Binghamton University
2024-25
The 2024-25 Common Data Set for Binghamton University — admissions, cost, and aid, as the school published them. Download the original file. File date from the archived file's embedded modification date: Mar 17, 2025. Subscribe via RSS.
In its 2024-25 report, Binghamton University says 53,007 first-year students applied and 20,464 were admitted, an acceptance rate of 39%. 3,248 admitted students enrolled (16% yield). Enrolled students who sent scores had a middle-50% SAT of 1360–1480 and ACT of 31–34. Waitlist: 13,341 offered a spot, 4,272 accepted one, and 842 admitted from it.
How the class gets assembled.
This school does not report an Early Decision lane, so the flow collapses to the school-reported applicant, admit, and enrolled totals.
Each column is scaled within that stage. Labels show exact counts.
Exact admission data
| Path | Applicants | Admitted | Admit rate | Class seats | Note |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All applicants | 53,007 | 20,464 | 39% | 3,248 | School-reported totals. |
32% joined after being offered a spot. 20% of students who joined were admitted. 25% of applicants were offered the wait list.
Exact wait-list data
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Offered a wait-list spot | 13,341 |
| Accepted a wait-list spot | 4,272 |
| Admitted from wait list | 842 |
| Joined after being offered | 32% |
| Admitted after joining | 20% |
Wait-list outcomes can change sharply year to year.
Federal outcomes
Federal data from the U.S. Department of Education's College Scorecard, vintage 2022-23. Outcomes reflect earlier cohorts than the CDS year shown elsewhere on this page.
Nonpayment is the share of Direct Loan borrowers who entered repayment January 2020–May 2025 and were 90+ days delinquent at the FSA pull. It is not the official cohort default rate.
The numbers, as published
General Information
7 TABLESEnrollment And Persistence
6 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 1582 | 1658 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other first-year degree-seeking | 65 | 50 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 5194 | 5765 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total degree-seeking | 6841 | 7473 | 4 | 0 | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course undergraduates | 2 | 1 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total undergraduates | 6843 | 7474 | 4 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time first-year degree-seeking | 2 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other first-year degree-seeking | 19 | 9 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 161 | 143 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total degree-seeking | 182 | 155 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course undergraduates | 8 | 3 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total undergraduates | 190 | 158 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total undergraduates | 7631 | 7033 | 4 | Not reported | 14668 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Full-time first-time degree-seeking | 637 | Not reported | 638 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time all other degree-seeking | 626 | Not reported | 627 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time other credit-course graduates | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Full-time total graduates | 1266 | 1266 | Not reported | 0 | Not reported |
| Part-time first-time degree-seeking | 42 | 128 | 0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time all other degree-seeking | 685 | 735 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time other credit-course graduates | 11 | 13 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Part-time total graduates | 738 | 876 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Total graduate students | 2004 | 2142 | 1 | Not reported | 4147 |
| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grand total all students | 18815 | 8740 | 5 | 0 | 18815 |
| Measure | First-time first-year | Degree-seeking undergraduates | Total undergraduates |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nonresidents | 129 | 592 | 592 |
| Hispanic/Latino | 417 | 1978 | 1978 |
| Black or African American, non-Hispanic | 141 | 706 | 706 |
| White, non-Hispanic | 1660 | 7517 | 7524 |
| American Indian or Alaska Native, non-Hispanic | 1 | 5 | 5 |
| Asian, non-Hispanic | 668 | 2790 | 2791 |
| Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander, non-Hispanic | 1 | 5 | 5 |
| Two or more races, non-Hispanic | 146 | 633 | 634 |
| Race and/or ethnicity unknown | 85 | 428 | 433 |
| Total | 3248 | 14654 | 14668 |
| Measure | Number awarded |
|---|---|
| Certificate/diploma | Not reported |
| Associate degrees | Not reported |
| Bachelor's degrees | Not reported |
| Postbachelor's certificates | Not reported |
| Master's degrees | Not reported |
| Post-master's certificates | 101 |
| Doctoral degrees, research/scholarship | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, professional practice | Not reported |
| Doctoral degrees, other | 132 |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | 793 | 483 | 1630 | 2906 |
| Did not persist | 2 | 0 | 3 | 5 |
| Final cohort | 791 | 483 | 1627 | 2901 |
| Completed in less than four years | 512 | 385 | 1266 | 2163 |
| Completed in less than five years | 65 | 25 | 90 | 180 |
| Completed in less than six years | 14 | 8 | 14 | 36 |
| Total completers | 591 | 418 | 1370 | 2379 |
| Six-year graduation rate | 75% | 87% | 84% | 82% |
| Measure | Pell Grant | Subsidized Stafford, no Pell | Neither Pell nor subsidized Stafford | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Initial cohort | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Did not persist | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Final cohort | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Completed in less than four years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than five years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Completed in less than six years | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 |
| Total completers | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Six-year graduation rate | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Value |
|---|---|
| Entering cohort | Not reported |
| Still enrolled next fall | Not reported |
| Retention rate | 89.50% |
First-Time, First-Year Admission
5 TABLES| Measure | Men | Women | Another gender | Unknown gender | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Applied | 23527 | 29452 | 28 | Not reported | 53,007 |
| Admitted | 9217 | 11233 | 14 | Not reported | 20,464 |
| Enrolled full-time | 1582 | 1658 | 3 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled part-time | 2 | 3 | 0 | 0 | Not reported |
| Enrolled total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 3,248 |
Wait List
| Measure | Very important | Important | Considered | Not considered |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rigor of secondary school record | Yes | — | — | — |
