Butler University
2023-24
The 2023-24 Common Data Set for Butler University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$77,235
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
80%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$36,041
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$26,000
federal loans only
FSA
5%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
232numbers from this report.
General Information
6 TABLESFirst Name:Laura
Last Name:Daily
Title:Institutional Research Specialist
Office:Office of Institutional Research and Assessment
Address Line 1:4600 Sunset Ave
Zipcode46,208
Country:United States
Phone:317-940-9234
Email Address:oira_requests@butler.edu
City:Indianapolis
StateIndiana
Street Address Line 1:4600 Sunset Ave
CityIndianapolis
StateIndiana
Zip46,208
Country:United States
Main Phone Number (Area Code)800
Main Phone Number:368-6852
WWW Home Page Address:www.butler.edu
Admissions Phone Number (Area Code):317
Admissions Phone Number:940-8100
Admissions Email Address:admission@butler.edu
Post-master's certificateX
If you have a diversity, equity, and inclusion office or department, please provide the URL of the corresponding Web page:https://www.butler.edu/about-butler/diversity-equity-inclusion/
Enrollment And Persistence
2 TABLESB1 undergraduate enrollment
Full-time, part-time, and total undergraduate enrollment by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 460 | 691 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 55 | 42 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 1228 | 1837 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 1743 | 2570 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
B2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 6 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Hispanic/Latino | 90 | 299 | 302 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 57 | 193 | 194 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 893 | 3471 | 3578 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 5 | 5 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 41 | 175 | 179 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 59 | 163 | 174 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 4 | 28 | 29 |
| Total | 1151 | 4383 | 4519 |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLESC1 first-year admissions
First-time, first-year applicants, admits, and enrolled students by sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown sex | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 9,431 |
| Admitted | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 8,098 |
| Enrolled | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled full-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
In-state first-time, first-year who applied4,103
In-state first-time, first-year who were admitted3,431
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who applied4,959
Out-of-state first-time, first-year who were admitted4,523
Nonresident first-time, first-year who applied369
Nonresident first-time, first-year who were admitted144
Wait List
Number of qualified applicants offered a place on waiting list:2
Number accepting a place on the waiting list:0
Number of wait-listed students admitted:0
Total academic units12
English4
Mathematics3
Science3
Social studies2
Foreign language2
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1198 | Not reported | 1340 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 590 | 630 | 680 |
| SAT math | 590 | 630 | 680 |
| ACT composite | 26 | 28 | 31 |
| ACT math | 25 | 27 | 29 |
| ACT English | 25 | 28 | 32 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80018
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69955
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-59927
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4991
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-80016
SAT Math: 600-69956
SAT Math: 500-59927
SAT Math: 400-4991
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-160014
SAT Composite: 1200-139962
SAT Composite: 1000-119924
SAT Composite: 800-9991
SAT Composite: 600-799100
ACT Composite: 30-3638
ACT Composite: 24-2953
ACT Composite: 18-238
ACT Composite: 12-171
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Percent in top tenth of high school graduating class49.5
Percent in top quarter of high school graduating class71.6
Percent in top half of high school graduating class92.9
Percent in bottom half of high school graduating class7.1
Percent in bottom quarter of high school graduating class1.3
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school class rank:40.4
Percent who had GPA of 4.055
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9921.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.749.4
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.497.6
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.244.2
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.992
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.040.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9923.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7414.9
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4912.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.244.7
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.993
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent who had GPA of 4.047.7
Percent who had GPA between 3.75 and 3.9922.8
Percent who had GPA between 3.50 and 3.7412.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.25 and 3.4910.2
Percent who had GPA between 3.00 and 3.244.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.50 and 2.992.5
Percent who had GPA between 2.0 and 2.490
Percent who had GPA between 1.0 and 1.990
Percent who had GPA below 1.00
Percent of total first-time, first-year students who submitted high school GPA:99.4
Application closing date (fall): Month8
Application closing date (fall): Day1
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 198 | 328 | Not reported | 526 |
| Admitted | 97 | 160 | Not reported | 257 |
| Enrolled | 37 | 56 | Not reported | 93 |
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:Depending on program, might have additional steps,. Pre-reqs, or supplements to complete
Fall Closing Date: Month6
Spring Closing Date: Month11
Fall Closing Date:Day1
Spring Closing Date: Day1
If yes, please provide the URL where the policy can be located:https://www.butler.edu/admission-aid/veterans/
Academic Offerings and Policies
1 TABLEEnglish (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HistoryX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://app.meadowfi.com/butler
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 46570 | 46570 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 990.00 | 990.00 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | 17250.00 | 17250.00 |
| Housing only, on-campus | 9310.00 | 9310.00 |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | 7940.00 | 7940.00 |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1300.00 | 1300.00 | 1300.00 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | 17250.00 |
| Transportation | 1450.00 | 1450.00 | 1450.00 |
| Other expenses | 2330.00 | 2330.00 | 2330.00 |
Financial Aid
3 TABLESAcademic Year2023-2024 estimated
Federal$4,039,820
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$5,463,432
Total Scholarships/Grants$61,898,019
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$16,361,436
Federal Work-Study$527,500
Total Self-Help$9,488,105
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$41,407,396
Athletic Awards$4,542,777
State all states, not only the state in which your institution is located$55,300
Total Scholarships/Grants$45,557,829
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$9,488,105
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$9,488,105
Total Self-Help$9,488,105
Parent Loans$9,488,105
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$9,488,105
Athletic Awards$9,488,105
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio11
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 0.48% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 0.38% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | 9.70% | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.38% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 6.08% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 0.10% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 4.56% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 1.71% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.10% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.18% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.57% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.67% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.95% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 3.80% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 8.84% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 5.80% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 9.51% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 31.94% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.24% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.