Bowdoin College
2003-04
The 2003-04 Common Data Set for Bowdoin College — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. See the school's page for these reports. This archive discovered the file on Apr 18, 2026. The school did not send Last-Modified and the file has no embedded date. Subscribe via RSS.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
SCORECARD
$82,735
10 yrs after enrollment
SCORECARD
95%
6-year completion
SCORECARD
$14,398
sticker minus grants
SCORECARD
$18,500
federal loans only
FSA
4%
as-of late May 2026 · not the official cohort default rate
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
110numbers from this report.
General Information
3 TABLESMain Phone Number:(207) 725-3000
WWW Home Page Address:www.bowdoin.edu
Admissions Phone Number:(207) 725-3100
Admissions Email Address:admissions@bowdoin.edu
Bachelor'sX
Enrollment And Persistence
1 TABLEB2 enrollment by race and ethnicity
Undergraduate enrollment by race or ethnicity for first-time first-year, degree-seeking, and total undergraduate cohorts.
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 15 | 52 | 54 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 25 | 83 | 83 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| White, non-Hispanic | 334 | 1216 | 1224 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 2 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 55 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 465 | 1636 | 1647 |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
2 TABLESTotal academic units20
English4
Mathematics4
Science4
Of these, units that must be lab3
Foreign language4
Social studies4
Amount of application fee:60
Can it be waived for applicants with financial need?Yes
If yes, maximum period of postponement:__12 months (one year)__
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESD2 transfer admissions
Transfer applicants, admits, and enrolled students by reported sex or status.
| Measure | Males | Females | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 80 | 80 | Not reported | 160 |
| Admitted | 4 | 13 | Not reported | 17 |
| Enrolled | 1 | 7 | Not reported | 8 |
High school transcriptRequired of All
College transcript(s)Required of All
Essay or personal statementRequired of All
InterviewRequired of All
Standardized test scoresRequired of All
Statement of good standing from prior institution(s)Not Required
List any other application requirements specific to transfer applicants:The criteria for evaluating transfer applicants are the same as for regular applicants. A statement from the Dean and 2 academic recommendations are required. Transfer applicants are encouraged to submit creative writing samples, art work, photography, musical tapes, etc. Candidates entering their junior year are given preference. Page 11 of 32 Common Data Set 2003-2004
Academic Offerings and Policies
2 TABLESAccelerated programX
Double majorX
Exchange student program (domestic)X
Independent studyX
InternshipsX
Liberal arts/career combinationX
Study abroadX
Teacher certification programX
Arts/fine artsX
HumanitiesX
PhilosophyX
Social scienceX
Student Life
2 TABLESChoral groupsX
Concert bandX
DanceX
Drama/theaterX
Jazz bandX
Literary magazineX
Music ensemblesX
Musical theaterX
OperaX
Radio stationX
Student governmentX
Student-run film societyX
Symphony orchestraX
Television stationX
YearbookX
Apartments for single studentsX
Special housing for disabled studentsX
Annual Expenses
3 TABLESG1 undergraduate costs
Published undergraduate tuition, required fees, and on-campus food and housing charges.
| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | 29470 | 29470 |
| Tuition: in-district | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: out-of-state | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: nonresident | Not reported | Not reported |
| Required fees | 650 | 650 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
G5 estimated expenses
Estimated books, supplies, transportation, food, housing, and personal expenses by living arrangement.
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 850 | 850 | 850 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | 1160 | 1160 | 1160 |
| Other expenses | 1160 | 1160 | 1160 |
Financial Aid
3 TABLESAcademic Year2003-2004 estimated
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$14,009,480
Scholarships/grants from external sources (e.g. Kiwanis, National Merit) not awarded by the college$762,803
Total Scholarships/Grants$15,769,918
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$2,074,144
Federal Work-Study$539,224
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$246,323
Total Self-Help$2,859,691
Parent Loans$0
Federal$0
Institutional: Endowed scholarships, annual gifts and tuition funded grants, awarded by the college, excluding athletic aid and tuition waivers (which are reported below).$114,250
Total Scholarships/Grants$194,053
Student loans from all sources (excluding parent loans)$921,084
State and other (e.g., institutional) work-study/employment (Note: Excludes Federal Work-Study captured above.)$313,503
Total Self-Help$1,234,587
Parent Loans$2,832,802
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
1 TABLEI3 undergraduate class size
Undergraduate class sections and subsections by enrollment size band.
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | Not reported |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 9 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 9 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 5 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 0 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 0 |
| Total | Not reported | 87 |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.