| Class rank | — | Yes | — | — |
| Academic GPA | Yes | — | — | — |
| Standardized test scores | — | — | Yes | — |
| Application essay | — | Yes | — | — |
| Recommendations | — | — | Yes | — |
| Interview | — | — | — | Yes |
| Extracurricular activities | — | — | Yes | — |
| Talent or ability | — | — | Yes | — |
| Character and personal qualities | — | — | Yes | — |
| First generation | — | — | Yes | — |
| Alumni relation | — | — | — | Yes |
| Geographical residence | — | — | — | Yes |
| State residency | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Religious affiliation or commitment | — | — | — | Yes |
| Volunteer work | — | — | Yes | — |
| Work experience | — | — | Yes | — |
| Level of applicant interest | — | — | — | Yes |
| Measure | Percent | Number |
|---|---|---|
| SAT | 44 | 1423 |
| ACT | 9 | 297 |
| Measure | 25th percentile | 50th percentile | 75th percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAT composite | 1360 | 1420 | 1480 |
| SAT evidence-based reading and writing | 660 | 700 | 730 |
| SAT math | 680 | 720 | 760 |
| ACT composite | 31 | 32 | 34 |
| ACT math | 27 | 30 | 32 |
| ACT English | 30 | 33 | 35 |
| ACT Writing | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| ACT Reading | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Transfer Admission
2 TABLESStudent Life
4 TABLESAnnual Expenses
4 TABLES| Measure | First-year | All undergraduates |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition | Not reported | Not reported |
| Tuition: in-district | 7070 | 7070 |
| Tuition: in-state | 7070 | 7070 |
| Tuition: out-of-state | 26950 | 26950 |
| Tuition: nonresident | 26950 | 26950 |
| Required fees | 3497 | 3497 |
| Food and housing, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only, on-campus | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food only, on-campus meal plan | Not reported | Not reported |
| Comprehensive tuition, food, and housing | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported |
| Measure | Residents | Commuters living at home | Commuters not living at home |
|---|---|---|---|
| Books and supplies | 1000.00 | 1000.00 | 1000.00 |
| Food only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Housing only | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Food and housing total | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Other expenses | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial Aid
3 TABLES| Measure | First-year full-time | All undergraduates full-time | All undergraduates less-than-full-time |
|---|---|---|---|
| Institutional non-need grant recipients | 654 | 1556 | 11 |
| Average institutional non-need grant | 6472.00 | 7395.00 | 7034.00 |
| Athletic grant recipients | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Average athletic grant | 15646.00 | 17553.00 | 0.00 |
Instructional Faculty And Class Size
3 TABLES| Measure | Full-time | Part-time | Total |
|---|---|---|---|
| Total instructional faculty | 951 | 244 | 1195 |
| Members of minority groups | 303 | 38 | 341 |
| Females | 442 | 130 | 572 |
| Males | 509 | 114 | 623 |
| Nonresidents | 87 | 20 | 107 |
| Doctorate or other terminal degree | 860 | 120 | 980 |
| Master's, but not terminal master's | 74 | 95 | 169 |
| Bachelor's degree | 17 | 29 | 46 |
| Unknown or other highest degree | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stand-alone graduate/professional programs | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Measure | Class sections | Class subsections |
|---|---|---|
| 2-9 students | Not reported | 51 |
| 10-19 students | Not reported | 51 |
| 20-29 students | Not reported | 256 |
| 30-39 students | Not reported | 432 |
| 40-49 students | Not reported | 95 |
| 50-99 students | Not reported | 15 |
| 100+ students | Not reported | 22 |
| Total | Not reported | 2 |
Disciplinary Areas of Degrees Conferred
3 TABLES| Measure | Certificate/diploma | Associate | Bachelor's |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agriculture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Natural resources and conservation | Not reported | Not reported | 2.83% |
| Architecture | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Area, ethnic, and gender studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.22% |
| Communication/journalism | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Communication technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Computer and information sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 4.46% |
| Personal and culinary services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Education | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Engineering | Not reported | Not reported | 8.91% |
| Engineering technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Foreign languages, literatures, and linguistics | Not reported | Not reported | 0.9% |
| Family and consumer sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.44% |
| Law/legal studies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| English | Not reported | Not reported | 2.66% |
| Liberal arts/general studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.16% |
| Library science | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Biological/life sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 20.48% |
| Mathematics and statistics | Not reported | Not reported | 2.69% |
| Military science and military technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Interdisciplinary studies | Not reported | Not reported | 4.29% |
| Parks and recreation | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Philosophy and religious studies | Not reported | Not reported | 0.27% |
| Theology and religious vocations | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Physical sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 2.28% |
| Science technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Psychology | Not reported | Not reported | 9.75% |
| Homeland Security, law enforcement, firefighting, and protective services | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Public administration and social services | Not reported | Not reported | 1.09% |
| Social sciences | Not reported | Not reported | 13.07% |
| Construction trades | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Mechanic and repair technologies | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Precision production | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Transportation and materials moving | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Visual and performing arts | Not reported | Not reported | 3.12% |
| Health professions and related programs | Not reported | Not reported | 4.62% |
| Business/marketing | Not reported | Not reported | 14.26% |
| History | Not reported | Not reported | 1.49% |
| Other | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| Total | 0.00% | 0.00% | 99.99% |
Source Document
Building something with this data? Use the free API.