nonresidents46060
Hispanic/Latino1363737
Black or African American, non-Hispanic23220222
White, non-Hispanic35426252627
American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic11137137
Asian, non-Hispanic17172176
Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic33737
Two or more races, non-Hispanic72501504
Race and/or ethnicity unknown9149149
Total62951815199
Persistence
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
B3 degrees awarded. Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
MeasureNumber awarded
Certificate/diploma18
Associate degreesNot reported
Bachelor's degrees1648
Postbachelor's certificates18
Master's degrees192
Post-master's certificatesNot reported
Doctoral degrees, research/scholarshipNot reported
Doctoral degrees, professional practiceNot reported
Doctoral degrees, otherNot reported
Graduation Rates
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B4 current graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort7652004351400
Did not persistNot reportedNot reportedNot reported0
Final cohort7652004351400
Completed in less than four years1444497285
Completed in less than five years15940103302
Completed in less than six years43112781
Total completers34695227668
Six-year graduation rate45%48%52%48%
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
B5 previous graduation-rate cohort. Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
MeasurePell GrantSubsidized Stafford, no PellNeither Pell nor subsidized StaffordTotal
Initial cohort7451884311364
Did not persistNot reportedNot reportedNot reported0
Final cohort7451884311364
Completed in less than four years13045126301
Completed in less than five years15529103287
Completed in less than six years57142394
Total completers34288252682
Six-year graduation rate46%47%58%50%
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates. Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
MeasureCurrent cohortPrevious cohort
Initial cohortNot reportedNot reported
Did not persistNot reportedNot reported
Final cohort00
Completed program in less than two yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than two years at 150% time150Not reported
Completed program in less than four yearsNot reportedNot reported
Completed program in less than four years at 150% time150Not reported
Transfers outNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to two-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Transfers to four-year institutionsNot reportedNot reported
Retention Rates
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
B22 first-year retention. First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
MeasureValue
Entering cohortNot reported
Still enrolled next fallNot reported
Retention rate73.70%

First-Time, First-Year Admission

7 TABLES

Entrance Exams

SATX
Does your institution make use of SAT or ACT scores in admission decisions for first-time, first-year, degree-seeking applicants?No
Applications
C1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
C1 first-year admissions. First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
MeasureMalesFemalesUnknown sexTotal
Applied27684257Not reported7,025
Admitted24783920Not reported6,398
Enrolled244365Not reported609
Enrolled full-timeNot reported365Not reportedNot reported
Enrolled part-time1010Not reportedNot reported
Admissions Requirements
Total academic units15
English4
Mathematics3
Science2
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language2
Social studies1
History1
Academic electives1
Computer Science1
Basis for Selection
C7 basis for selection
Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
C7 basis for selection. Relative importance of academic and nonacademic factors in first-year admissions decisions.
MeasureVery importantImportantConsideredNot considered
Rigor of secondary school recordYes
Class rankYes
Academic GPAYes
Standardized test scoresYes
Application essayYes
RecommendationsYes
InterviewYes
Extracurricular activitiesYes
Talent or abilityYes
Character and personal qualitiesYes
First generationYes
Alumni relationYes
Geographical residenceYes
State residencyYes
Religious affiliation or commitmentYes
Volunteer workYes
Work experienceYes
Level of applicant interestYes
First-time, first-year Profile
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
C9 test-score submission. Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
MeasurePercentNumber
SAT21134
ACT534
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
C9 test-score percentiles. Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
Measure25th percentile50th percentile75th percentile
SAT composite1022.5Not reported1257.5
SAT evidence-based reading and writing520Not reported653
SAT math500Not reported608
ACT composite22Not reported28.5
ACT math19.5Not reported26.5
ACT English22Not reported28
ACT WritingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ScienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
ACT ReadingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Other fields
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-8009.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69937.9
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59930.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-49920.5
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 300-3992.3
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-2990
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: Total100
SAT Math: 700-8003.7
SAT Math: 600-69926.1
SAT Math: 500-59946.3
SAT Math: 400-49918.7
SAT Math: 300-3995.2
SAT Math: 200-2990
SAT Math: Total100
SAT Composite: 1400-16005.3
SAT Composite: 1200-139929.3
SAT Composite: 1000-119944.4
SAT Composite: 800-99918.1
SAT Composite: 600-7993.0
SAT Composite: 400-5990
SAT Composite: Total100
ACT Composite: 30-3622.6
ACT Composite: 24-2938.7
ACT Composite: 18-2332.3
ACT Composite: 12-176.5
ACT Composite: 6-110
ACT Composite: Below 60
ACT Composite: Total100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class5
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class31
Percent in top half of high school graduating class71
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class29
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class5
Percent who had GPA of 4.016.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9914.5
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7417.3
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4915.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.2418.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.9913.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.493.7
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990.2
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Total100
Admission Policies
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
Application closing date (fall): Month4
Application closing date (fall): Day30
Priority Date: Month2
Priority Date: Day28
Yes, on a rolling basis:X
Must reply by May 1st or within____weeks if notified after6
Does your institution allow students to postpone enrollment after admission?No
Does your institution offer an early decision plan (an admission plan that permits students to apply and be notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date and that asks students to commit to attending if accepted) for first-time, first-year applicants for fall enrollment?No
Do you have a nonbinding early action plan whereby students are notified of an admission decision well in advance of the regular notification date but do not have to commit to attending your college?No
Other
If you have an application fee and an on-line application option, please indicate policy for students who apply on-line:X

