Brandeis University
2019-20
The 2019-20 Common Data Set for Brandeis University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 19, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$77,231
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
86%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$35,736
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$25,648
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
238numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESMain Phone Number:(781) 736-2000
WWW Home Page Address:http://www.brandeis.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(781) 736-3500
Admissions Email Address:admissions@brandeis.edu
Bachelor'sX
Master'sX
Post-master's certificateX
Enrollment And Persistence
4 TABLESB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 174 | 729 | 730 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 71 | 306 | 306 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 49 | 194 | 194 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 382 | 1686 | 1688 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 3 | 3 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 137 | 526 | 526 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 0 | 6 | 6 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 34 | 140 | 140 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 15 | 88 | 95 |
| Total | 863 | 3678 | 3688 |
B3 degrees awarded
Degrees awarded by credential level in the reporting year.
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | 862 |
| Post-master's certificates | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | 77 |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | Not reported |
B4 current graduation-rate cohort
Four-year institution graduation-rate cohort counts and six-year graduation rates by aid-recipient category.
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 144 | 236 | 440 | 820 |
| Did not persist | 144 | 236 | 440 | Not reported |
| Final cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than four years | 102 | 204 | 351 | Not reported |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Completed in less than six years | 4 | 1 | 19 | Not reported |
| Total completers | 121 | 210 | 391 | Not reported |
| Six-year graduation rate | 84% | 89% | 89% | Not reported |
B12-B21 two-year graduation rates
Two-year institution graduation-rate cohort outcomes for the current and previous cohorts.
| Measure | Current cohort | Previous cohort |
|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 2015 | 12 |
| Did not persist | 12 | 13 |
| Final cohort | 2015 | 14 |
| Completed program in less than two years | 15 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than two years at 150% time | 16 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years | 17 | Not reported |
| Completed program in less than four years at 150% time | 18 | Not reported |
| Transfers out | 19 | Not reported |
| Transfers to two-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transfers to four-year institutions | Not reported | Not reported |
B22 first-year retention
First-time full-time bachelor's cohort retention count and rate.
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 93% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
3 TABLESTotal academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab2
Foreign language4
Social studies4
C9 test-score submission
Share and count of enrolled first-year students who submitted SAT or ACT scores.
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 64 | Not reported |
| ACT | Not reported | Not reported |
C9 test-score percentiles
Reported 25th, 50th, and 75th percentile scores for enrolled first-year students.
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1380 | 1490 | Not reported |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 660 | 730 | Not reported |
| SAT math | 690 | 790 | Not reported |
| ACT composite | 30 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT math | 27 | 33 | Not reported |
| ACT English | 32 | 35 | Not reported |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 700-80048.1
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 600-69946.8
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 500-5994.4
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 400-4990.7
SAT Evidence-Based Reading and Writing: 200-299100
SAT Math: 700-80073.6
SAT Math: 600-69921.9
SAT Math: 500-5994.2
SAT Math: 400-4990.4
SAT Math: 200-299100
SAT Composite: 1400-160069.8
SAT Composite: 1200-139926.6
SAT Composite: 1000-11992.9
SAT Composite: 800-9990.7
SAT Composite: 400-599100
ACT Composite: 30-3686.3
ACT Composite: 24-2912.3
ACT Composite: 18-231.4
ACT Composite: Below 6100
Average high school GPA of all degree-seeking, first-time, first-year students who submitted GPA:3.84
Amount of application fee:80
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:1 Year
Transfer Admission
4 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 289 | 328 | Not reported | 617 |
| Admitted | 49 | 77 | Not reported | 126 |
| Enrolled | 17 | 24 | Not reported | 41 |
Must a transfer applicant have a minimum number of credits completed or else must apply as an entering first-year student?Yes
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Required of All
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:___________________________________________________________________________________________ ___________________________________________________________________________________________ Common Data Set 2019-2020
Fall Closing Date: Month15
Spring Closing Date: Month1
Fall Closing Date:Day25
Spring Closing Date: Day1
Minimum number of credits that transfers must complete at your institution to earn a bachelor’s degree:64
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Cross-registrationX
Distance learningX
Double majorX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Student-designed majorX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
English (including composition)X
Foreign languagesX
HumanitiesX
Sciences (biological or physical)X
Social scienceX
Student Life
4 TABLESPercent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)72%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing99%
Percent who live off campus or commute1%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Percent who are from out of state (exclude international/nonresidents from the numerator and denominator)70%
Percent of males who join fraternities0%
Percent of females who join sororities0%
Percent who live in college-owned, -operated, or -affiliated housing76%
Percent who live off campus or commute24%
Percent of students age 25 and older0%
Average age of full-time students18
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)18
Average age of full-time students20
Average age of all students (full- and part-time)20
Campus MinistriesX
Choral groupsX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Literary magazineX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student newspaperX
YearbookX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Annual Expenses
4 TABLESPlease provide the URL of your institution’s net price calculator:https://npc.collegeboard.org/app/brandeis
G1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 55340 | 55340 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 2275 | 1890 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000 | 1000 | 1000 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 900 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | 1500 | 1500 | 1500 |
Financial Aid
5 TABLESAcademic Year2019-2020 estimated
Federal$3,941,686
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$62,585,787
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$1,725,666
Total Scholarships/Grants$68,868,343
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$8,943,573
Federal Work-Study$2,788,570
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$606,250
Total Self-Help$12,338,393
Parent Loans$1,687,724
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$227,446
Athletic Awards$0
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$7,860,763
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$2,350,479
Total Scholarships/Grants$10,211,242
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$3,674,138
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$341,505
Total Self-Help$4,015,643
Parent Loans$3,567,752
Tuition Waivers Note: Reporting is optional. Report tuition waivers in this row if you choose to report them. Do not report tuition waivers elsewhere.$786,724
Athletic Awards$0
Provide the number of students in the 2024 undergraduate class who started at your institution as first-time students and received a bachelor's degree between July 1, 2023 and June 30, 2024. Exclude students who transferred into your institution.857
If your institution has recently implemented any major financial aid policy, program, or initiative to make your institution more affordable to incoming students such as replacing loans with grants, or waiving costs for families below a certain income level please provide details:________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ __________________________________________________________________________________________________ Common Data Set 2019-2020
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEFall 2025 Student to Faculty ratio10
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
2 TABLESJ degrees conferred by discipline
Percentage distribution of degrees conferred by discipline and award level.
| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | 1% |
| Natural resources and conservation | 1.40% | Not reported | 3% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | 4% |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | 6.85% | Not reported | 5% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | 9% |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 6.15% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | 1.12% |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 1.26% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.66% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 14.41% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 5.80% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 1.33% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 3.01% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 6.85% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 6.71% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 22.59% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.92% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 9.30% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.89% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.