Transfer Admission

2 TABLES
Application for Admission
High school transcriptRequired of Some
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementNot Required
InterviewNot Required
Standardized test scoresNot Required
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
If a minimum college grade point average is required of transfer applicants, specify (on a 4.0 scale):2.00
Describe additional requirements for transfer admission, if applicable:##
Report the lowest grade earned for any course that may be transferred for credit:2
Transfer Credit Policies
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:30
Describe other military/veteran transfer credit policies unique to your institution:Number Unit Type 70 90 Number Unit Type 30.00 X ##

Academic Offerings and Policies

2 TABLES
Special Study Options
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
InternshipsX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Required Course Work
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
HistoryX
MathematicsX
PhilosophyX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX

Student Life

4 TABLES
Percent Participating
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)7%
Percent of males who join fraternities1%
Percent of females who join sororities1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing84%
Percent who live off campus or commute16%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)6%
Percent of males who join fraternities1%
Percent of females who join sororities1%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing27%
Percent who live off campus or commute73%
Percent of students age 25 and older26%
Average Age
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students23
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)23
Activities Offered
Choral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Marching bandX
Model UNX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Pep bandX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Housing
Coed residence hallsX
Theme housingX
Wellness housingX

Annual Expenses

6 TABLES
Information
Please provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://finaid.humboldt.edu/calculator/
If your institution's 2026-2027 academic year costs of attendance are not available at this time please respond.X
Public Tuition
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
G1 undergraduate costs. Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
MeasureFirst-yearAll undergraduates
TuitionNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: in-district57425742
Tuition: in-stateNot reportedNot reported
Tuition: out-of-state1524615246
Tuition: nonresident1524615246
Required fees21222122
Food and housing, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Housing only, on-campusNot reportedNot reported
Food only, on-campus meal planNot reportedNot reported
Comprehensive tuition, food, and housingNot reportedNot reported
OtherNot reportedNot reported
All Institutions Expenses
Credits per Term
Minimum6
Estimated Expenses
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
G5 estimated expenses. Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
MeasureResidentsCommuters living at homeCommuters not living at home
Books and supplies109010901090
Food onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Housing onlyNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Food and housing totalNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation115811581158
Other expenses220422042204
Per-Credit-Hour Charges
Out-of-state:$396

Financial Aid

11 TABLES
Students Awarded Non-need-based Aid
H2A non-need-based aid
Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2A non-need-based aid. Non-need-based scholarship and grant aid recipients and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Institutional non-need grant recipients11244454
Average institutional non-need grant115214431917
Athletic grant recipients25971
Average athletic grant517655431000
Methodology
Federal methodology (FM)X
Need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$13,652,387
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$10,096,540
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$12,160,579
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,588,947
Total Scholarships/Grants$37,498,453
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$11,866,715
Federal Work-Study$651,125
Total Self-Help$12,517,840
Parent Loans$317,991
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$149,872
Athletic Awards$400,337
Non-need-based Aid Awarded
Federal$0
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$261,508
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$248,582
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$552,846
Total Scholarships/Grants$1,062,936
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,957,577
Total Self-Help$2,957,577
Parent Loans$1,072,696
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$0
Athletic Awards$525,974
Students Awarded Aid
H2 students awarded aid
Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
H2 students awarded aid. Need-based aid counts, need met, and average awards by undergraduate cohort.
MeasureFirst-year full-timeAll undergraduates full-timeAll undergraduates less-than-full-time
Degree-seeking undergraduates6094577604
Applied for need-based aid5274059466
Determined to have financial need3493507417
Awarded any aid3403451397
Awarded need-based scholarship or grant aid3303312371
Awarded need-based self-help aid1791935217
Awarded non-need-based scholarship or grant aid131068
Need fully met382820
Average percentage of need met67.068.053.0
Average financial aid package130261406910265
Average need-based scholarship or grant10377101326217
Average need-based self-help award255437423836
Average need-based loan511971747552
Graduating Cohort
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.776
Source Type Loan
H5 student loans
Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
H5 student loans. Graduating first-time student loan borrowers by loan source, share of class, and average per-borrower debt.
MeasureNumber in classPercent of classAverage per borrower
Any loan program55271.0023200
Federal loan programs54871.0021994
Institutional loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
State loan programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Private student loansNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Financial Aid Forms
FAFSAX
Financial Aid Notification
b) Students notified on a rolling basis:X
If yes, starting date (Month):3
If yes, starting date (Day):15
Aid Available
Federal Pell GrantsX
State scholarships/grantsX
Private scholarshipsX
College/university scholarship or grant aid from institutional fundsX
Institutional Aid
AcademicsX
Alumni affiliationX
AthleticsX
State/district residencyX
AcademicsX
AthleticsX
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:Are these policies related to the COVID-19 pandemic?

Instructional Faculty And Class Size

3 TABLES
Instructional Faculty
I1 instructional faculty
Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
I1 instructional faculty. Instructional faculty counts by full-time status and selected demographic or credential category.
MeasureFull-timePart-timeTotal
Total instructional faculty226264490
Members of minority groups7863141
Females114164278
Males112100212
Nonresidents729
Doctorate or other terminal degree21978297
Master's, but not terminal master's6124130
Bachelor's degree05454
Unknown or other highest degree189
Stand-alone graduate/professional programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Student to Faculty Ratio
Fall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio18
based on ____ students5,739
and ____ faculty314
Undergraduate Class Size
I3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
I3 undergraduate class size. Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
MeasureClass sectionsClass subsections
2-9 students9016
10-19 students9016
20-29 students224111
30-39 students226178
40-49 students885
50-99 students620
100+ students370
Total4Not reported

Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred

3 TABLES
Diploma/Certificates
Associate
Bachelors
J degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
J degrees conferred by discipline. Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
MeasureCertificate/diplomaAssociateBachelor's
AgricultureNot reportedNot reported1%
Natural resources and conservationNot reportedNot reported17%
ArchitectureNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Area, ethnic, and gender studiesNot reportedNot reported2%
Communication/journalismNot reportedNot reported1%
Communication technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Computer and information sciencesNot reportedNot reported2%
Personal and culinary servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EducationNot reportedNot reported1%
EngineeringNot reportedNot reported2%
Engineering technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Foreign languages, literatures, and linguisticsNot reportedNot reported1%
Family and consumer sciencesNot reportedNot reported1%
Law/legal studiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
EnglishNot reportedNot reported4%
Liberal arts/general studiesNot reportedNot reported4%
Library scienceNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Biological/life sciencesNot reportedNot reported10%
Mathematics and statisticsNot reportedNot reported1%
Military science and military technologiesNot reportedNot reported28%
Interdisciplinary studiesNot reportedNot reported4%
Parks and recreationNot reportedNot reported7%
Philosophy and religious studiesNot reportedNot reported2%
Theology and religious vocationsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Physical sciencesNot reportedNot reported5%
Science technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
PsychologyNot reportedNot reported8%
Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective servicesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Public administration and social servicesNot reportedNot reported3%
Social sciencesNot reportedNot reported9%
Construction tradesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Mechanic and repair technologiesNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Precision productionNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Transportation and materials movingNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Visual and performing artsNot reportedNot reported7%
Health professions and related programsNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Business/marketingNot reportedNot reported8%
HistoryNot reportedNot reported1%
OtherNot reportedNot reportedNot reported
Total0.00%0.00%100.00%

Source Document